FungiFriday - don't get fooled.

in FungiFriday4 days ago

mushrooms autumn pt 11.jpg


One of my fvourite things to do in the forest is picking mushrooms. Not many - a few types only. But I know them well and so far, so good... everyone is alive :p The rest I leave untouched even though they might be safe to eat.

But this changes in Portugal. Some mushrooms look very alike to the ones I know. But different climates, different types of woods, and I lose the confidence. Not all suede brown hats are edible

The one above looks like an edible and delicious boletus. But that red bottom of the leg is like a warning sign. Are they edible then? I have no idea. I am no mushroom expert :)


untitled.gif


If you don't know it - don't pick it!



mushrooms autumn pt 1.jpg


As tempting as it might be, better skip a few of them, than be sorry later. Mushroom sauce can wait.

Like the few below. They also look very tasty and Google tells me it is a Boletus Badius, which is an edible one. The amount I saw growing in the area would be enough for a sauce, pizza, and I don't know what else :)


mushrooms autumn pt 2.jpg

mushrooms autumn pt 3.jpg


Of course I left them as I have found them. Surrounded by leaves and sticks.


mushrooms autumn pt 4.jpg

mushrooms autumn pt 6.jpg

mushrooms autumn pt 7.jpg


I really like the low angle photos when you can see the leg and the bottom of the hat. I did not remove any sticks to show how they really grow.


mushrooms autumn pt 9.jpg

mushrooms autumn pt 10.jpg

mushrooms autumn pt 12.jpg

mushrooms autumn pt 8.jpg


I doubt this one is edible. It was growing in the same area as all of the above. It is a good mushroom spot (I saw a few other types too) in the rainy season.


mushrooms autumn pt 5.jpg


Strange mushroom... 🤔


DSC_5871 copy.jpg

How to join #FungiFriday:

  • when Friday comes (UTC time) post your own, original photo/drawing/art/food/anything-at-all of any type of fungi (yes, I will check and report stolen images or text!)
  • add #FungiFriday tag (it doesn't have to be your first tag)
  • Include "My contribution to #FungiFriday by @ewkaw" anywhere in your post.

Happy FungiFriday!

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos, graphics and text are my own.



mushrooms footer.jpg

Sort:  

I laughed when I read, strange mushroom because as I scrolled down, I saw the picture of the dog.😄
You're initiative to have fungifridays is great. It helps us to appreciate more of good side of fungi.😊

Yes, if you are not sure... You'd better just take pictures of them and that's it!... And nice pictures indeed! :)) Sweet post @ewkaw friend!!!

!discovery shots
!VSC
!PIZZA

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @ewkaw

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @ewkaw

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 24/25



This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of Discovery-it in collaboration with Visual Shots community.
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jlinaresp(10/10) tipped @ewkaw

that is great advice dear friend @ewkaw if you are not sure if it is edible, it is better to leave it in the forest.
I love those shots where you can see their stems and gills, they are really great
Beautiful mushrooms you found.
Have a wonderful weekend

This is good for everything ..if you are not sure don't pick up 😃

What beautiful photographs, I love how you let us see his feet and under his hat, those shots are admirable @ewkaw
What a beautiful place, how many varieties have you been able to find

Better safe than sorry, I guess. I recently tried foraging bamboo shoots, inspired by @samstonehill and @clareartista but the bamboo that I had foraged, tasted so extremely bitter, even after cooking it for an hour and 15 minutes and having rinsed it twice, then marinaded and fried it, that I decided to spit it out and throw away the rest of it. I prefer not to poison myself, if I can help it. No matter how appealing it is to me to eat (more) natural food.

Beautiful mushrooms and photography. They look like edible suede bolete and can have a little pinky base of the stem. It is always hard to eat mushrooms the first time, even if you are 200% sure! If you are not poisoned, then it is your food for life, but if you miss, you are either dead or ill. The best decision to stay on the safe side. 🙄😊

Boletes are tricky in my area. Once I thought I had found a white king bolete but it turned out to be a bitter bolete once I tasted a bit, what a terrible taste it had. Fortunately the bitter ones aren't toxic compared to some of the other ones that can give you a bad stomach ache.

All mushrooms species are edible; some of them, only once... ;)

Nuce mushrums: thanks for sharing uour beautiful experience!

A huge hug from amico.

🤗

Not taking it was a good idea from the end of the story. The effect will be very big later.

your photos are very beautiful I really enjoy the mushrooms they are beautiful!