A New Friend.

These days, a cup of coffee and I, have become good friends.

Even though the bitter beverage was never on top of my favourite five list, there had been a shift in the wind recently, and I found myself sipping on the liquid concoction more times than I’d like to admit.

It all began with long nights; with hours that felt decades-long and workloads that felt like mountains, it all began with long nights and too much to do with too little time that moved like a sloth. There is just something about that bitter taste, you know? It made the nights bearable, and I had gone back to it again and again, sometimes with a puff of smoke to accompany it, sometimes with just my ink-stained hands.

But unlike the melting hot drink that screamed perfection for cold winter nights like these, I found myself addicted to the Iced version instead.

Yes, I’m the sort of person who craves ice cream when it’s snowing. So it was almost a subconscious decision, a force of habit to blend ice with cream, mix cold with cocoa beans and create something that sent shivers down my spine with every sip. It worked like the perfect bucket of cold water to shake off the drowsiness, so I decided to drown myself in it almost every other night.

Now, I’m no near being a supreme blender, and at best, my blends would be considered mildly bearable. It lacked the skills one would own after years, months of dedication and disposition, as I had only just begun with my brewing adventure. Hence, coffee shops also became my thing where I went every now and then to remind myself what real perfection tasted like.

And within my increased visits, I’ve found that cafes are indeed one of the most wonderful things invented by men up till now. Where normal fast-food places came with a tremor of clatters and noises, cafes brought a sense of comfort and calmness that I could definitely see myself settling into. With good taste in music and blends both, cafes seemed like the perfect place for me to be alone with my thoughts, where no unnecessary noises bothered to deter me from my self-indulgences. Early mornings or slow afternoons now felt more like a gift than grievance, because there was nothing more soothing than a cup of coffee and my favourite book, sitting alone in the corner, watching the city outside burst with colours and chaos. Before this, I had no idea that people-watching could be something I’d thoroughly enjoy, and because of that, I’ve managed to secure a bag full of stories that would work perfectly with any novels I write.

So, yeah, lately a cup of coffee and I have become good friends.

With worn-out books and run-downed notebooks, she sometimes accompanies me while I work. She is rather cold, you know, with all her icy nature, but she listens to my wallowing, and tries her best to console me with cookies and brownies. I try reading stories to her sometimes, things I write, or things I find in the books I read. I don’t know if she appreciates it. But I still keep at it. I think she is growing on me. Maybe I’m growing on her too. Who knows, really? Who knows….

1674576843222.png

Art created with ImgCreator

Sort:  

Congratulations @drivingindevon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

The way you described the comfort and calmness that cafes provide, as well as the enjoyment of people-watching, really resonated with me😅. It's clear that you have a deep appreciation for the simple pleasures in life, like a cup of coffee and a good book. A pleasure reading from you!

Its the simple things that make life bearable I think. If you can't enjoy the small things, how can you appreciate life at it's fullest? Because life, itself is just a jumble of small things.

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful comment. It's good to know that there are also people like me 😊

Love that last photo. We have been limiting our coffee as it's not a good drink for anxious types. However I do love the ritual, and no other drink comes close. We have decided NOT to buy takeaway coffees this year to save money. So far we have just had one, today on the ferry home, as we didn't have the means to make it. Coffee here is $5 each. So for two of us, $10 x 30 = a lot of money a month!!

Making coffee is a ritual, I agree. Thankfully I have got an acceptable set up at home to fulfill my cravings. And as coffee around here is more or less cheap, I can get by with 4/5 cups a month from cafes. It is sad that coffee over there costs so much! Even I'd have limited my cafe visits!

I dn't understand why it costs less in teh UK than here! Crazy. Yeah a soy latte can be 5.50 AUD. They do want to put up prices but people kick up a huge stink about it. Inflation is increasing cost of living enormously, but people still want to buy a coffee.... I'm actually saving the money I would normally spend on it into an account and we've both sworn off buying them this year, unless necessary i.e asked out with friends, didn't get a chance to make one in the morning, etc etc haha.

Damn.. Well you can always make coffee at home with a Nespresso machine maker or the handy dandy moka pot. I have neither of those yet so I find myself scrambling to visit the cafes every now and then. I think it's the most common cases for uni students like me.
It's good that you are saving though. If drinking coffee isn't apart of your daily routine, you can easily put a lid on it and spend the money somewhere useful in stead.

And you know what they say,,there is always tea.

I will never use Nespresso!!! Are you mad! Hahaha

At home we have a Smeg coffee machine which is great.