A Night Mushroom Hunt and Crispy Treat Delight

in FungiFriday2 months ago (edited)

With only a flashlight to guide, we wandered through the silent woods. Each step, I scanned the ground, very tranquil and just the sound of the soft rustles of leaves underfoot and some chirp of crickets.

I was pleased to eventually see a cluster of mushroom had eventually sprouted, giving me hope that the rest will follow.

Although it was a little bit disappointing that it was all squashed and mashed up, and I think someone had trampled on it. It looks like the St. George's mushroom; it is edible.

Though the sight of the ruined mushroom was disappointing, I still aprreciate the beauty of the night and the thrill of the hunt, its was different experience!

Returned home and cooked a mushroom treat using the mushroom I had picked last year. It is in times like this that what we've picked and dried comes in handy.

This mushroom is called the rooster of the woods, also called Giant Polypore or the black staining polypore meripilus-giganteus.

This is just one of the rosette, huge!

It is a very underrated mushroom, but I must say, it does taste good! I think with mushrooms, you'll have to be creative in how you cook, tailoring it according to the type.

Brown to black staining underside hence the name.

This is particularly a tough mushroom when harvested older. But I found a way of enjoying it by making it a crispy delicious treat.

As the texture is similar to shredded meat, last year I made a recipe called Crispy Shredded Giant Polypore.

and tonight I cooked the rest and we enjoyed it.

so...

A handful of dried shredded mushroom.

I added about two tablespoons of hot water to hydrate it a little, mix well.

Then I added a teaspoon of salt, minced ginger, minced garlic, and an egg, then the cornflour.

I mixed them thoroughly.

Then I deep-fried them.

Then I sautéed the diced onion and bell pepper. Then I added the sauce mixture; 4 tablespoons soysauce, 3 tablespoons elderberry syrup, 1 lemon, juiced. 1 tablespoon sesame oil; all mixed together.

I waited for the sauce to become sticky and thick.
Then I stirred in the crispy giant polypore.

I garnished it with spring onion and fresh chilies.

The crunchy mushroom's taste as earthy, rich, and subtly nutty, with a savory undertone that lingers pleasantly on the palate. Then a slightly sweet, with a hint of tangy sourness and a touch of saltiness that balances it all out.

It's a simple yet deeply satisfying flavor that evokes the essence of nature.

It was a lovely treat indeed after tonights thrilling mushroom hunt!

Have a wonderful Friday, everyone!
Mariah 💗

This post is dedicated to @fungifriday by @ewkaw and to all fungi friends here!

Sort:  

Beautiful! Can't wait to find some edible mushrooms this year
Thanks for sharing, looks amazing and healthy rawr!

Thank you for the lovely comment. :)

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you, I really appreciate it. :)

Congratulations @theworldaroundme! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!