The Tea 'Bag' dilemma

I've been served or have made tea inside a bag for pretty much my entire life. Tea always had an after taste but I thought that was just the different type of tea brands and accepted it for what it was. When I tried steeping loose leaf tea I was inexperienced and would always mess up the process by either burning it, keeping it in the water for too long or not long enough and just drank it knowing it had an after taste because I messed up the process. Well, naturally (And also looking up a lot of different methods to properly steep tea) over time, I became experienced enough to make tea exactly how it should be made and the flavor was good!

But recently, perhaps due to my taste buds changing or just noticing less of the tea, the after taste of the bagged tea became too much. What the hell had the brand I usually bought done with their tea? I pondered it for awhile, hoping this batch was a fluke and it would go away over time, but one day, as I just made a pitcher of bagged black tea, I took a sip and again was caught by the bad after taste. I walked away when the realization hit... The Bag! Over my life I've heard of coffee drinkers and loose leaf tea enjoyers often make a comment about the filter or bag altering the taste of the beverage but never put much thought into it, different strokes for different folks I assumed.

But now to realize that the after-taste I had been experiencing for all my life was the bag! I couldn't believe it. Well, I could because others have said it but how was I supposed to know when every home made tea I drank was steeped with a bag?

So now I am opening the teabag and dumping the contents into a strainer to steep the tea

IMG_8587.jpg

Ripped open bag, strainer, and steeped tea in the background

Though I may need to buy a brand that doesn't 'powderize' the leaf

IMG_8591.jpg

Southern classic.

This whole experience has been like when somebody is allergic to a food but they don't realize and just think the food always tastes like that. That was me with the 'bag' after taste.

dontknowuntilsomebodytellsyou.webp

Example of what I am referring to! Source: Photo taken from Tumblr/reddit


Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed.

Happy Steeping!

Sort:  
 8 months ago  

Thanks for stopping by to share your experience with us:)

Instant Coffee!!-12.jpg

Thanks for your comment!

Interesting experience with tea, here in my country it is not customary to drink tea, it is coffee, but I have had tea from time to time, the one I like the most is green tea and it is also medicinal.

Thanks for sharing.
Good day.

Green tea is pretty good by itself. I've heard that the ideal steep time for any green tea is 90 seconds, any more/less and it quickly loses its flavor. Thanks for your response!

 8 months ago  

Hello there!

It's great to see you stop by. Here's a cup of tea and a muffin on the house.

Untitled design-89.jpg

While you're here, why not check out the posts of other authors and perhaps leave them a comment or a vote?
As a community within the Blockchain, we are striving to build the Hive ecosystem as a real community for the growth of Hive, and engagement plays a key role here.

Don't you think?

Have a Tea-some Day
From the Cinnamon Cup Coffee team.🤗

Photo and logo is the property of millycf1976. The image was edited in Canva.

Thank you for the welcome. I will definitely be on the lookout for other posts in the community to participate with!

Congratulations @asynckronism! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.
You got more than 800 replies.
Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the August PUM Winners
Feedback from the September Hive Power Up Day