Waiting for me in Heaven

I'm a firm believe that when you save an animal from the pound, they know it.

There is probably a smell of death and desperation just lurking around every corner in those places. Each animal, just sitting in their "cell" waiting for their turn to leave, and not return.

We didn't really have a specific kind of dog that we were looking for. A good dog. A loyal dog. A nice looking dog. A happy and playful dog.

There were thirteen rooms, with about 12 caged mini "cells" each. We walked through each one. Nope, nope, not yet, not that one. I just knew that when we saw him, we'd know him. But on the final room - I really thought, "Is it really possible that our dog wouldn't be one of the last 144 dogs???"

About halfway through the room, passing prison after prison, we saw a dog laying on his side. The rest were all sitting up, barking, and curious. This one? He had given up. His fate was decided and there was nothing he could do about it. Boy oh boy, was he a good looking dog! I had never seen a dog quite that shade of auburn - and he had the cutest little fluff around his neck that curled into little ringlets. I looked over at the name on the kennel. JAKE.


Our puppy dog looking so handsome at home!


"Jake?"

Nothing.

"Is that your name? Jake?"

A slight wag of the tail.

"Yeah! You know your name! It's Jake! Come here, Jake!"

He lifted his head, connected his gaze with mine, and it was lights out, folks. I was a goner. He was mine and I was his. I patted my leg, and he ran over, ready to love me with as much love as he was feeling already from me!

We didn't tell my husband - we knew he would be thrilled. He is an animal lover and I was the hold out. If I brought a dog home, he would be doing back flips. We went to pick him up from work, and he looked into the car smiling - "Hello family!" and then his eyes connected with our new family member. I'll never forget the way they looked at each other. It was like our little doggie knew ahhhh that's the last one of our clan huh? I approve!

He only remained Jake for about 60 seconds, before our middle son came up with his new name: Parker, which was short for Peter Parker, AKA Spiderman! 😋

A dog and his man


There was never a better dog than you, Parker the wonder dog! You were the craziest, wildest, boldest, strongest, fastest, most mischievous, funniest, smartest dog in the whole wide sea.

You protected us at your own expense, so many times. You ran wild with the coyotes every night - when every other dog would cower (with good reason!) - you just didn't know you didn't belong! And so you partied every night and howled at the moon. Somehow, they must have thought you were just too crazy to bother - so you were ok to hang with their crew!

And fast? I've never seen a dog built for such speed!

And power??? My gosh, for a medium-sized dog, he was SO strong.

But he listened. He was SO smart. He knew exactly what to do - but then knew EXACTLY how to get around that too, and do it sneakily and innocently so he didn't get in trouble! hehehe


swinging with his sissy


And when I was in danger, you barked, and growled and bared your teeth, and wouldn't relent until I was out of harm's way. Even when I didn't understand, and told you to hush - you knew better and protected me from danger just beyond where I could see. My protector!

Sleepy baby, like a king on his throne

Some people don't think that animals go to heaven, but I do. And I know that you are already there, at my beautiful little cottage on the grassy mountain overlooking the ocean. You'll be ready for races, and snuggles and as soon as you'll see me - it will be lights over, folks. We will reconnect in a moment, and I will be yours and you will be mine, forever and ever.

I love you always Parkie Poo.




#fivebreaths banner created lovingly by @wesphilbin for the #speekpeece crew ❤️

Take your five breaths right now - you need it!



all images are mine, and are used with Parker's permission 🤗

This post is indelibly and lovingly memorialized in the Hive Memorial Forest, a place of memories for the blockchain forever. Thank you @beeber for creating a space for us to leave our tributes to our loved ones. What a beautiful community!! Dreemers, don't forget to add your posts to [DreemPort] today for the Hive Memorial Forest collaboration!

Sort:  

This post is so emotional, I could feel how much you missed Parker, it's funny how we bond so well with our pet and suddenly they just leave.
Parker is so cute and I love how you described his personality, fun bold strong hehe.

And when did he permit you to use his photos? 😆

This reminds me of my doggy too, how much I cried the day she died and how much I still miss her.

This is beautifully written.

Yes - I miss him so much. There were times when he was so mischievous that I'd get frustrated LOL but now that he's gone - i only remember the good things hehehe

he is SO cute - isn't he?!?!?! just such a good boy!!! hehehe

He permitted me to use those photos when I took them... see?? don't you see he's posing for them? he knew one day I would make him famous HAHAHAHAHAHA

I'm sorry that you lost your pup too - they really take a piece of our hearts with them. but someday we'll get those pieces back when we're reunited hehehehe

thanks for the visit Amie! :)

I'm sorry that you lost your pup too - they take a piece of our hearts with them. but someday we'll get those pieces back when we're reunited hehehehe

Sure Dreem. Thanks and it is a pleasure reading you.

Awww... Parker has crossed over to the Rainbow Bridge.
You gave him the best home, the best life... and he is grateful!!!
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@silversaver888, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @dreemsteem and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/30 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

hehehe he really was a grateful pup and he made life even more special! I can't wait to see him again!

thanks for the love @silversaver888!!! :)

Among the most beautiful tributes I have ever read to a special family member ... my condolences to you and yours...

thank you my friend!!! He was a special boy and I think of him often, and everyone in the family (even extended family) thought there was no one like our Parker!!! He is so missed, but he is running and running with reckless abandon in the forever fields of heaven! hehehe

thanks for the love, sis!

Oh, God. This is beautiful Dreemie and I do believer Peter Parker would be so happy reading this.

He is indeed a superman with everything said. Plus, he was one big headed cutie🥺

hehehehe he was the best dog!!! and yes - look at that cute big head! hahahaha

He used to keep us laughing. I have one picture of him sitting next to me- and he's all twisted upside down in a crazy position hahahahaha he thought he was a puppy for the longest time LOL

thanks for the visit Miss @balikis95 hehehe

Hehe... I can feel he brought happiness in. His stance with your husband is cute.

I pray his soul continues to rest in peace. Thank you too, Mrs. Dreem😁

aw so beautiful... I'm feeling all kinds of furriness inside. I had dogs growing up and I loved them all so very much, and each time one had to leave us... my heart broke all over again. Our pets truly are family, and your Parker seemed like the best kind of family ever. Their eyes are so soulful - you were doomed the second you locked eyes with him hehe. And I love that he ran wild with the coyotes...and they let him!!! Such a gorgeous animal, and such a treasure, Dreemie 🤗💗 !LUV ps: I love the pic with Joe!

hehehe they never hurt him - and they KILLED plenty of other doggies.

I think they just thought that he was too crazy to kill. he was their entertainment hahaha

or maybe he just ran like the dickens when things got hairy! hahahahaha

and yes - i love that pic of Joe and Parker too LOL so glad I snapped it!

that was the beautiful house that we had that I told you about... the special big one hehehehe

I think they just thought that he was too crazy to kill. he was their entertainment

What the heck is he? The first dog with nine lives? !LOLZ

And your home looks like a gorgeous place... 💗

it was so beautiful... i'm so glad to have experienced it for at least a taste of that kind of life !!! hehehehe

and yeah, i really do not know how he survived the coyotes - every night! he ran with them! LOLOL

i guess he knew how to party LOL

You wrote it so beautifully and lovingly it makes me fall in love with Parker too. He’s surely such a handsome boy.

thank you so much @firayumni :) I'm sure he would let you love him and hug him heheheh He has a special fondness for people who think he's handsome! hehehehe You can come visit him in my heavenly cottage! 😍

I was moved to tears with this Dreemie. Your dog is as wonderful at heart as you are. I know Parker is watching you lovingly form those big fluffy clouds.✨🥺

hehehe he is for sure chasing some rabbits... he loved to chase them (and he caught them too hahahah) and he would be so proud of what a good little hunter he was LOL

I can't wait to hug him again! thanks for coming to hug me Tess!

I'm always ready to do that. I love hugs more than anything.🤗
I'm sure he's giving the heaven-rabbits a good run for their money. Chasing them everywhere. But God doesn't let people get hurt over there so he'll probably keep chasing but not catching.😂

I'm moved to tears damnit😭😭😭😭🔥💞

make them tears of joy hehehe because he blessed our lives :)

I remember you telling me about Parker, it's so nice to finally see him ♥️

Did he actually run with the coyotes, or just avoid them? Either way, he was one tough dog :)

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

hehehe yes - that's our boy!!! you'll see him one day in the future i'm sure hehehehehe

and yes - when they would start yipping - he'd run straight for them! and we wouldn't see him for the night LOL i think they were calling for him - and he ran to the party! ahahahaha

He was part of the pack then :) ... I can only imagine the stories he will tell one day!

!LUV

and won't it be fun to actually HEAR them hahahaha

Definitely :) I can think of a few furry friends I'd like to hear from too!

What a beautiful friendship!! I love it! Although it is something deeper since it is a canine member of your family. I had that same connection with a pet that I had years ago and who is sadly gone, but our connection was similar to the one you had with your beautiful dog. Thanks for sharing it.

hehehehe yes - he was so special

that is the sad thing about the connection with pets - they don't live as long as us... so we will undoubtedly feel that pain of losing one :(

I'm so glad that those kind of connections exist though - because better to have loved and lost - than never to have loved at all... right?

thank you for coming to visit and share your appreciation for animals with me hehehe

Awwwww, isn't this just a besuy tribute to the amazing and outstanding parker. I love dogs for so many reasons but one outstanding reason is that they are protectors.

I'm glad that you know he is in heaven. I feel all dogs have a spot reserved for them in heaven.

yes -i've recently seen some videos where dogs came to protect their family.. and i get chills every time. they are amazing!!!!

and yes - I know some people wonder if really they will be up there with us? hehehe

but I just have a hope and peace that they will be! and that's enough for me! hehehe

thanks for visiting @wongi :)

and i get chills every time. they are amazing!!!!

Chills is an understatement. I saw one where a baby ran out of the house to meet her dad and all the dogs went behind her. It was like they were being controlled. It was a very amazing sight to behold.

Have an amazing day Dreemie✨

dog seems very cleaver, did you train him yourself, animals are like humans too the only difference is they cant talk, may his gentle soul rest in harmony

hehehe yes - I trained him.

My husband just let him do whatever he wanted. LOL but Parker always knew that I was the alpha to him. hahahahaha He would listen to my every word - even if I gave him a look, he knew what I wanted him to do.

Sometimes when he was outside, he would just come to the door when he wanted to be let in. I would open the door and just walk around the kitchen, talking. and then I'd look over and he was just waiting at the door, waiting for me to say he could come in.

And I'd say you're such a good boy Parker!! You listen so well!!!

and you'd think that if your voice goes up like that, he would think "ok i can come in now!"
but nope.... he would just wag his tail like a good boy and WAIT for me to say "Ok... you can come in!"

and then he would trot into the house happily - knowing that he was obeying

but sometimes he would disobey sneakily hahahahaha and then he would pretend to be very cute so he wouldn't get in trouble LOLOLOL

i could tell so many stories about him - hahahah it was like he really knew everything I said and even thought! LOL most of the time- he was a very very good boy.

but occasionally... mischievous hahahahahahaha

Thanks so much for coming to visit my post hehehe

lolz i can imagine his behaving like that of a baby, will love to have a dog like that, listen and obey, very sad he didn't last long

Parker the mischievous and yet cute, smart and strong dog . Your dog is surely good in a lot of things which will make you miss it the more.

But, don't worry because it's up there , watching over you. Your loyal protector ☺️☺️☺️.
#dreemport brought me here.

I also believe that animals go to heaven and that we have little furry angels to take care of us.
Shine is the sky Parkie Poo
🤗

I popped from Dreemport 😉 thank you 💕

Very sweet story!. A very loveable dog!. In our house we also have a dog before, actually my uncle was the owner of that dog but we also treated him like ours, he also protect us from everything! My Mom cried as he died! But his memories lives in our heart. Thank you Ma'am @dreemsteem for sharing your sweet story with us! I came from #dreemport. God bless you!🙏