Fungi Friday - Christmas Candies?

in FungiFriday6 months ago

Here are some really rare mushrooms for this #fungifriday by @ewkaw

PSX_20231117_072452.jpg
Here is a somewhat rare red mushroom I found this November.

PSX_20231117_072530.jpg
This is Pholiota polychroa. Its common name Multi-colored Flake suggests it shows up in more colors.

PSX_20231117_072727.jpg
As they age they get less colorful. I've seen people post pictures of them in blue, purple and orange. I guess the ones that grow in my region are this bright red.

PSX_20231117_072616.jpg
Here's one that is still pinning, quite a reddish magenta.
PSX_20231117_072648.jpg
The stem is pretty tough and the gills are white. I've read they aren't edible because they contain psychoactive compounds that can make you hallucinate. They are also probably too tough to really eat.

PSX_20231117_072913.jpg
Now for some common mycenas. This month should be their last until they reemerge during spring.

PSX_20231117_072809.jpg
For some reason oyster mushrooms weren't out all year but now they finally come out at the end of the season.
PSX_20231117_072836.jpg
What is funny about these oysters is they grew on top of the log instead of on the side and this made them almost symmetrical instead of like their usual fan shape.

PSX_20231117_073057.jpg
Looks like the season is almost over, hopefully I can find some winter mushrooms like flammulina veluptides and wood ear in between all the snow that's heading this way.

That's all for now, thanks for looking :-)

Sort:  

You can't believe the beauty and how colorful these mushrooms are dear friend @sketch.and.jam
You have found very beautiful varieties of mushrooms, I appreciate that you share your knowledge about their names
Thank you very much for giving us another beautiful batch of the mushrooms you found.
May you enjoy the weekend

I was only able to figure out the name because the shape reminded me of pholiota squarrosa then I got lucky searching pholiota species. Now I think I've seen orange ones in the past as well.

Nice one! If they can make you hallucinate I’d be more inclined to eat them 😂😂😂 Mushrooms can show you world from quite a different perspective as I found out this year 😁

Would love to see those in blue! 🤩💙

The blue and purple ones look really cool too. I suspect these only contain trace amounts of hallucinogens so you might need to eat a bunch, and there might be some other toxins in these too lol so I wouldn't recommend it.

!LOLZ 😂 It was half jokingly, I don’t think I’d risk it either 😉. I know Amanita Muscari has this effect too, but unless someone who tried and tested it already would show me how to prepare it safely I don’t think I’d try 😉

What’s Scooby Doos’ favorite drink?
Mountain Dooby Doo

Credit: reddit
@sketch.and.jam, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of fantagira

(2/2)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM


Christmas candies indeed. Even has crinkly sugar on top 😋

Seems many of the late fall and winter mushrooms have a bit of slime/sugar on top. I'm still hoping for a huge batch of winter mushrooms this year as the wild ones taste better than the enoki grocery store ones.

Congratulations @sketch.and.jam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 32000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 33000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - November 15, 2023