Exciting times ahead for the big green coffee roasting machine and fond past memories....☕️

in TeamUK4 years ago

IMG_5573.jpeg

It seems such a short amount of time since early April when this monstrous piece of coffee roasting kit arrived at my warehouse, and since then it's been quite a joinery to get it into place, putting together the many separate components to make one whole machine and of course fit the ducting to exhaust the roasting smoke outside.

And tomorrow starts a new phase in it's journey as we have coming to visit the first people to see it roast coffee, who might be interest in purchasing one for their own use. Having roasted with it for the past five weeks I have slowly ironed out most of the kinks - so I'm pretty sure we will do a good demonstration.

The next phase I will not have complete by then though, the onboard touchscreen profiling software has an excellent level of consistency, but it also comes with an ethernet cable you can connect to a PC - and then use more advanced profiling software like Artisan or Cropster. For this I am upgrading one of the old office PC's with a brand new 100gb SSD, an extra 4gb or Ram to 7GB and installing a fresh install of Windows 10 64bit - Artisan needs 64 bit so if I'm going to effort of installing a 64bit OS it makes sense to add a decent amount of ram for it to go at. This pc will sit next to the roaster and have a wall mounted display, using a hand held bluetooth mini keyboard and mouse I will be able to run the profile software while keeping hands on with the roaster.

The particular tower PC I am upgrading has fond memories for me, because I built it more then 10 years ago entirely from parts sourced off e-bay. The motherboard was second hand but came with a processor, the tower case was new, graphics cards I sourced second hand, hard drive new and new power supply. Since then it has had new power supply, new graphics card and new HDD. But it's still a pretty good rig for it's age, and with a fresh Western Digital Green SSD and upping the Ram to 7gb it should be pretty nippy too. Originally I built it as a home media server, and it spent many years at home hooked up to the TV until we changed the living room layout from a floor cabinet for the TV to wall mounting it and fitting a wall mounted media shelf. I don't have the original photos of the pc build, but I will make a post of it's upgrades and repurposing number 2 - it was a great home pc, and rock solid office work horse over 10 years plus so I'm sure it will manage it's new work with ease.

IMG_1756.jpeg

I do have a few old pictures of the media shelf, and Mac Mini that replaced the Tower PC because it fit the space - and of course added to my Apple hardware collection. Originally I fabricated the media shelf out of MDF but went a little low on the thickness so it was a bit bendy.

IMG_1758.jpeg

Then I found a manufactured version that was the exact dimensions needed. All the power cables run from it down in the wall corner and then were boxed in. They are plugged into an 8 gang extension, on the wall below middle is a double socket, I replaced the standard double socket fitting with a single socket and on/off switch so I could hard wire the 8 gang extension to that and hide the cabling.

IMG_1805.jpeg

That made extra space where the tv cabinet used to be, and no messy cables on show. It is a lot more busy now with Mac Mini, Virgin Media Tiveo, PS4 now on top with the limited edition Star Wars branding and an Xbox One in the cabinet.

IMG_2245.jpeg

I had to have the PS4 on top just to admire the custom finish, even the controller is custom.

IMG_2254.jpeg

May the force be with you. So following on from FrankenPC yesterday, my next post should be the upgrade of my old home media centre pc and connecting it to the Roaster.

Active HIVE Witness alongside @derangedvisions, if you appreciate the effort and work we put into the HIVE blockchain please consider giving us a Witness vote.

Proud sponsor with @derangedcontests of @brosino , free to play and cash out HIVE rewards, head to Brosino Website now and start playing.

Visit #brits Discord Channel Join #teamuk and make your posts easily found, post with the tag or create a post in teamuk community so your fellow Brits can easily find and support your work. Let's work together to make #hiveuk an active community on the Hive Blockchain.

#teamuk tag is followed and actively upvoted by @teamuksupport

I distribute coffee roasting machines and also espresso coffee machines and roast my own Speciality Coffee Range. being one of the premium coffee suppliers Yorkshire including a wide range of filter coffee sachets. Finally I have a dedicated website to my Artisan small batch roasted coffee featuring roast and post packs and super easy coffee subscriptions.

Become a White Rose Coffee Roasters affiliate and earn a percentage of the sales you bring in for sharing your affiliate page links Become A White Rose Coffee Roasters Affiliate now payout available via Pay Pal or HIVE based on the current exchange rate.

The Coffee Break Discord Voice Chat Show, in @thealliance Mondays 10pm UTC hosted by @c0ff33a and @enginewitty

created by @derangedvisions

Vote for my Witness

Sort:  

Hi @c0ff33a,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @hivecollective! Community based curaton service for sublimesunday tag users, delegate 60 Hive Power to the account to join, or delegate 30 Hive Power and 1 Hive per month to join. Send 2 Hive per month for 30 days only of the service.

I always imagined coffee being roasted in some giant old-fashioned metal monstrosity.

It's interesting to see technology (I love Apple) being used to help roast the beans to perfection! :)

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.