You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Comic Art Studio Upgrades Got 2021 Off to a Good Start!

in Creating Comics3 years ago

Thanks for sharing these invaluable insights into the tools and workflow of a comic book artist.

I remember growing up in the 80's. I would soak up all the info I could from books and comic conventions, trying to decipher the secrets to creating comic books.

I had those huge bristol boards...the ink bottle...the nibs...those blue pencil holders with the special sharpener.

Computers have changed everything!

Sort:  

Oh I've still got plenty of all that stuff around too! I'd say at this point the industry is probably 50/50 digital and traditional. There's still a lot to be said for the traditional methods as well. I know I zoom in too damn much on digital and waste a lot of time! Lots of artists also have stayed traditional for one big practical reason... money. The sale of original artwork is a sizable additional income stream. That's one of my biggest interests when it comes to NFTs. I see them recreating the original art market in the digital space and bridging that monetary gap for digital artists.