Lightweight Travel Tip #17: Less of the "Just In Case"

in Threeshorts5 months ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


In this Lightweight Travel Tip we talk about the just in case items. When encountering strange cuisine or uncertain hygenie, you might want to take an anti-diarrhea medication. But, there's no need to carry a full box! Cut a couple of tablets away an use those. Not shown in the video, but I do like to round the corners. As a urban traveller, two tablets is enough to get me through any scenarios until I can reach a pharmacy or see a doctor. If I was in the backcountry then of course, I might want to carry a few days worth.

And a note on food-borne illness; one of the greatest risks comes from hand hygenie. So, use hand sanitiser frequently.

Lightweight Travel Tips is a series of short videos where I showcase the lightweight travel philosophy by discussing specific situations. The individual tips are gateways to the lightweight travel mindset.

I can recall my first trip overseas with overweight suitcases full of things I never used. Even though I have larger baggage allowances than ever, I take less. Less luggage makes it easier to move around, and I'm less likely to lose an item because I have fewer items to track. It's easier to move through crowds and over imperfect ground.

Lightweight travel tips combine my experience in travel and the outdoors to examine what I carry and if I could do without it. I'm not an ultra-light backpacking gram weeny - my outdoors philosophy is more informed by bushcraft, where I learned to make the most out of whatever I carry while keeping necessities and local conditions in mind. So, lightweight travel is a mindset of efficiency - that each item must be helpful or it should be left behind.

At the core of my philosophy is: Passport, Credit card, Phone - everything else is a solvable problem or a luxury item.

This isn't to say you shouldn't carry anything - decide what balances weight, size, convenience and comfort for yourself and where you're going! Figure out what is available where you're going - both free at your accommodation or what you can easily buy.

How do I start thinking through a pack list? First, learn about the trip: what about the weather when I am there? What activities do I expect to do? What can I obtain at the destination if I need it? What equipment must I take? These questions are the genesis of thinking through what to bring.

And the biggest tip: Start with a small bag. If you can't make your load-out fit, it's easier to get a larger bag rather than the other way around. People tend to think in terms of bag size: it's the airlines that make us weigh everything!

Do you have some lightweight travel tips of your own? Please share in the comments.

Until next time.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

I always learn a lot from this lightweight travel tips

I prefer the small blue green pills.. same thing as immodium, i think..

image.png

Good find! Same active ingredient, smaller size. I can swallow caplets without water, but the larger imodiums dissolve in the mouth, making them easier to take. Mind you, should one have the need for these pills, they probably should be drinking more water anyway.

This is a very nice tip. I would add anti allergy pills, and maybe dizziness pills.

Thanks. If you need such things, then they are a good idea to carry. I carry caffeine pills in the back country, but I don't when travelling since coffee is easy to get! For the few times I need allergy medication, I just buy it. I do carry mint-oil because it helps with migraines and a bunch of other things, but again, depends on personal needs.👍

Just like when a person goes to such places, the environment changes, then such an allergy can occur to a person, so it is very important to have such a tablet in the bag.

@tipu curate