You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The ritual of the Greek coffee

You're right, the coffee culture is similar between the Balkans, Southern Europe, North Africa and Middle East. I like to call it the "Mediterranean" culture. I think that in those days, nations were based around the sea, not the land, so cultural exchange happened quite a lot between nations connected by the same sea.

I love the photos, I can almost smell the coffee though the computer :)

Sort:  

Yes, you are right, I would say mostly eastern Mediterranean. The coffee is quite different in Italy and Spain. Not sure about Morocco and Tunisia though:)

Sea is an amazing transporter of knowledge and raw materials. From the Bedouins of the desert to a whole region, always fascinating.

Thank you so much for the wonderful input @adetorrent!