Inky to Coaster: Transforming Nature's Bounty into Functional Art

in FungiFridaylast month (edited)

I knew it would be pissing rain today, and after being up all night working, I didn't want to miss my mushroom hunt. So, yesterday evening, I went for a stroll with my kitty around the village to check if the big family of assorted inky mushrooms appeared yet by the pub, which normally turn up around this time and also on my birthday (October) I always look forward to seeing. I called this Inkcap Heaven, haha!

They probably know that they are safe by alcoholics, they are edible but toxic if eaten with alcohol in your system.

However, they are not there yet; instead, I spotted a small family of Glistening Cap mushrooms (Coprinellus micaceus), also called mica cap.
There are a few members of the Coprinoid Mushrooms known as inkcaps or inky caps; these include the pleated inkcap, mica cap, foot inkcap, shaggy inkcap and common inkcap.

They are growing underneath this big linden tree.

I thought this troop seemed to have had an issue in growing but it is just the the way they are.

This one is alone, chobbled, and shy.

This mummy inky looks like it's shielding the others squashed up underneath.

I picked a couple to have a proper look at them. This type seems to have not much ink in them.

But yes they are glistening!

Walking back not to squash them was tricky as my kitty was in mischief mode.

Back home, I had a good look.

Then I decided to spore print them overnight.

To spore print:

Carefully cut the stem off the mushroom close to the cap.

Put the mushroom cap gill-side down on the paper.

Cover the mushroom with a glass or bowl. This helps prevent air currents from disturbing the spore drop and maintains humidity, which facilitates spore release.

The next day, the mushrooms had turned mushy, and the paper was too wet. I thought, "This is a bit of a mess." and yes it is definitely inky! I realized I had overdone it, so I set it aside.

I thought I would try making them into ink.

I poured hot water and a little bit of salt. I mixed them thoroughly until the ink was infused in the water. The salt prevents bad bacteria from growing.

I strained it.

I reduced the liquid.

The ink got thicker and darker.

I added lavender essential oil for a nice scent and also for its antibacterial effect; the ink will last longer.

I transferred it into my ink container.

I tested it. It seems okay.

I scribbled on the spore print and did a bit of finishing touches.

I turned it into a coaster!

Nature is truly amazing, always enticing us to create, mostly something simple but meaningful, which always happen when I engage with nature.

It’s also wonderful when we embrace the moment, adapt when things didn’t go as planned, and ended up creating a functional piece of art.

Happy Fungi Friday, everyone!

Mariah 💖

Sort:  

Hi @theworldaroundme,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I didn't know you could get ink that way. Your coaster turned out very beautiful. Thanks for sharing

Thank you for the lovely comment. Indeed this type can be made into ink. 😊

Keep up the good work ✨

Congratulations, you received an ecency upvote through the curator @sahi1. Keep spreading love through ecency

Thank you, I really appreciate it. 😊

how are you @theworldaroundme
What beautiful mushrooms have you found?
It's incredible what you do with them, I would never have imagined making ink with mushrooms

Thank you for the lovely comment, yes they are amazing and we can do so many things with them. ☺

Hello dear friend @theworldaroundme good morning
How great that you went out for a walk with your pet through the town, thanks to that you have found this enormous amount of beautiful mushrooms. I didn't know they were toxic if consumed with alcohol.
Thank you very much for the beautiful shots and information.

Hello Sir, yes they are toxic if eaten even a few days before or after alcohol consumption. Thank you, have a lovely evening. 😉