Coffee On Javorový - Sipping the good stuff on Beskydy

Coffee On Javorový

SIPPING THE GOOD STUFF ON BESKYDY


Javorovy Coffee.png

Javorový vrch is one of the peaks in the Beskydy range of mountains located in the Moravian-Silesian region of Central Europe. I've been on this mountain several times in the past decade and it's always a joy to be back up there. One thing they have up there, apart from good Czech food, is great coffee.

Most people come up here via the cable cars. It's a skiing mountain so it gets very popular during the winter months. When I was up there, there was still snow on the slopes - a mixture of natural snowfall and artificial snow.

Some people, however, walk all the way up the mountain. I have done it before a couple of times and it's not easy :). I definitely prefer to take the cable cars up, and then walk leisurely down the slopes, through the forest. This is what I did on the day.

On the summit of Javorový is a kind of inn with accommodation, a restaurant and bar. I've never stayed at the accommodation, but I may one day do so. There are incredible views to be had and I can only imagine what a sunrise would look like from up there.

IMG_8493.jpeg

IMG_8591.jpeg

IMG_8555.jpeg

IMG_8507.jpeg

IMG_8592.jpeg

IMG_8594.jpegIMG_8576.jpeg

The interior of the inn is in the classic central European fashion - very wooden. This gives it a very cosy feel. I can imagine most people order beers, since Czechia boasts of some of the best beers in the world, but I have only had two drinks there; coffee and Kofola, a kind of Czech version of Coke.

The coffee style most common in Czechia, in my experience, is the "Turka" or "Turkish coffee", which is just perfect for my taste buds. It's a strong, rich roast of very dark brew. They also make it like I do - without a press, so you get the granules sitting at the bottom of the drink afterwards. Also, the more you drink, the stronger the drink becomes.

IMG_8517.jpegIMG_8511.jpeg

IMG_8512.jpeg

IMG_8534.jpeg

IMG_8607.jpegIMG_8606.jpeg

Ok. So drinking coffee after a dehydrating trek up a mountain isn't the best thing for you. I would often have water with my coffee - I'd be carrying a bottle with me, or I'd order some up the mountain. This time, I decided to go for the signature fizzy drink of the area - Kofola, haha. I know, it's full of sugar and some not so good stuff, like most fizzy drinks are, but hey, "you only live once". Besides, my blood work came back from the lab and I have "perfect levels of everything", so why not live a little? It's not that I drink this stuff everyday. Anyhow, it tastes a lot better than Coke!

IMG_8561.jpeg

IMG_8605.jpeg

Talking of living a little, I also partook in a little local delicacy - dumplings. It was filled to the brim with berries and sprinkled with some sweet tasting powder. I have no idea what the sweet powder was, but it tasted like glucose. The whole thing was sitting in a pool of melted butter. Absolutely delicious it was.

Turned out I'd need all the calories getting down the mountain. It had snowed some more while we were indoors and the path down had become very slippery. This called for extra leg strength to keep from sliding down and injuring myself like the newbie skiers you see in plaster casts in winter :)

In future I'll post about my experience walking down the mountain, including some beautiful photos I took of this very picturesque gift of nature. ☕️🌲

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Hello @adetorrent,

The views of the mountains are stunning.
The coffee looks awesome indeed. Yes, it might have been a better option to have some water to stay hydrated, but I understand it might be cold and the luxury cup of coffee was more ideal.

I have never heard of dumplings with berries in them. However, the Czechs are known for great dumplings. I had some of the best ones in Prague. Dumplings with Goulash. The dumplings were filled with meat. Different from Asian dumplings; It gave me the idea to experiment with making my dumplings more exciting.

Now, this is a totally new idea, which I think should be absolutely delightful with coffee:)

Yes I've had those other dumplings as well 😋
Funny, see what I'm eating while reading your comment 🤤

D81B5A0C-E030-44D3-9654-9E70425CAC04.jpeg

 2 years ago  

Haha! Wow, those look tender and delicious.
I'm not surprised that you stumbled upon those at all.
Now you're making me reminisce on the lovely time I had in Prague😍

Kafe nepiju, ale tu Kofolu bych si dal s chutí :) Užij si Beskydy!

Děkuju. Myslím, že jsem vypil příliš mnoho Kofoly 😂

Kofoly není nikdy dost :D

"Why not live a little?"

Hi friend @adetorrent only once I have left my country. I would love to get to know Europe. I have read lovely post like yours about the different places of interest for tourist.

I am glad you have been to such a welcoming place. I have always found the wooden structures very beautiful. I imagine it was warm in there and you were able to rest from the cold.

I love dark coffee, I put sugar and milk in it occasionally. My grandparents used to drink coffee the same way you did, with the coffee unstrained. I recently learned that this is how the Turks drink their coffee. I did not know that.

I send you many greetings from this continent. I enjoyed getting to know a little corner of Javorovy thanks to your post.

Hello,
Thank you for the lovely comment. Yes, the wood (and indoor heating) created a nice warm indoors space and a respite from the mountain cold :)

Luckily you're from a beautiful country with lots of nature. I do hope you're able to visit Europe one day. I also hope to visit Venezuela one day too.

Take care 🙏

By the way, what was the temperature? I also remember once I visited an area where the temperature was 2 degrees Celsius, and I had a cup of coffee that was boiling and I felt it was warm, but after I came down from that mountainous area my mouth and tongue were completely burned.

And if this soda is massified, it would be a challenge to cocacola haha.

It was about 3 degrees at the top. Not too cold, but cold enough :)

Good to see your post , I have just now also coffee when I read your post. 😆👌👌👌

img_0.3375409783755309.jpg

Love it 🔥🔥😍

Thanx :))

Wow look like a very nice place to chill..

It is 😎

Aww Jelly....

 2 years ago  

Yay thanks!!

On a hot, beautiful day like today in Ghana, I could sit here all day drinking coffee with friends. That was a lovely moment, sir @adetorrent. Thank you for sharing.

I would love to come drink some coffee in Ghana. Maybe in the Volta region on the lakes. That place looks so beautiful.

Oh yes. Really pretty there, and places around Aburi. You would love the environment too. Maybe we shall meet in the UK sometime too.