Lightweight Travel Tip #20: Multi-purpose mint oil

in Threeshorts5 months ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


In this Lightweight Travel Tip I discuss mint oil. I carry this primarily for migraine relief (works for me, but ymmv) and it has a lot of other uses. Mint oil isn't the best for all these uses, but it's often still better than nothing.

Lightweight Travel Tips is a series of short videos where I showcase the lightweight travel philosophy by discussing specific situations. The individual tips are gateways to the lightweight travel mindset.

I can recall my first trip overseas with overweight suitcases full of things I never used. Even though I have larger baggage allowances than ever, I take less. Less luggage makes it easier to move around, and I'm less likely to lose an item because I have fewer items to track. It's easier to move through crowds and over imperfect ground.

Lightweight travel tips combine my experience in travel and the outdoors to examine what I carry and if I could do without it. I'm not an ultra-light backpacking gram weeny - my outdoors philosophy is more informed by bushcraft, where I learned to make the most out of whatever I carry while keeping necessities and local conditions in mind. So, lightweight travel is a mindset of efficiency - that each item must be helpful or it should be left behind.

At the core of my philosophy is: Passport, Credit card, Phone - everything else is a solvable problem or a luxury item.

This isn't to say you shouldn't carry anything - decide what balances weight, size, convenience and comfort for yourself and where you're going! Figure out what is available where you're going - both free at your accommodation or what you can easily buy.

How do I start thinking through a pack list? First, learn about the trip: what about the weather when I am there? What activities do I expect to do? What can I obtain at the destination if I need it? What equipment must I take? These questions are the genesis of thinking through what to bring.

And the biggest tip: Start with a small bag. If you can't make your load-out fit, it's easier to get a larger bag rather than the other way around. People tend to think in terms of bag size: it's the airlines that make us weigh everything!

Do you have some lightweight travel tips of your own? Please share in the comments.

Until next time.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

This is an interesting tip. I don't use oils, but seeing how it can possibly do a lot of things, I can try them out and maybe use them if they work for me.

Let me know how you go. And thanks for your support during this series of Light weight travel tips. I might have more in the future, but for now, it's time for me to return to other projects.

Will do, and you're welcome. I also enjoyed them. Learning tips, and thinking about how I can improve my packing as well.

Thanks for sharing this particular tip about mint oil
I’m grateful

This is the last lightweight travel tip of the season. Thanks for your support!

Cool. I also put some drop in about a cup of water with a spoon of backing soda.. great mouthwash..

i also added some tea tree oil to my little ifak. great on cuts and stuff.

Excellent ideas!

👍 ❤️ Upvoted ❤️ 👍

CommunityCuratorAuthorSupporter
@Threeshorts@bhattg@eturnerxsagarkothari88
Threeshorts@bhattg@eturnerxsagarkothari88

Empowering Threeshorts

Upvote This Comment

  • Upvote this comment
  • Rewards from upvotes on this comment will go to beneficiaries @Threeshorts, @eturnerx, bhattg

Please 🙇‍♂️ Support Me Back 🙏 - Vote for me

🙏

Hey @eturnerx

I send HivePower ➡️ to many Hive ♦️ users (just like I've sent you 🎉) to motivate content-creators 😇

By supporting many communities 🤝 by upvotes 👍 & distributing Hive Power as Gift 🎁, I help them to grow 💝 on Hive.

I request you please support me back by clicking here & vote me as witness