Stella's Kitchen and the Cat with the Resting Bitch Face!

While out driving in the sticks, we stumbled across Stella's Kitchen, who do Caribbean and African cuisine and sunday roasts. We'd not seen it before and as it was lunchtime, we popped in.

It looked a quirky little cafe, which I like. We walked up to the house/cafe passing an intriguing looking yard, but more about that later.

It's always a good sign that people with muddy boots are welcome when there's wellingtons outside. Or were they Stellas? I was relatively clean today which is unusual for me.

I like cafes that are pet friendly. The resident cat with the resting bitch face came and sat with us.

She was a cutey despite looking as though she hated us. Took a keen interest in what was on our plates. I felt like pulling up another chair ....

We ordered our drinks first, a big cup of black coffee and a ginger beer. We got chatting to the couple on the next table who'd been to Stella's Kitchen before. It's funny how you can meet complete strangers and have conversations on vegetarianism, photography and having a bird phobia!

Food wise, I ordered a vegetarian curry and the others had a chicken curry. Unfortunately, even though I ate it all, I would have preferred it a bit more spicier. The others enjoyed the chicken curry, the garlic in sweet chilli sauce and the drinks were good.

After paying, we returned to the car through the yard. As a bit of an urban explorer, I would have loved to have had a mooch around the place. It was quite interesting but Stella might have thought who's that strange woman ferreting in my yard?!

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Nice little quirky place there. I like the signs, they're very different! Also, the cat has an unusual face, looks kinda sulky, but he seems happy 😁
Coffee looks rich, and the ginger beer looks like a strong traditional one. I love little places like those:))

supercali.jpg

I was born quirky I think so I like something a bit out of the ordinary. 😁

 2 years ago  

Haha, me too :)

 2 years ago  

Grumpy cat and good food. Looks like a nice spot to stop. The Sunday roast might be worth checking out

Yes, I could go for that next time!