Goblins, Gremlins, Imps & Moles... Part Two!!! (AKA: The Sorry State of Magical Post Apocalyptic Healthcare)


A couple days ago I shared a first sketch and the beginning thought process behind designing the goblins which would inhabit the post apocalyptic fantasy world of my comic, "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..."

I mentioned I'd have more to show before the weekend was out, so here I am! (Technically I'm about three hours late as it's now 3 A.M. where I'm at... but as I haven't gone to bed yet... I'll still call this Sunday night!)

I actually had a lot of fun putting together this little design sheet, although I spent more time on it than I had intended. I always go in with the intention of doing loose sketching and rough concepts but just can't resist applying a bit more polish to it before moving on.


Goblin Concepts 2.jpg


These still aren't fully finished illustrations by any means, but they're more than sufficient for the concept design purpose I'd intended them for.

After the head sketch shown previously, I moved on to a fairly tight pencil drawing of the full goblin body. To save time I didn't ink any of the artwork and just darkened the pencils layer to a near black instead. Then I applied some rough colors to generate some palette ideas but didn't spend too much time on that rendering either.

I pulled together a couple older character designs from the series and inserted them into a little lineup that helped me demonstrate and think about the scale of these creatures as well.


Then it was on to a bit of fun. Again in the service of expediency I didn't do a whole lot of illustration, but more along the lines of "photobashing" as I began exploring some ideas of the varied props and costuming we might see in the debut issue of the comic.

These creatures are first encountered in a hospital setting and as such have scavenged some weapons, armor, and fearsome totems... (that just happen to look like gift balloons...) 😜

I think it's pretty easy to tell that I'm going for a fun and humorous vibe here, but these little guys can be quite unsettling and deadly as well. I firmly believe that horror works best when it has contrast. If I can handle it right, "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." will run the full spectrum of emotions and make for louder laughs and deeper gasps!


Now I can take this concept back into the actual story pages and resume working on the battle sequence I've previously teased. When that artwork starts shaping up, as always, Hive will get the first look!

So what do you think? If you met these guys in a dark alley would you have a chuckle before they devoured you?

-Bryan "the Imp" Imhoff


Follow me for more behind the scenes looks at the creation of "I Thought It Would Be Zombies..." Your votes help support its production! Also look for limited edition digital artwork for sale on NFTShowroom.com

Showroom.png

Sort:  

I swear I’m in here all the time but didn’t see this. Love a good goblin. I like the star nosed mole look. They are generally under dwellers after all.

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@bryan-imhoff! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @jackofcrows.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza

Yeah! with the full body it doesn't look like a ninja turtle anymore hahaha. I like the concept of a post apocalyptic fantasy world with fantasy creatures like this, because zombie genre is too crowded now, so your title is also very clever.

Always good to accessorise your monsters. Our world probably seems very strange to them and they might be attracted by shiny or colourful items. With fantasy you get to build your own worlds and that must make it fun.

!LUV

!discovery 25


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Hi @bryan-imhoff, you were just shared some LUV thanks to @steevc. Holding 10 LUV in your wallet enables you to give up to 3 LUV per day, for free. See the LUV in your wallet at https://hive-engine.com or learn about LUV at https://peakd.com/@luvshares https://ipfs.io/ipfs/QmUptF5k64xBvsQ9B6MjZo1dc2JwvXTWjWJAnyMCtWZxqM

Congratulations @bryan-imhoff! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 43000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 44000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

nice drawing, I saw earlier that the tentacles on the goblin's face were inspired by a real creature of nature that you took a picture of lml