Happy International Coffee Day, learn how they celebrate it in China

Happy day, afternoon, or evening, depending on where you are when you read my post.

Today I wanted to participate as always in my favorite community @cinnccf

Original photographs from my family album

separador_hive_eollarvesm.png

As you already know, coffee is part of my life and accompanies me in my day-to-day, especially now that I started my high school classes, a new stage for me, which is full of many activities that during the week become overwhelming and coffee helps me a little to stay awake and active.

In this opportunity, to actively participate in the coffee week and all the activities that will take place, I bring you the story of some dear friends of my dad's family, where the protagonist is this magnificent beverage.

A story that begins many centuries ago in a place as distant as the China of imperial times, where their ancestors began to plant the coffee bean from the travelers of the Silk Road and became so deep in the people of the Yunnan region that today is an integral part of their culture.

My photos are somewhat particular XD, today I want to tell you about an experience, that although I was quite small I remember that moment because I had a great time and I can say that it was one of my first experiences with coffee.

It happens to be that I have some relatives who live in Acarigua, Portuguesa State, Venezuela, in an opportunity they invited us to participate in a festival that makes some friends of them who come from China, although they have many years living in Venezuela and have some businesses here, they still maintain the cultural beliefs that make them celebrate the benefits of the harvest, specifically of the coffee plantations that are the main source of the province of Yunnan where their family roots are, this tradition of celebrating the harvest with a party goes back to very distant times when the Asian giant was still ruled by an Emperor and the populations lived entirely from agriculture. For the inhabitants of this area located in the southwest of the country, coffee has a special meaning, they believe that it brings energy, opportunity, and success to their lives, something that I totally agree with and understand perfectly, why they adore coffee so much more than just being a drink, for them, it represents something almost divine.

It is a very nice celebration, it is a ritual of their Chinese culture, which is to give thanks to the earth and nature and although it seems funny in that province, their main crop, their most popular drink is not green tea, or Chinese tea, in this province their drink to celebrate and worship these deities or these gods is to drink coffee and that is why I want to show you this experience, celebrating this festival of that area where they lived in China.

In the pictures you can see the friends of my family, there is Mr. Zeng Chang owner of the business in Venezuela, he is a very good friend of my aunt, as you can see I was small, and I was giving him coffee XD, I also shared with his daughters Shui and Mei, also there are several members of the family at home, I must say that we had a great time, there I learned that coffee unites families which is something very nice, not only in the western culture as we know it but also on the other side of the world, coffee is important in some regions, in places as far away as China. One thing that caught my attention is that they do not drink coffee in a cup as we are used to, apparently according to what my mother told me in Asia they use small transparent glass cups, and they drink the coffee freshly brewed, very strong and with little sugar.

I still do not know if they are still in Venezuela, because many emigrated with the economic crisis, my family who lived in this state left the country many years ago and I no longer have contact with them.

It has been several years since I do not travel, I am always limited by lack of money to be in the city where I live and the farthest I can go is to the neighboring city that I showed you in other publications, I would love to travel again because then I would show you much more content about coffee, I hope someday to go to a coffee plantation, in my country, many can be visited, but they are almost all in the area of the Andes that is about 14 hours away by road, I was even reviewing some websites of companies that harvest coffee in those locations and allow you to make expeditions to their farms, there is even one that has an old colonial house that currently provides tourist services as a hotel, and you can learn about the whole process in guided tours through the plantations, drying patios, ovens and grinding of that brand of coffee, can you imagine? That would be great for me, and I hope someday I can make that visit to show it here.

Before I finish, I do not want to say goodbye without wishing you all a Happy International Coffee Day and celebrating it in my way by sharing with you these photos of my past and present.

I hope you like this nice story that happened in my life with a beverage that is now part of my days.

separador_hive_eollarvesm.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @eollarvesm ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Coffee indeed is divine, what it does to me is it gives me tranquility and peace of mind. Lovely writing

Hello, yes, coffee is divine as you say, it helps me to stay active these days of classes and lots of homework, it is a drink that I enjoy a lot and I did not want to miss this important date telling my story, thanks for reading my publication, see you soon.

See you around too. Have a nice day

Hey bro, what an amazing post to share this beautiful tradition of coffee in Asia. I didn't know it, and I thought that in China or the Chinese didn't use to drink coffee, you learn something new every day :D thanks for sharing.

Hello, this is a lovely story and that's why I decided to share it on this special date, I know there are many people who think like you and that by reading my publication they will learn something new, it's amazing how hive teaches so much every day, thank you very much for reading me, see you soon.

Good story...I loved it. I'll buy you a coffee ☕☕.

🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊

Hello dear friend, thanks for stopping by my publication, glad you liked it, thanks for the delicious coffee XD

 2 years ago  

I totally agree with and understand perfectly, why they adore coffee so much more than just being a drink, for them, it represents something almost divine.

I must have been Chinese in my former life!

it is a ritual of their Chinese culture, which is to give thanks to the earth and nature and although it seems funny in that province, their main crop, their most popular drink is not green tea, or Chinese tea, in this province their drink to celebrate and worship these deities or these gods is to drink coffee

That's an interesting point!

Hello, dear friend, I hope you are well and enjoyed a restful Sunday. I think all of us in this community have something that unites us to the Chinese of that province, when my mom told me the story of her friend I could not believe it, I even looked up something about that place on the internet and it is very cool, they are gigantic fields of coffee like the ones we see in our part of the world, I hope you like this family story with which I think shows why the coffee day is international, because it is a drink that unites the world. See you soon 😉

 2 years ago  

Congratulations on starting high-school. That's indeed a new stage of life. Coffee will help with that for sure haha.
Visiting a coffee plantation would be a cool experience. I think you'll get there one day for sure. You are young and have lots of time to fulfill that dream. Good luck 👍

Hello, friend, thank you very much for reading my publication and your words of support for my studies as you say coffee is my great ally for this new stage, I'm sure I will know a coffee plantation that I have already noted on my list of things to do and if it is in the next vacation much better. See you soon

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @eollarvesm.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more