An afternoon between books and specialty coffee in Quinta Camacho, Bogotá

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee2 months ago (edited)


Something I tried to do on my recent trip to Bogotá was to visit some of the many specialty cafes that are now in the city. If you are not familiar with the terminology of specialty coffee, here is what Wikipedia says

Specialty coffee is a term for the highest grade of coffee available, typically relating to the entire supply chain, using single origin or single estate coffee. The term was first used in 1974 by Erna Knutsen in an issue of Tea & Coffee Trade Journal. Knutsen used specialty coffee to describe beans of the best flavor which are produced in special micro-climates.
Specialty coffee is related to the farmers and the brewer what is known as the third wave of coffee,[4] especially throughout North America. This refers to a modern demand for exceptional quality coffee, both farmed and brewed to a significantly higher than average standard.

In simple terms, they are supposed to be coffees of high quality.

In these coffee shops of specialty, they sell coffee from local producers and take care of the production chain until they serve you the coffee in a cup. And today I am going to tell you about one of my visits to one of these coffee shops.

Another thing I love about Bogota besides the coffee shops are the bookstores and if in the same afternoon you have a little bit of both, for me it's a perfect afternoon.

So one of the afternoons of my trip, I went to the Quinta Camacho neighborhood to visit the Wilborada bookstore. A couple of years ago I wrote about this bookstore in Visiting bookshops in Bogotá for Market Friday.

wilborada_1.jpg

I wanted to buy a graphic novel for my husband. I came out with two books that were recommended to me at the bookstore, the novel Grass (Hierba) by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim and its sequel. I already read Herb and I loved it but I'll tell you about the book another time.

wilborada_2.jpg

This bookstore has a small cafe inside, but when I visited, the cafe was full and there was no place left to sit. So I paid for the books and went to the coffee shop Cafe Cultor, which was very close by.

At the entrance, they have a list of some of the coffees they sell.

cafecultor_2.jpg

cafecultor_3.jpg

Just as you enter you come across the area where they make coffee.

cafecultor_4.jpg

They had a great variety of coffee to go. I kept looking around, thinking that maybe I would come back for a packet of coffee to take home.

cafecultor_5.jpg

I decided to sit at one of the tables on the outside patio.

From there you could see some other cozy areas of the place.

cafecultor_10.jpg

And you could even see the area where they have the coffee roasters. They roast and process the beans right there.

cafecultor_11.jpg

cafecultor_12.jpg

There was such a variety of coffees that I didn't know which one to order so the guy who served me suggested one of their exotic coffees. So I ordered a V60 filtered Gesha coffee.

cafecultor_7.jpg

It was simply delicious.

My sweet tooth, although I keep it at bay lately, made me order an almond croissant which was a perfect combo for the coffee.

cafecultor_8.jpg

cafecultor_9.jpg

So I spent some time savoring a delicious coffee and browsing through the book I had just bought. The perfect plan!

cafecultor_6.jpg

I liked this coffee shop so much that I went back a few days later to get some coffee to bring home. I couldn't afford to bring home a package of one of their exotic coffees, but I did bring back a couple of coffees that they recommended with beans of origin.

cafecultor_1.jpg

We haven't opened them yet, but I'll let you know when we try them.

And now, it's time for a ☕️ Cheers!

Thank you for reading!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin

February 23, 2024

If you're reading this and you are not on Hive yet, I invite you to join through my referral link. I could delegate some resource credit to help you get started.

Sort:  

Without a doubt, dear friend @coquicoin, you have achieved a perfect plan during this walk through Bogota, visiting a beautiful bookstore, purchasing two copies and enjoying an exotic coffee, what else can one ask for for the plan to be perfect?
May you very much enjoy the two varieties of coffee that you have brought home.
I wish you a splendid weekend

It was a nice afternoon, amigo @jlufer
Have a great weekend 🤗

 2 months ago  

It's great to see you, as always! Have a Coffee-Licious Day:)

Add a he-3.jpg

All images belong to millycf1976

Thank you ❤️☕️

That coffee for sure is a delight! I really wish we also have a bookstore with a cafe inside, it would be my favorite place instantly. Your place is quite wonderful.

I think all bookstores should have a place, even a small one, to have a coffee while browsing books, it would be great, right?. Thanks for stopping by 🤗

Even though this shop was a bit too busy after grabbing your books, it's exciting to see that there was still a community space to hang out in- that's awesome! It's cool to see the coffee you brought home, and the general vibe of this area! Thanks for sharing! ☕️🤗

 2 months ago  

Hey Coquicoin,
The town of Bogota looks quaint and that's right up my alley. I love what I see.
Books and coffee are the perfect combination, indeed!
I can see why you returned to that cafe, and if ever I should make it to that part of the world, that's somewhere I would stop by.
Enjoy the rest of the weekend, and a great week ahead:)))

Yeah, there were some good posts, heh-13.jpg

Hi Milly! I'm sure you would like Bogota a lot and you would enjoy with the number of coffee shops there.
It's a city for coffee tourism if such a thing exists lol.
Have a great week 🤗

 2 months ago  

😍😊

What you told us about the specialty coffee is very interesting, I really liked the bookstore and the books look very good.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Happy weekend!

Your review is now featured on Casa Café Cultor page on Hive!
---

CoffeeShop.Gifts | Explore 3,000+ coffee items on Hive 🌱☕️Claim $5+ crypto rebates every time you share two photos of eligible products!

I failed to focus on the coffee and the architecture of the cafe. really charming

A perfect combination to taste a delicious coffee in the middle of reading, definitely you would be very special in a bookstore with a coffee shop included, but well without it I should not give me my good taste with the negrito.
Greetings

I love to see these types of reviews about specialty coffee shops in the country where, in my opinion, one of the best beans in existence is produced. Because we almost always find ourselves visiting the Juan Valdés and the more common chain coffee shops.

But these types of coffee shops that you have been to are synonymous with enjoyment and a gift for any coffee lover. I'm sure the coffee you bought to take home will taste like glory.

Uff a gesha in V60, how wonderful! Although I always try to drink this very exclusive coffee as an espresso, if you have the opportunity to do so, ask for it this way, the concentrated flavor of gesha in an espresso is spectacular. But honestly I'm more of a filter coffee person, so I totally understand the decision to savor a V60, I think it's the best method to check the first time, how well they prepare and take care of the specialty coffee in the place.

May you continue to have the opportunity to come back here, I have already made a note of it in case I ever have the opportunity to go on a visit to Bogota. Greetings!!!

Me encanta ver este tipo de reseñas sobre cafeterías de especialidad en el país donde se produce, en mi opinión, uno de los mejores granos que existen. Porque casi siempre te encuentras con visitas al Juan Valdés y las cafeterías de cadenas más comunes.

Pero este tipo de cafeterías a la que has ido, son sinónimo de disfrute y un regalo para cualquier apasionado del café. Estoy segura que el café que compraste para llevar a casa te sabrá a gloria.

Uff un gesha en V60, qué maravilla! Aunque este café tan exclusivo intento tomarlo siempre como expreso, si tienes oportunidad de hacerlo, pídelo así, el concentrado sabor del gesha en un expreso es espectacular. Pero sinceramente soy más de café de filtro, así que entiendo totalmente la decisión de saborear una V60, creo que es el mejor método para comprobar la primera vez, cuán bien preparan y cuidan el café de especialidad en el lugar.

Que sigas teniendo oportunidad de volver aquí, ya me lo he apuntado por si tengo alguna vez la oportunidad de ir en una visita a Bogotá. Saludos!!!

That sounds awesome!


Posted by Waivio guest: @waivio_crypto-dive