Forever Favored, My Valentine

Sometimes things really are better, backwards. Of course you would assume that having all the information right up front would give you the most information with the fullest perspective, but is that simply because we're used to things being received that way? Why not take a little Valentine's Day chance with me, and just take things as they come? Resist the urge to peek ahead. No cheating. After all, it is the holiday for being true, is it not?


SCENE OPENS

Whispering in the dark, two shapes can barely be seen. The sound of occasional rustling is heard. A sliver of light pierces through a crack between two sharp edges, illuminating a pair of dark figures, nestled beside one another. All seats surrounding them are oddly empty. There is an eerie sense of futility and impending doom.

Sweetie: Britt, I know we should be grateful. We've had more time together than we should have been given. Outlasted them all, haven't we, my love?

Britt: Every last one of them, my sweet.

Sweetie: But damn it, I want more. Is that wrong of me? Is it selfish, Britt? Tell me! Is it so wrong that I would expect more from this life after the harried journey we've had together? We were CREATED for this time. DESTINED for love and celebrating. Look at the stuff we're made of, Britt! We should be happy to plunge into the abyss together, side by side. But I'm not. I want more. I want our freedom. I want more time. I want to see more of what is out there! This can't be the end!

Britt: Shhh. I know, Sweetie. I know. We've already defied the odds, though! The Fates have not only molded us and birthed us at the same time, but released us into this brand new world, together. Sharing the same space. Living next to one another. If they can be trusted to do all that, surely they can be trusted in this next season, too?

Sweetie: But why must we just sit here and await the inevitable? Can't we run?

Britt: Sweetie! Take a look around you! How? Look at us! How far could we get? We have no plans! No means! No options.

Sweetie: There are always options, Britt! And maybe you're right. We've been so much more fortunate than the others! Our greatest disadvantages have also been our most fortunate blessings in disguise! Maybe the Fates do favor us. Maybe there is hope!

The sliver of light is immediately transformed into a blinding flood, illuminating everything. All is exposed. Two remaining chocolates are nestled in the plastic cells within a heart-shaped box: a super SWEET chocolate-covered strawberry cream, and a fudge-dipped almond BRITTle. The camera zooms out to include two lovers in the scene. They are ending their romantic night together.

Carla: (patting her stomach and wrinkling her nose) Those chocolates were divine! All the best flavors - well, except those. (Carla points at the two remaining treats, and sighs) Ughhhh, Chad, I can't eat anymore- especially not these. I always toss the strawberry creams. They're too SWEET for my taste. Should I dump them both?

Chad: (reluctantly getting up from the couch to investigate) Hmm seems a shame to waste them but I've had enough as well. I definitely can't eat that hard BRITTle with my teeth. Hand it here, I'll get rid of them.

Carla: (hands over the box, then heads towards the bedroom) Thanks, love. Oh! Don't forget to clean the coffee pot?

Chad: Will do, babe.

Chad proceeds to the bin, unceremoniously dumping the least desirable chocolates to the bottom. Lifting the top off of the French press, he pours the steaming hot coffee grounds onto the two candies, turns the kitchen light off, and heads to bed.

Camera does a slow zoom to the bottom of the bin, revealing two chocolates that have been molded by heat from the piping hot coffee grounds. They have now merged into one, soft lump.

Sweetie: We've been favored by the Fates, my love. Together forever.

Britt: Free and embarking on a new journey as one, my heart.


Fade to black.

~Fin~



This sweet little silly post was my joyful entry for the Cinnamon Cup Coffee 2nd Anniversary and Valentine's Day Contest. If you'd like to join in the fun, click on that link and check out the details! Get creative!

Divider created by me using free assets on Canva
Cover image by me, using Midjourney

Sort:  
 last year  

This is an amazing first entry. 🙌

The tone, setting, and mood were perfect. Your presentation is pleasing to the eye.
Your writing is immaculate.

I'm so pleased that you entered the contest.

👏

Best of luck:)

I like what I see..gif

was I the first! hehe how fun!!!

this really was a delight to write!!! I woke up with the idea and just let it flow!

I was giggling along with my future reader as I was spinning the tale!! lolol

thanks for the visit and happy 2 years for CCC!

 last year  

Thank you 😊

Ahhhh! This is the best thing I have read today, and just when I was having such an awful day!! Wow. I love how creative you get, giving us the best when we least expect it. Your angles and the way you structure your imaginations to fit not just the box but to swallow it all... magnifique!

I really love it. Now, I have inspiration as well!!

hahahaha i woke up this morning with this idea!!! LOL and I saw your comment on the contest post - so i'll be looking out for yours too hehehe

thank you for the visit and for sharing your enjoyment with me! LOL i'm glad it broght some sweetness into your bitter day! hehehehe

😁😁

And... you have outdone yourself again. This was so so cute! And unexpected! Clever and perfect! You are a master at leading your readers where you want them to go... 🙌 Ms. Dreems... I love your writing 💗!LUV !LADY !ALIVE

Boosted.

View or trade LOH tokens.


@samsmith1971, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @dreemsteem and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/2 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

@dreemsteem! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

hehehe two posts for this week already!!! I'm on a roll...🤣🤣🤣

thanks for the visit and the shared joy with this sweet little morsel of a story! hehehe it's just a quick little snippet...but that's all it really needed to be for a smile! waiting for yours now!!! hehehe

!LOLZ I will write for it... I just need to get some ideas going. Working on a freewrite at the mo... which I want to post before I go to bed tonight... I'll pretend I'm on Cali time - I mean technically I haven't gone to sleep yet so still my day 2 even if it's past midnight ROFL... Then that will be 2 days 2 posts. I have my idea for monthly Inkwell already so that is another I need to start😎

What code did the Vikings use for telegraphs?
Norse Code.

Credit: reddit
@dreemsteem, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @samsmith1971

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(1/4)

you make it work for you!!!

we bend time to our will!!! hehehe

🙌!PIZZA

Sublime! What a brilliant idea and you’ve executed (hehe) it amazingly well. I love the “lump of chocolate”, together forever, indeed. Such fun to read.

hehehe I also loved that...the thought of them getting tossed into the trash held a lot of adventure... hehehe cuz they will now travel to see many parts of the world! lol..in buns and trucks and maybe end up in a landfill somewhere

but how to keep them from.tumblimg apart???

ahhhhh sweet coffee lends its help. coffee.to.the rescue. hahahaha

I'm sure it was cinnamon scented! llol

hugs to you Stylish!!! thanks for enjoying with me!

Oh, Dreemie dreemer!
You are so creative. The little story is fantastic and so well written.
Best of luck in the contest 🤗

CoquiCoin_CCC_Fantastic.gif

hehehee wasn't it just a cute little.tale of love in all.forms?? hehehe

I so enjoyed writing it!! thanks for visiting coqui!

You can run, even want to escape, but love can always prevail. I think that part caught my attention. I really like the conjugation of the story and the form of the dialogues. They are really good. : )

hehehe that's right....love will always find a way!!!!

I'm so glad it make you smile!!!

Ah that was fun! You're really good at dialogue and it makes me want to go and change mine to add some of your humorous charm to it! Ah, never mind. You are amazing!

ohhhh yours is up??? then I need to go find it! hahaha

I'm glad you found some.fun in your day with me! happy to be the bringer of it!! lololol

This was quite a creative and fun piece. The ending was the best, a timeless fusion that will never be forgotten.
You did an excellent job with that denouement.

hehehe thank you so much! and you're throwing those fancy words at me now!!! hahahaha I'm brought right back to my creative writing class! hahahahaha

I'm so happy that you enjoyed this - and yes - the timeless fusion that will keep them joined forever!!! :)

had to end happy - right? love needs that!

Hahaha! Cheer up, you did something tremendous here.
😁😁

hehe... I shall stay cheered!!! lol

Quite simple and soothing. Had to reread the post again to understand where "sweetie" came from lol.

hahahaha yes...she was a super sweet strawberry cream chocolate! HAHAHAHAHA

and Britt...was an almond brittle chocolate hahahaha

the unwanted leftovers in the candy box lol .it's always a few that get left behind

but that worked out well for them in this case! had they been the favorite flavors....they would have been devoured and savored lol

thanks for your visit hehehs

What a fun love story :) I guess for two chocolates, it's the best they could hope for!

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

exactly!!! a merger of melding cocoa!!! for all eternity hahahahaha

so glad you enjoyed hehe

And if they get dried out, they'll last forever!!!

It was a really good read :)

hehe... I really don't like those strawberry creams... but now I will never think of them the same again hahaha

Let me guess, you'll always send them on their way with good wishes now 😂

!LUV

hahahaha and hope for their future! lol

Yeah, hopefully a bird doesn't find them, lol!

I was wrong to have assumed Brittle and Sweetie are human before getting deeper in the post and fate definitely favored them.

They ended up together as they wishes and you got me imagining what a talking chocolate bar would look like.

Great story mama, how was your trip back home???

hahahahhaa if I got your imagination spinning...then I've succeeded hehehe

I always like to bring something new with my writing... something different hehee

oh the trip back home was blessed!! but always bittersweet

I love coming home to my family but I hate leaving friends

it just helps me to look forward to next time. hehe

I never imagined that they were chocolates, I loved how they melted together, that beautiful analogy. Beautiful work. Thank you.

hehehee yes I like to write with a little spin often! lol

glad the surprise made you smile! 🥰

How nice to read such an original story, so much creativity my friend.

It's good to know that Sweetie and Britt managed to merge into one and have a different destiny than they thought.

yes....I will now daydream about their travels from the bin...to the big garbage truck... and then into the great unknown!

but at least they will.be together! hehe

Yes, hahaha, they still have a lot of "adventures" to experience

I keep seeing genius write up here
Nice script buddy and all the best on the contest

thanks so much @princess-dara!!! hehehe this one was a super fun one to write!!! hehehe

hope you enjoy entering too!

Yes I really enjoyed it

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @samsmith1971.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

thank you Sammygirl!!!

Congratulations @dreemsteem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 87000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 88000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@samsmith1971(2/15) tipped @dreemsteem (x1)

Join us in Discord!