You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Impressions and Concerns Regarding HiveWatchers

Ping @wil.metcalfe

1st comment "Get out of my head!"
2nd comment "Get out of my head!"

I have no intention of starting or joining a hatefest against Hivewatchers. I still firmly believe they have a place and provide a vital service; however, you highlight some of the other areas of concern that I already had before you, and I started talking on Discord. I'm delighted you mentioned Transparency, a pet subject of mine and one I have mentioned to several others, including Hivewatchers before.

There's sadly a catalogue of worrying practices such as paying people for reporting others. While the reward might be tiny, it's the principle that worries me. It strikes me to being very similar to bounty hunters, and as for the abusing of the accused, well, I was gobsmacked when I first saw it. The appeals channel isn't really that; it's basically a bear-baiting pit where the likes of me go to get entertained.

I've tried to help out by explaining to one or two accused in such a way that makes it a lot clearer than "Jump through these four hoops, and maybe we'll take you off our list." I see no end of folk that truly believe after 30 days, it'll all be over, and their rewards will be returned. And nobody before me thought of putting these people straight.