Fungi Friday - The Chants Are Out

in FungiFriday2 years ago

Looks like the summer rains have finally brought out the chanterelles.

PSX_20220729_070710.jpg
Before I get into the chanterelle harvest I also found quite a few twig mushrooms out.

PSX_20220729_072050.jpg
The Latin name is Marasmiellus ramealis and technically they are edible but they are so tiny and tasteless that no one would ever consider harvesting them.

PSX_20220729_071110.jpg
Now for the tasty chanterelles. Typically during the summer and fall rains they come out of dark earth or in grassy areas under hardwood trees.

PSX_20220729_071355.jpg
The Latin name is Cantharellus cibarius and they can be identified by their orange color as well as how their gills run down the stem.

PSX_20220729_070849.jpg
Here are a couple more examples of their veins. It is best to go out about a day after a heavy rain to look for them while they are fresh. Otherwise tiny bugs will burrow up inside the stems.

PSX_20220729_071507.jpg
Now that I have a good harvest its time to take them home and clean them. Look at all the dark earth they've picked up while growing.

PSX_20220729_071602.jpg
To remedy the little dark soil bits I soak them in salt water for about a minute.

PSX_20220729_071739.jpg
Then I rinse them a couple times and let them dry out for a good hour.

PSX_20220729_071847.jpg
This time I ended up just cooking them in butter and black pepper and froze them for use later on top of different dishes. You can also dehydrate them and they kind of turn into powder bits which is perfect for soups and gravies later on. So many grow around here that I have to figure out ways to store them for later, freezing or dehydrating works the best.

That's all for now, happy #fungifriday

Sort:  

Those tiny ones look so cool I don’t think I have ever seen ones that small or maybe I haven’t been looking out well enough for them

They are so tiny and usually buried in between weeds, but they are all over the place once you know what to look for. Summer rains bring them out.

Well if we ever get some rain I will look out for them

They show up in different colors too sometimes brilliant red.

Ohh that would be so cool to see

i really like it with your mushrooms,

small types of mushrooms do look tempting,but what you cook is the yellow one that is more special,, the appearance of the yellow color is really charming..

They yellow chanterelles even have a nice smell sort of like an apricot.

Is this type of mushroom safe to eat? I have never eaten this type of mushroom.

Yes chanterelles are very safe to eat just be sure to look at the gill pattern for a correct id.

really.. Looks like I still have a lot to learn😄😄
thanks for the info

Basically yellow mushroom in summer and fall that grows from the ground under hardwood forests. Then the gills are veiny and run down the stem. Towards the edge of the cap the gills branch out, also the mushrooms have a sort of sweet apricot aroma to them.

thank you very much for your explanation @sketch.and.jam it's very useful😊😊

Now that my account power is weak, I guess I should stop commenting first😄😅

congrats with chantarelles! today i've got them myself too -- 250g ... from a grocery shop 😜
!BEER

Lucky, they sell them in stores there? We just have crimini and portabello for sale. Fortunately the wild is a nice shopping cart for chanterelles

These are season mushrooms, we have a lot of season berries / mushrooms at the local markets and little groceries. You know, my local forest (near my summer house) is nearly a swamp... I wish I could have it all pine-tree and sandy - probably, then it would be a source for chantrelles ... besides that, I visit it quite randomly during summer, and we simply do not match ;D


Hey @sketch.and.jam, here is a little bit of BEER from @qwerrie for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

The yellow mushroom is very beautiful, my friend.

Nice and bright on the forest floor. Still a bit hard to see hidden away under all the grass.

Happy #fungifriday! Looks like a delicious harvest 🙂 Twig mushrooms are really cute. Like something from Dr Suess. A tiny little world living under the umbrellas of the mushrooms protected from the sun and huge people.

I ended up putting the chants on tandoori chicken. Those twig mushrooms were everywhere too. I bet they are in your forest where the deer hangs out mournfully looking at the fenced in garden.

wow, adorable mushrooms.
it feels like I want to eat, with spicy chili :)

They work well with spice, they have their own unique taste but still in the mushroom family something like a mix between crimini and king bolete.

Dit voelt erg lekker, op een dag zal ik zeker paddenstoelen zoals jij kunnen vinden.
bedankt jongens voor het delen

You have some nice edibles including the chanterelles over there. But more importantly you have the king boletes in the forests too.

Wow, they are so pretty mushrooms! We have no mushroom in Hungary because there is drought everywhere.

Earlier this year it was kind of a drought and I missed the morel season here but now it rains quite a bite for summer and all these chanterelles are abundant.