A Coffee at the David Mellor Design Museum Café

in Cinnamon Cup Coffeelast year (edited)

We went for a coffee at the David Mellor Design Museum Café near Bakewell today. David Mellor was a designer, manufacturer and retailer of kitchenware, besides other things.

The shop sells cutlery, as well as pottery, glass and crafts and much more. I believe his son now runs it. The unique, circular building is where the cutlery is made. There is a guided factory tour to learn about the history of the company.

In the 1950/60s, David Mellor also redesigned the UK's traffic light system.

Outside, there was a street scene showcasing his designs. David Mellor also created the pedestrian signal box, post box, bollards, outdoor seating, streetlights, bus shelters and bins. He was quite a talented man.

The inside is just as quirky too with traffic lights! When it was green for go, we made our way to the café! 😀

I had a latte and we shared a bakewell tart. Both yummy.

The café was really good and an interesting place to visit. I enjoyed seeing the late David Mellor's inventions. It's not every day you get a set of traffic lights in a cafe.

It was dog friendly too!

Sort:  

Wow, the interior is so extraordinary… I just love the traffic lights next to the tables! I would be very glad to visit this coffee museum. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you. My pleasure.

 last year  

The cafe is appealing overall, even the exterior view is intriguing. Somehow the photo with the traffic lights does not load on my computer, so I'm happy that I got to see it from my mobile:)

Sorry will try and fix it. I've noticed it before on Hive. X

 last year (edited) 

Ah, yeah! It's still not back up yet. That used to happen to me a long time ago. It's annoying. I don't think you're the only one who is expiring it though. Hopefully this problem will go away. xx
PS. I forgot, the cover photo shows up as the white box with an "X" in the middle. When you click on the post the cover photo is ok though.

Ah ok. I have changed it but it's 4 am here lol, so will have another go when I get up!

 last year (edited) 

It's all good now 👍... I see... The Stoplights was the cover photo:)

Very nice coffee shop! He’s very famous; I used to buy his cutlery years ago. The traffic lights! Traffic must be quite heavy in the coffee shop!

That's interesting. I'm afraid I didn’t buy any. Too expensive. 🙃

it's not everyday i see a unique concept of a cafe built in another fascinating take of a museum, it's definitely not something common where I'm from, so thank you for sharing your wonderful experience and boy that bakewell tart looks yummy! 😃
126142317_733047824288474_7710528549971745009_n.jpg
https://d.buzz
!ALIVE

@ellenripley! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ilovewintergem. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you @ilovewintergem. I really like it when people think out of the box instead of following the herd. ❤