A super-cool coffee shop in a nice Chicago neighborhood

LudlowCharlingtons.jpg

Ludlow Charlingtons coffeeshop in Chicago


Sometimes when I come back from a trip I feel that I missed a thousand things to do and I come back with that feeling that the time didn't give up at all. That happened to me last month when I spent a week in Chicago, but judging by what I have written in Hive about what I did on the 19th of April it seems that I made the most of that day.

I started with a ride on the L in Chicago's Loop followed by a little walk at Chicago's Riverwalk. Then, I did a nice walk with my son from the Loop to Lake Michigan through Grant Park and from there, we went by subway to Lincoln Park to meet my husband. But as we still had some time before meeting my husband to attend the Chicago Latino Film Festival, we decided to stop for a coffee. So let me share a bit of the nice coffee shop we visited with you, the coffee lovers community in Hive.

After our walk in Grant Park, my son and I took the red L line to the north of the city and got off at the Fullerton station in the Lincoln Park area. We walked through some residential streets that I thought were beautiful to N Clark St.

LicolnPark_1.jpg

LicolnPark_2.jpg

I had mentioned to him that I had seen on Instagram a very cool cafe in this area that had a dog theme and he immediately told me that he knew which one it was because that cafe was a friend of his favorite, so we headed there. The cafe is called Ludlow Charlingtons Coffee Shop.

LudlowCharlintons_9.jpg

It is a small neighborhood cafe, which I actually prefer to the well-known chains. We were lucky to get there about half an hour before closing time because they close early, at 4 pm.

LudlowCharlingtons_1.jpg

The menu had the classic coffee shop options and a few specials. I ordered a Cappuccino and my son ordered one of the specials, a Maple Latte.

LudlowCharlingtons_2.jpg

The coffee was good, nothing extraordinary to be honest. I found the Maple Latte a bit sweet. But the best thing about the coffee shop was the portraits of dogs on the walls.

LudlowCharlintons_3.jpg

These are portraits of dogs dressed in period costumes and inspired by the dogs at a shelter that the owners of the coffee shop support with the proceeds from the coffee shop's merchandising.

LudlowCharlintons_5.jpg

They also promote the adoption of shelter dogs. And some of those dogs adopted through their work are the inspiration for some of the portraits.

LudlowCharlintons_6.jpg

LudlowCharlintons_7.jpg

The site was super cool and with a great cause.

LudlowCharlintons_8.jpg

We had our coffees and couldn't stay long because they were closing, but it's the kind of coffee shop that I'd like to have in my neighborhood.

Thank you for reading.

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin

May 21, 2024

If you're reading this and you are not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through my referral link. I could delegate some resource credit to help you get started.

Sort:  

At first I thought: what a curious theme for a coffee shop. But as I read everything behind the owner's motivation and dedication, I began to understand why it made so much sense and so many traits of originality.

Maybe looking for a specialty coffee shop was the way to find really good coffee over there. It makes me a little suspicious because Americans invent a lot by adding things to coffee, I'm not surprised about the sugar. But it's a great experience anyway, every culture has its things and it's wonderful to be able to enjoy them even if only briefly.

By the way, I read somewhere in a commentary that you went for being participants of the event! What's the film’s name?

To be honest, I'm not a fan of coffee in the States, hehe. But what I don't like the most is when you ask for a small coffee and they give you like 300 ml of coffee lol, but anyway, every culture has its things and this coffee was not bad but the best thing was the super cool place with those portraits and that, unlike the big chains that usually abound there, this was an authentic neighborhood cafe

By the way, I read somewhere in a commentary that you went for being participants of the event! What's the film’s name?

Una peli dirigida por mi esposo era selección del Festival de Cine Latino de Chicago, se llama Hijos de la Revolución y aún no se ha podido estrenar en Venezuela porque no le han dado el registro de cinematografía como película venezolana.

Saludos y gracias por pasarte por aquí 😄

Ohh, I love that dog paintings!! They’re beautiful and creative, an original claim that surely helps to get more adoptions. Certainly, coffee is the least in this place. 😁

That's right the coffee here is complementary in my opinion. It was good but the best about the place were those portraits of those dogs.

How original the place looks with the portraits of the dogs, with those cool costumes anyone would want to adopt them.

Cheers!

I'm more of a cat person hehe. But yes in those portraits those dogs look so funny that makes you want to adopt them. Saludos!

A beautiful place and with a very altruistic project in favor of those faithful friends who need us. I loved the paintings, very clever and attractive.

Thanks for sharing your coffee experience.☕

Good day.

To me, it seemed like a place that was put in place with love.
Thank you for stopping by! Cheers ☕️

This is how things really work, when there is a beautiful and noble intention behind it. Dogs, love, happiness.

The decoration is very interesting, the colors, the bohemian style. I love it. It's always like that when you are enjoying yourself, it seems like you missed so much to do and you want to stop time or stay much longer there or go back.

It's a super cool place this Ludlow Charlingtons Coffee Shop.

That's the way it is, when we have a good time or are in good company the time flies by. 😄
Que tengas un lindo fin de semana 🤗

Lo mismo te deseo, @coquicoin amiga. 🤗

 29 days ago  

Hey Coquicoin!
The portraits are priceless and enhance the look of the coffee shop and I like the decor in general.
I haven't spent much time in the US, but the area sounds familiar.
It was good that you made it to the shop before closing, and yes, I see why you'd like to have a place like this back at home.
Have a lovely day:)))
Jolly good time.jpg

The Lincoln Park area is on the north side of the city of Chicago, it's an area with a good vibe and has some really charming locals like this coffee shop.

Have a great night 🤗☕️

There are places that are worth enjoying, take lots of pictures and enjoy the art...
That painting is very cool.

Quite interesting vintage atmosphere… these portraits on the walls remind me of these in a hotel that I visited.

Quite an original approach in my opinion. I will be happy to bisot such a place.

So cool and unique hotel room decor with those portraits. I like it but I can't say if it'd be easy to fall asleep feeling that they are looking at me from those portraits 😂

So good, and cool! By the way I also attended the Chicago Latino Film Festival! You have had great times there as I had too! 💖🤗
!LUV

Wow! En serio? Qué casualidad! En el festival estaban proyectando una película que dirigió mi esposo. Esta es su segunda vez en el festival, la primera fue hace ya unos cuantos años.

!LUV

Vaya, pues espero que tu marido proyecte más películas y así vais más veces. Yo lo recuerdo también hace muchos años y fue casi una de las primeras cosas así interesantes que hice, me lo comentaron y allá que fuimos. Cosas de la vida.
Un abrazo amiga 🤗
!HUG

Jeje! Ojalá! Lo más difícil no es que le proyecten una película en el festival sino que pueda filmarlas ;)
Un abrazo 🤗😘

!HUG
!LOLZ

Dear @coquicoin, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @duvinca.
(1/3)

Dear @coquicoin, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @duvinca.
(1/3)

coquicoin, duvinca sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

What a cute place 😊 and they help support a good cause too.
Too bad it was already closing.
Thanks for sharing 👋🏻 have a lovely day!
!LUV

coquicoin, littlebee4 sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

It really is a very cool coffee shop 👍🏽 Only you don't seem to have enough time to do a thousand things in a short time 😅

Greetings ☕

That def looks like a cute little spot. The pictures are great. I'm sure the coffee was tasty too.

Hello lady @coquicoin
I loved this cafe, the decoration of the room is beautiful, with all those works of dogs
I also think that in my city there should be a cafe like this, which encourages people to care for and love dogs more.
Your photographs are beautiful

Without a doubt, the 19th was a very productive day, you even had some time to enjoy a pleasant moment in the cafeteria.
I loved the decoration of the cafe, especially because it has a positive impact on the adoption of animals.
What a beautiful neighborhood, I like the architecture of the buildings, dear friend @coquicoin
Have a beautiful day

Nice coffee shop especially with this concept.

Have a wonderful day.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for the support:)

Congratulations @coquicoin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 19000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

The place and its surroundings are txotally wonderful, I love every little corner, I hope someday I can visit those cafes that I only see on the web, thanks for sharing such nice pictures✨

Hello coquicoin!

It's nice to let you know that your article won 🥈 place.
Your post is among the best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by fantagira

You and your curator receive 0.2071 Lu (Lucoin) investment token and a 7.59% share of the reward from Daily Report 307. Additionally, you can also receive a unique LUSILVER token for taking 2nd place. All you need to do is reblog this report of the day with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by @szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START