Lightweight Travel Tip #13: Take smaller quantities of tape

in Threeshorts5 months ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


In this Lightweight Travel Tip I show how I carry small amounts of medical tape and duck tape. Both items are extremely useful and I use a bit almost every trip. But, there's no need to carry full rolls. My hands are quite large and most pens are quite small for me to hold, so I make the pen more ergonomic by wrapping some tape around it. I deliberately chose a high quality art pen because these last for ages and remain reliable and because they have long-straight bodies. If the pen-stem was too curved then it makes wrapping the tape harder.

You could wrap tape around almost anything, including itself. However, I have a low success rate with getting tidy rolls if I wrap the tape to itself and those small units of tape are just more items floating around loose in my luggage. So, I prefer to wrap to a pen.

Lightweight Travel Tips is a series of short videos where I showcase the lightweight travel philosophy by discussing specific situations. The individual tips are gateways to the lightweight travel mindset.

I can recall my first trip overseas with overweight suitcases full of things I never used. Even though I have larger baggage allowances than ever, I take less. Less luggage makes it easier to move around, and I'm less likely to lose an item because I have fewer items to track. It's easier to move through crowds and over imperfect ground.

Lightweight travel tips combine my experience in travel and the outdoors to examine what I carry and if I could do without it. I'm not an ultra-light backpacking gram weeny - my outdoors philosophy is more informed by bushcraft, where I learned to make the most out of whatever I carry while keeping necessities and local conditions in mind. So, lightweight travel is a mindset of efficiency - that each item must be helpful or it should be left behind.

At the core of my philosophy is: Passport, Credit card, Phone - everything else is a solvable problem or a luxury item.

This isn't to say you shouldn't carry anything - decide what balances weight, size, convenience and comfort for yourself and where you're going! Figure out what is available where you're going - both free at your accommodation or what you can easily buy.

How do I start thinking through a pack list? First, learn about the trip: what about the weather when I am there? What activities do I expect to do? What can I obtain at the destination if I need it? What equipment must I take? These questions are the genesis of thinking through what to bring.

And the biggest tip: Start with a small bag. If you can't make your load-out fit, it's easier to get a larger bag rather than the other way around. People tend to think in terms of bag size: it's the airlines that make us weigh everything!

Do you have some lightweight travel tips of your own? Please share in the comments.

Until next time.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

😎😉🤜 yup. always have tape..

Another series to learn something new tip. Thank you for your consistency in sharing

Glad you're enjoying them. I have about another week more of content scheduled.

This is interesting. What do you use the tape for? But putting it around a pen or something you will be bringing is a pretty nice tip.

Tape uses: repairs, first aid, blisters, boxes, cable routing, fixing a pass card to myself, closing a box to make it easier to carry. I've used tape to stop my charger plug falling out of a loose power socket on a train in Japan. With a larger roll of tape, I've made wallets. That's just tourist/traveller uses...

That's awesome. You're like Macgyver then. Thanks for the examples.

Bushcraft mindset - you learn to figure out how to do a lot of things with very few things. I think these lightweight travel tips have a unique voice because I bring my outdoor experience into it.

When traveling, a person must carry an extension with a long cord because there is no long cord inside the hotel and it is very difficult for a person to charge the mobile.

I used to carry an extension cord, a powerboard and an adaptor plug. That way one adaptor covered all my devices and the extension cable the power where I needed it. Now, a long USB cable is enough for me.

It's nice that you can charge all your things with a single charger.

Congratulations @eturnerx! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 200000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 210000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - November 15, 2023