Fungi friday! The yellow blob!

in FungiFriday29 days ago (edited)

I was walking in the forest this morning and saw something yellow laying in the bushes! I tough that a poor doggy lost their ball, but closer inspection I saw this awesome fungi!

Wikipedia tells me that this is "heksen boter" or freely translated, witch butter! Latin it's Fuligo septica!

20240524_105456.jpg

20240524_105507.jpg

Look at those lines! It almost looks like its crawling over the forest floor!

20240524_105525.jpg

The location were I spotted it was also very nice! A beautiful tree lane!

20240524_105554.jpg

20240524_105553.jpg

I looked a little better at this fungi and in English I found this description!

They call it dog vomit slime mold! 😲
It is commonly known as scrambled egg slime, that I think is better, or flowers of tan because of its spectacular yellowish appearance. It is also known as dog vomit slime mold or Jasmine mold and is relatively common with a worldwide distribution, often being found on bark mulch in urban areas after heavy rain or excessive watering.

Thank you for reading my post! And if you want to see all the places I have ever been to, just click on my Pinmapple profile!

And if you want to follow my daily life, I often post stories and pictures off all the tings I do in life on my Instagram account!

Sort:  

Looks spooky like threatening alien species. 🙂

Great find!

Haha indeed! And e radioactive one 😅

😁 Yes!

Wow!... First time I've observed this species!... Wonderful!... Thanks for sharing!

!discovery shots
!VSC

@jlinaresp has sent VSC to @haastrecht

This post was rewarded with 0.1 VSC to support your work.
Join our photography communityVisual Shots
Check here to view or trade VSC Tokens
Be part of our Curation Trail


@jlinaresp ha enviado VSC a @haastrecht

Éste post fue recompensado con 0.1 VSC para apoyar tu trabajo.
Únete a nuestra comunidad de fotografía Visual Shots
Consulte aquí para ver o intercambiar VSC Tokens
Se parte de nuestro Trail de Curación


Uses: 8/25

I also think I have never seen it before! It was a beauty! Cant wait till autumn!

They look sooooo yellow
Lovely flowers!

Haha almost!

The yellow fungus covering old leaves is very interesting, I haven't seen it in a long time.

I have never seen it like this!

I've never seen this one yet but yellow attracts me so much.

It stood out from far away!

What beautiful mushrooms @haastrecht, I have never seen anything like this before. I love its shapes and its striking color

I have never seen such a yellow color before! It looks very toxic!

It is crawling! Those are slime molds - fascinating creatures.

Yeah I read it! How awesome is that! maybe I will go back tomorrow and see how far it is then!

How are you dear friend @haastrecht good morning
What a beautiful place you have to walk, and how great that you were able to see this beautiful mushroom on the side of the road.
What an original name for a mushroom, witch's butter!
Have a great day

hahah I love that name! I am curious what the real English name is!

In English it's called dog vomit slime mold...
Ore scrambled egg slime or flowers of tan! Well that's a lot more names than in Dutch!



This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of Discovery-it in collaboration with Visual Shots community.
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program