The Great Reunion ...

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee7 months ago (edited)

I went for a coffee today with someone I hadn’t seen for nearly forty years. We used to work together and have always kept in touch, but sometimes life gets in the way, so we’ve never met up until now. Out of the blue, she asked me if I wanted to meet for a coffee. Never one for turning a coffee down, off I went.

We met up at a place called Harleys, which is a restaurant/pub/hotel. I’ve never been here before, so wasn’t sure what to expect apart from what I’d seen online. The reviews looked promising. On entering, I realised Christmas had arrived.

My friend wondered if we would recognise each other after all these years, so she said she would be wearing a black coat, just in case. I told her I was still tall and had not shrunk over the years. She said she was still a short arse but a bit rounder! Aren't we all I thought ....

We didn't have to worry as we recognised each other immediately although we were both greyer. The funny thing was, her coat turned out to be the same as mine, but a different colour. After a quick chat, we ordered a black americano and a latte. I don't think they did anything fancy, but at least it was wet!

We spent the next three hours and a few coffees later catching up and reminiscing about the good old days. She remembered things that I hadn't and vice versa, with some mutual memories in between. It didn't seem forty years ago since we last met. We left agreeing to meet again (once we'd managed to get off the sofa)!

Sort:  

What a beautiful post! I love it that you met your friend after so many years, greyer and all. It's a good thing you have not shrunk over the years 😂

Beautiful Christmas decorations make every experience sweeter, don't you think? The place looks like where I need to be right now. Gorgeous!

I hope your sofa is comfortable but not too much 🙈

Thank you. I do love Christmas and all of the decorations. I'm pleased to tell you we aren't still stuck on the sofa!

Wow! How nice to connect up with old friend! I have lost contact with so many old friends. Some just disappeared, some just changed and left my orbit. It’s hard to keep life long friendships these days. Things change too fast and drastically.

Yes, it just seemed like yesterday when we last saw each other not 40 years.

 7 months ago  

This kind of meet-up is always wonderful, and I think the season was perfect for a coffee too.
Lovely photos, and I guess some places are already starting to do the Christmas thing:)
Instant Coffee!!-16.jpg

I already have my decorations up at home so I can't complain. 🙂

 7 months ago  

😆

 7 months ago  

It's great to see you, as always! Have a Coffee-Licious Day:)

Add a he-3.jpg

All images belong to millycf1976