Tan-awan Café

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee3 years ago (edited)

"Tan-awan means a place from where one can view things far away." - Pinoy Dictionary

Tan-awan Café is nestled on a hilltop across the ridge right along Barili Road in Carcar. It's a perfect venue for a stopover and a coffee break before embarking on the non-stop zigzag journey on the mountains southbound of Cebu, Philippines.

It was recommended by friends who discovered the pleasures of quad biking in Barili. They frequently come here for lunch, and coffee stops during grocery run in Carcar.

One late afternoon I heard my tummy growl for missing lunch on my way home from the city. It was a 3-hour drive. Driving alone on the endless meandering road was something I wasn't enthusiastic about. When I saw the roof of the cafe peeking from the curve, with a quick left-hand signal, I turned towards the open parking space.

It was empty when I arrived but as soon as I was seated, several diners started rushing in. I wanted a hot Americano but it was a blackout day. A pre-scheduled day of 8 hours power outage, so any hot beverage wasn't available that day.

Iced Americano it is then! I ordered chop suey, Filipino style stir-fried vegetables, and one of their bestsellers - pork ribs! I was pleased with the generous serving.

"Happiness is coffee."

This tag line could be seen from their coffee menu offering Creamy Latte, Cafe Latte, Cappuccino, and Americano. They also offer a variety of milk teas and drinks.

"Tan-awan Café aims to serve foreign and local individuals a good cup of coffee and a nice place to chill and chat with friends. coffee-tea-food!"

Across the road, behind the rock outcrop is a stunning mountain view of the coast of Barili, Carcar, and a sneak peek as far as Aloguinsan. Just be careful while crossing because it's a busy national road.

If you're traveling to South Cebu on the way to Moalboal, Tan-awan Café is a perfect rest stop and coffee break spot.

Thank you for reading and wishing you all a happy weekend!


Template Discovering Arni.jpg

"I create spaces that tastefully marry function and aesthetics. I intend to immerse myself in beauty not only by tangible objects but also by the unseen." -

@discoveringarni

Curiosity and imagination lead to unexpected experiences. Interested in Nature, Places, anything French, International Cuisine, and Architecture + Interior Design. Co-founder of Architecture + Design Community on the Hive Social Blockchain. Feel free to follow her, re-blog, and upvote if you enjoy her content.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Thank you for this 😍

 3 years ago  

You're welcome! Keep the lovely posts coming 😍

That coffee shop in Carcar must be a new business establishment, right? I haven't seen that place the last time I passed that zigzagging Barili road a few months ago. (Or maybe I just missed it.) Anyway, I'm really glad you found that hidden gem along that extremely busy street and shared it with us. I'll surely drop by that area the next time I'm around.

I remember learning about them before the lockdown so yes it's fairly new. It's easy to miss them because there's no visible signage before the cafe. I planned many times to stop but I always ended up passing it and forgetting while being focused on the road. The food is good indeed and I'd return again when I am in the area.

That little place seems very welcoming, portions of serving is good and the view is all one needs. Great post, have a good weekend :)

The food was delicious and I left completely full, even though I didn't eat the rice. Wishing you a lovely weekend as well😀

Well deserved stop for this 3 hour trip, a beautiful place to enjoy. A good coffee is a pleasure that I love to enjoy daily ☕💕.

My apologies @cvnuitter for my late reply. It was a much-needed break and caffeine boost to be more alert for driving. Hope you are having a beautiful weekend! 😊

 3 years ago  

Happiness is coffee indeed.
Looks like a nice spot for lunch and the meal looks delicious!

Hello, @leaky20 oh yes indeed! It has been a while, glad to have you back.

 3 years ago  

Yes I've been busy with work and haven't done much traveling because of weather and covid. I'm going to try and engage a little more.

Love your Foodie post!

Yum! You have been curated @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Join and Post through the Community and you can earn a FOODIE reward.

Banner_followBHcommentsize.png

Thank you so much for the mention @anggreklestari 😀 and @foodiesunite