All in vain

Here I am in front of this great cliff. Seeing the horizon with huge waves that almost reach my feet and disappointment invades my soul.

So much work, so many illusions of achieving my goal, so much time and money invested in this and for what?

For years I dedicated myself, in my scientific laboratory, to find and perfect the secret formula that would lead humanity to total knowledge and immortality. That is to say, inside this small flask is the potion to take mankind to another level. To the level of the gods.

I started from a very young age, I had the basics of the formula and as I studied and trained myself between science books and advice from my teachers I was improving the formula, but it was not enough.

When I finished my PhD in science, I met the most brilliant minds in the world and we agreed on a partnership. It was something like a personal challenge that all scientists have, so we came together with a common goal, the success of the formula.

We spent years studying, adding components, removing others. We got the latest equipment with state of the art technology and nothing, the formula did not work well, it could not give the subjects under study the intelligence to have all the knowledge and immortality, either one or the other but not both. We could not achieve the necessary fusion. According to the colleague from Great Britain we lacked an energy source that would fuse all the ingredients and detonate the great power of the formula.

I got tired of waiting for the formula to succeed. The resources were exhausted and the scientists were no longer interested, because money is what moves the world and scientists are no exception.

It was very late that night and there was no one left in the laboratory. Early in the afternoon they had called me to tell me that the last sponsor had withdrawn the funds. I felt defeated and finished.

I felt extremely anxious, short of breath and unable to think clearly. I was going crazy. Then I stood up and threw my computer keyboard in the air, the notes of the whole study cycle went into the trash can and without realizing it, I threw a dropper containing a small sample of the formula and it went straight to one of the plants that adorned the laboratory.

The thick, dark liquid from the dropper spilled out and the black soil absorbed it in a matter of seconds.

I became concerned. And the sun caught me analyzing the plant. I discovered that it was a coffee plant that one of the scientific colleagues had brought from Venezuela. And by the time I added the formula to the soil it had a good amount of somewhat red coffee beans, a few days away from picking them.

I waited a few days and everyone on the team was attentive, because we didn't know what was going to happen with this fusion. It was totally different from what we had been doing. I was anxious. We picked the beans, roasted them, ground them and the wonderful smell that coffee gave off was unmatched.

We made a cup of coffee and offered it to the subject under study. He drank the cup and we almost lost him. A cardiac arrest knocked him out for a few seconds. But when he woke up we realized that the formula had been a total success. The wonderful thing is that the coffee acted as the energetic component we needed to activate the elements of the formula. It was the happiest day of our lives as scientists and a very important day for humanity as we know it.

I immediately contacted the United Nations and an urgent meeting was called to discuss the advances of a scientific research that would change the history of mankind, that was the information that the representatives of the states of the world were handling.

I entered that room full of people from all over the world. I went up to that famous podium that I was tired of watching on television when the great leaders of the world met. I was a little nervous. I approached the microphone and everyone in the room had translator headsets.

I uttered a short sentence:

-Today we are gathered here to give the formula that will change humanity the value it deserves?

I had not finished when one of the heads of state interrupted me and told me that his country, because it was more developed and had more votes in the United Nations, would have full rights to the formula. I was surprised and told him that this was not the purpose of the investigation. While I was carefully explaining to this president, another one stood up to tell me that his country had the best scientists and that since they had collaborated in my research, they had the rights to the formula. While another one stood up and in a language I could not recognize said that they would sell the rights to one dose per person payable in precious minerals.

With my eyes bulging from all the fuss, I watched as the heads of state argued about having that little vial in my hands.

I was trying to make them listen to me. I wanted us all to equally take the formula to move together to another level. But at this point I don't think anyone listened to what the formula was about. They didn't know what it was for.

So I stepped off the podium and tripped. Everyone thought it was an accident. The dropper fell to the floor and broke and the formula spilled. With that, the ambitious dreams of the rulers were shattered.

Now I am throwing what is left of the most valuable ground coffee on earth into the sea. Humanity is not ready for this incredible breakthrough.


Imagen1.png

Esta es mi entrada al #STB Prompt 12, invito a participar a @tere.alv.

Imagen1.png

dc.png

Original content by the author.
Resources:
📷 Redmi 10 Smartphone
Translation done with Deepl.com
✿ All Rights Reserved || © @chacald.dcymt // 2020-2022 ✿
💌 Discord: chacald.dcymt#3549

Sort:  

I loved the story, it made me reflect on different aspects of the world order and ask myself the question: are we really ready for significant changes?

We're not....was right to get rid of the coffee. We can't handle a responsibility like that.

Thanks for stopping by. Best regards

 2 years ago  

Seems about right, people fighting over some new breakthrough in science. Probably a good idea to get rid of it in the end. Nice story. 😁👍

Hahaha I would have done the same, those corrupt and ambitious leaders don't deserve it at all, very good story :D

Thank you very much, an honor to receive your appreciation.

🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊

Me gusto mucho el drama de tu historia. La humanidad no está preparada para este increíble avance.

Muchas gracias 😊. Eres siempre bienvenida por aquí.

🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊

 2 years ago  

Brilliant story @chacald.dcymt 4.jpg

Great discussion!
Smart move, and I think I'd have done the same. 👏

Yes, he just went by what he saw in the debate. He made the best decision.

Thank you very much for all your support

🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊

A very nice story. greetings

Thank you very much ☺️. I'm glad you stopped by

Hello @chacald.dcymt
Your creative story call my attetion
I read it carefully, while I was reading it, it was interesting each time, it takes us to the reality and the ambitious people in the world, very good decision to spill his formula to the sea, since peace is better and the war of powers had already begun in wanting such a formula.

I am very happy that you liked it. It is fiction but how many times have we not come across a similar reality? Thanks for stopping by, an infinite hug and blessings to you.

🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊

Congrats on your wonderful story 💗I think one of the things I loved most was the way in which you ended it... the recognition that humanity was not ready for this kind of knowledge and therefore the means to access the knowledge was effectively removed from them. !PIZZA !ALIVE

@chacald.dcymt! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@samsmith1971(1/10) tipped @chacald.dcymt (x1)

Join us in Discord!

This is a very creative and imaginative story, @chacald.dcymt. Congratulations on winning the contest!

So sad after all the effort he had put In Making the formula. They all wanted it for their selfish gains.