Stirring Up Memories When Drinking Coffee

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee3 years ago (edited)

Have you ever felt memories pouring back in whenever you hear a specific song? When the music suddenly evokes emotions that propels you back to a particular time in your life?

What if we associate a specific memory with coffee? A cup of java from a particular destination? A cappuccino after a stressful business meeting? A frappuccino after a breakup? A latte after receiving a phone call that you got the job?

I took pictures of cups of coffee I had for years. I had no idea why and what for, but there was something about capturing it.

Cup of Coffee in Pisa, Italy

They say coffee enhances and improves one's memory. Yet, this post is not about that nor any scientific study to prove this. It is about coffee's connection to certain events that are stirred up when we enjoy a cup.

It is how we, caffeine drinkers associate that cup of coffee with an experience that happened at the time we were drinking that specific soothing fluid, the same effect that music has when we hear them.

That was how I learned to enjoy coffee. It's my way of slowing down the moment and reflect on where I am at while sipping the freshly brewed goodness and relishing its aroma.

Special coffee moments that stand out in my memory were afternoons spent with my mother-in-law in France, in the old countryside home where my husband grew up in. She made freshly brewed black coffee at 3 pm and she'd play a vinyl record of Carla Bruni's song, Quelqu'un M'a Dit

We'd sit in silence at the dining table and sip pure black coffee (yes, without sugar) while listening to her husky yet silky voice. We agreed in unison how calming her voice was and we'd stare out into their potager and backyard teeming with peach, pear, and apple trees. It makes me smile when I think about those memories, especially when I sip the exact brand of coffee that she used.

Coffee  (5 of 23).jpg

I came across these images and staring at each of them reminded different moods and stages of where I was at during those times.

Coffee shared with friends at home

Afternoon treats alone at PappaRoti in Dubai

Favorite coffee breaks at Caffe Nero Dubai Motor City while my baby was sleeping in the stroller

Coffee Memories

  1. The coffee that I couldn't have while I was pregnant.
  2. Coffee-to-go on my way to work during busy workaholic days in Dubai
  3. Drinking coffee while feeling lost after a friend's betrayal in Argao, Cebu, Philippines
  4. Simple coffee mornings with family at home in Argao, Cebu
  5. Iced coffee during hot summer afternoons adjusting to life in the countryside


More coffee moments, Bo's Coffee in Mandaue and Cafe Cebuano when we moved to Moalboal, Cebu

Create your own coffee story

If you've reached this far, you might be thinking, "Who cares about this girl's story?"

My point is, what memory surfaces when you drink that cup?

How do you take your coffee? Do you always take the same each time or do you have a specific type of coffee preference depending on your mood or a particular time of the day? What does coffee mean to you?

Thank you for reading and enjoy every sip of that cuppa!


DiscoveringArni Profile 2.png

Sort:  

How beautifully written. Hey @discoveringarni I too feel connection with the coffee, It has been a big part of life.

image.png
This coffee reminds me of hanging out with friends during internship days almost everyday for a year we drank this coffee from same place.
Thanks for a great blog, keep flourishing.

What a beautiful coffee art and even more so when it brings back internship memories with friends. Thank you for your kind words and enjoy your Sunday!

I'm also a coffee fan. I'd rather say addicted. Black, without sugar, we call it Turkish coffee. I'm just drinking and sending greetings

Hello @desro, a coffee addict here too. Ooh would love to try that Turkish Coffee 😍

 3 years ago  

Coffee!!! I love coffee. I have never thought about the memories associated with it though. I'll have to think about mine tomorrow when I have my next cup.
I used to always take coffee with cream but in France they only have heavy cream here so I switched to black coffee. I sometimes mix heavy cream with milk though, to dilute it and to make it more like back home.

Hi @leaky20, you're right, I have not encountered creamers in France. I haven't tried the heavy cream either. I miss the coffee social calls. They always serve black along with the sugar cubes. The best thing is dipping baguette in the coffee ooh or a pain chocolat:)

 3 years ago  

Heavy cream is a bit too much for me. I've done it many times though lol. I've never dipped a baguette in my coffee though 🤔

Haha, I think it's a French thing. My husband told me that when he dipped his baguette in hot chocolate while living in the UK, his roommates found that strange. Morning breakfasts with the family are incomplete without dipping 😁.

 3 years ago  

Hello @discoveringarni😁

We're Looking forward to seeing you soon!😁
Have a great day!🤗

Thank you so much for this cool surprise! 😍

 3 years ago  

😍❤️ you're welcome 😁😘

French press is my favorite!
now replace my expresso

Hello @vaipraonde, the french press is a lifesaver. I got it from Ikea and had it for years. Where we are, the available coffee is mostly 3 in one, mixed coffee with sugar and creamer in small sachets. French press coffee is excellent.

50 shades of coffee :)

Haha @lauvlad89 , witty! That's a good one lol

 3 years ago  

Hello @discoveringarni
I do get you totally about coffee, music and things that evoke emotions🙂
These are awesome photos that are sure to lead the mind in a positive and reflective mood:)
Such lovely coffee mugs and relaxing settings.
Are those macaroons in the tray? Or Ferrero Rochere? I want one either way😋
These photos don't only bring back memories, but they also give me hope!
Thank you for sharing these with was.
It's a delight seeing you here🤗
Have a SUPER day!☕️💐

Hi Camille, coffee and music are both so powerful with emotions 😊 They are actually Ferrero Rocher but here are homemade coconut macaroons with coffee 😁

Miss coffee moments with you. We've shared a lot of them. Who would have thought sharing coffee with friends will be quite challenging at this time?

 3 years ago  

Hi Arni,
I thought they were Ferrero Rochere at first. My favourite chocolate 😋.
I do love macaroons too, and these look awesome!😍
Now I'm missing the smell of coconut;)
I miss coffee afternoons and wine o'clocks with you too.❤️
Fingers crossed we'll all be free to enjoy coffee shops and cafes the way we used to!

Same here! Who knows, we could do that again in another part of the world one day

 3 years ago  

Absolutely! That would be awesome.
Cam took pictures of himself and Kevin and sent them to Yum. She's always happy to see the old OPG gang together:)

Since I drink too much coffee these days, I find it hard to appreciate it. But back in the day, when I couldn't afford good coffee, every cup was so special and I would remember its taste even after weeks having it. Maybe now, it's time for me to tone down my coffee consumption so I can appreciate it again 😅 Also, I associate coffee with either stress reliever or time to go workaholic again. That being said, now I need my coffee.

PS : I love your coffee pictures! they are quite aesthetic.

Thank you Mac 😊 How many cups do you consume in a day? On average, I consume about 3 because I agree with what you said, Coffee = Stress relief.

I drink about 500 to 600ml decaf these days. That's much lower than my previous consumption too. 3 cups if, big, that's quite much. I don't think I can handle that much like I was in the past.

Thanks for replying to my curious question. I have to remind myself to drink 2 glasses of water per cup of coffee consumed.


~~~ embed:1433914515251417089 twitter metadata:Q3VwQ2lubmFtb258fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vQ3VwQ2lubmFtb24vc3RhdHVzLzE0MzM5MTQ1MTUyNTE0MTcwODl8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hi @discoveringarni Without a doubt, music, smells and places bring back memories, I loved this publication. 💜