The Canvas Tour

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee5 months ago

jen-p-_7FriM3D0iw-unsplash.jpg
Source

I woke up to the pleasant sight of steam curling from the rim of the coffee mug, the aroma of freshly soaked beans filled the air and serenaded my mind as the comfort of my girl’s perfume wrapped around me.

I don’t know which one was more comforting, her beautiful smile or the warmth from the mug in my hand. It was a close call, but as the aroma filtered into my nose and the warm coffee caressed my lips, I knew who was winning the battle that evening.
Three sips into our conversation, I started to feel a slight unease twisting in my stomach. It was a matter of minutes before my eyes became dreamy and I started flinching. Usually a composed figure, Debby’s eyes immediately widened and she suddenly bolted up, with panic gnawing at the corner of her eyes.

"Wait, I'll be right back," she said, rushing to the kitchen.
Confusion tinged with concern, I waited, with the seconds feeling stretched and distorted. When Debby returned, the expression on her face was a mix of horror and regret.

"I made a terrible mistake.” she muttered shakily “The coffee I brewed was mistakenly infused with hallucinogenic mushrooms. I didn't mean for this to happen, I’m very sorry"

But all I could hear was a hoarse groan as the room seemed to be tilting, the familiar surroundings taking on an otherworldly hue. The walls seemed to breathe and heave, pulsating gently. A shiver spiraled down my spine as the realization sunk in. Panic threatened to bubble through my belly as I struggled to make sense of the difference between reality and fallacy.

"What do we do?" I asked, trying to maintain composure. The sudden surge of colors and the distortion of reality painted a surreal scene before me, a scene resembling the canvas of a demented artist. Fear began to overpower me as the world around me began to transform into a distorted canvas.

ehimetalor-akhere-unuabona-pTUCMqXCOrk-unsplash.jpg
Source

Debby’s voice trembled as she kept apologizing profusely, offering water and a reassurance that the effects would wear off in time. I struggled to maintain a grip on reality, the room swaying like a ship on tumultuous seas.

"I... I think I need some air," I managed to say, the words feeling foreign and distant as they left my lips.

With an unsteady gait, I navigated my way out to the balcony. Every step was an adventure, the mundane now extraordinary. Colors collided and blended, whispers of sound echoed in a distorted rhythm, and the world became a labyrinth of both beauty and terror.
Outside, there was no difference between the night sky and a talented artist’s masterpiece, stars drawing intricate patterns against the darkness like polka dot silver linings on a dark canvas. The cool air breathed horror as I tried to find solace in the constancy of the stars, a semblance of stability in an otherwise tumult I found myself.

I kept gulping the water that Debby gave me as my mind danced between reality and illusion, a tango of uncertainty and wonder. Each passing moment felt like an eternity, and yet time slipped through my fingers like grains of sand. Even the water in my stomach felt like a rumbling ocean.
Gradually the hallucinogenic haze began to fade, the world stitching itself back together. With a mix of relief and lingering bewilderment, I found myself back in the familiar living room, the scent of coffee still lingering in the air, and a mug in my hand.
Debby sat beside me, her eyes heavy with guilt and concern.

"I'm so sorry," she repeated, her voice laced with remorse.

A sense of understanding washed over me as I savoured the horror on her face, knowing that we’ll still end up laughing about it later.

"It's okay," I reassured her ”Accidents do happen”, I added, offering a faint smile.
The experience, though chaotic, held a strange allure—a journey through the unknown that I would unlikely forget. I took another sip from the mug and was surprised at the taste of coffee. I immediately looked up at her in shock .

”I thought it was water” I said confused
”No, it’s coffee. But it’s okay babe, it’s not the same cup” she said with a wide grin. ” I browsed it up and saw that the espresso can help wear the hallucinogenic’s effect off”

”Okay, but get me water please” I requested still reeling from the experience

We sat there, sipping water, the air thick with a shared sense of relief , each waiting for who will start the laughing experience.

priscilla-du-preez-K8XYGbw4Ahg-unsplash.jpg
Source

Welcome to my blog, you can relax and be rest assured of quality content on diverse topics. You're free to air your views and opinions in the comments section, and It'll be my pleasure to learn and engage
Sort:  

It's nice that you weren't mad at Debbie, and perhaps even had some fun despite being disoriented. The description of how the sky looked was lovely. I could see this being a story that gets retold for a long time! 😁

 5 months ago  

OPEN-3.jpg
The photo belongs to millycf1976 and was edited using Canva.

 5 months ago  

Hello there!

It's great to see you stop by. Here's a coffee on the house.

Untitled design-77.jpg

While you're here, why not check out the posts of other authors and perhaps leave them a comment or a vote?
As a community within the Blockchain, we are striving to build the Hive ecosystem as a real community for the growth of Hive, and engagement plays a key role here.

Don't you think?

Have a Coffee-Licious Day
From the Cinnamon Cup Coffee team.🤗

Photo and logo is the property of millycf1976. The image was edited in Canva.

I felt pity for Debbie honestly because throughout that time, she would be restless and the fear of what might happen after would haunt her badly.

Thanks for really not getting mad at her and I really enjoyed your story. Nice job