Cupid's Cauldron

The insistent chirping of the alarm clock was the rude awakening I deserved. Last night, fueled by a potent blend of curiosity and singlehood, I'd purchased a concoction called "Cupid's Cauldron" from the eccentric health food store.

wedding-3218833_1280.jpg
Source

The package, adorned with suggestive silhouettes and a tagline that promised "unleashing your inner tigress" (or tiger, depending on your preference), had me convinced it was the key to finally breaking out of my dating rut.

Fast forward to this morning. My bleary eyes, still adjusting to the harsh light, landed on the empty cup beside the sleek, silver contraption that brewed my usual morning joe. Panic jolted me awake. "Cupid's Cauldron," I croaked, the name leaving a strange, spicy aftertaste on my tongue. My reflection confirmed my worst fear. Pupils dilated, hair a wild halo around my head, I looked less "tigress" and more "rabid squirrel."

Then I remembered the meeting. The one with Mr. Bigshot, the potential investor my company desperately needed. This was supposed to be the calm, confident me, who's chin never drops and shoulders never droops - which is perhaps why I'm still single, because no one ever tries to approach me - not a jittery mess with a heart that threatened to tap-dance out of my chest.

Frantic, I scanned my apartment for my usual coffee, but fate, it seemed, had a cruel sense of humor. Staring at the glass container where it's supposed to be resident, all it gave in return was a reflection of the mess that was me.

Desperate times called for desperate measures. I gulped down a glass of cold water, hoping to dilute the fiery potion simmering in my veins. Then, inspiration struck – the internet. A quick search yielded a forum titled "Accidental Aphrodisiac Adventures (AAA)" (of course, that existed) and within its depths, a glimmer of hope.

Their emblem seemed like a secret cult logo concocted by a lunatic who was trying to play a prank on his fellow insane colleagues. But it seemed to hold the keys to my recovery efforts. Apparently, a healthy dose of sugar could counteract the effects.

Armed with this newfound knowledge, I raided my pantry. Sugar? Check. Flour? Check. Eggs? Wait. Who even bakes anymore? In a fit of culinary desperation, I settled for a box of powdered donuts – the kind with questionable frosting colors and an expiration date best left undiscussed.

Mixing them with milk, I concocted a sickly-sweet, neon-pink milkshake that looked like something out of my 5-year-old's fever dream. Apparently dreams do come true and mine wasn't pleasant.

smoothie-8031132_1280.jpg
Source

One sip, and my taste buds declared war. Two sips, and I felt a flicker of…calm? Maybe it was the sugar, maybe pure terror, but a semblance of normalcy returned. My heart rate slowed to a reasonable gallop, and the room stopped shimmering like a cheap disco ball.

The ten-minute cab ride to the office was a blur of self-affirmation mantras and silent prayers to the caffeine gods. By the time I reached the conference room, I felt like a nervous teenager on her first date – a far cry from the confident businesswoman I aspired to be, even though everyone else thought I was already.

Mr. Bigshot, - whom it seemed we had more in common that morning because he couldn't stop munching at donuts from his briefcase - however, seemed more captivated than concerned. Perhaps it was the lingering donut dust on my blouse, or maybe the barely-suppressed tremor in my voice that gave me an air of endearing awkwardness.

The presentation, fuelled by sheer adrenaline and a silent promise to never touch "Cupid's Cauldron" again, went surprisingly well. Mr. Bigshot chuckled at my slightly-too-enthusiastic hand gestures and seemed genuinely interested in our project.

By the end, we weren't just discussing investments; we were brainstorming potential marketing campaigns. The meeting concluded with a handshake and a tentative "yes," a far cry from the rejection I'd braced myself for.

Walking out of the building, the world seemed brighter, or maybe it was just the lack of disco-ball effect. My phone buzzed – a message from Mr. Bigshot requesting a follow-up meeting. A laugh escaped my lips, a little manic, a little relieved. "Cupid's Cauldron" might not have lived up to its name, but it certainly made for a morning I wouldn't soon forget.

That evening, with a steaming cup of my regular coffee in hand, I sent a message to the forum – "Accidental Aphrodisiac Adventures: Proceed with Caution (and maybe some donuts)."

woman-4246954_1280.jpg
Source

As for my dating life? Well, maybe a little confidence, even the kind fueled by questionable pastries, was the aphrodisiac I truly needed all along.

Welcome to my blog, you can relax and be rest assured of quality content on diverse topics. Feel free to air your views and opinions in the comments section, and It'll be my pleasure to learn and engage
Sort:  

This post is filled with emotions, wonderfully written. So happy to seeing you moving forward with this project. All the best. Hoping Mr. big shot gets more intrigued by the project day by day.

 23 days ago  

4.jpg

Hahahah a wonderful read here

Oh dear lorttt!! I think drinking a smoothie with powdered doughnuts is enough to cool anyone down 🤣! Haha thanks for the entertaining read, I hope our MC kept vibing and finding her feet in life! 😄