You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First Beverages of The New Year

🥰Good memories. It’s interesting to see how the new year is celebrated in different countries or in different families. When I was much younger, my mom would wake us up so we could go to church at 10p.m. They would have a little service and then ring in the new year. When I became a teenager, the youth from church would have house parties. We’d play games and eat. We then all walked together to get to church at 10 p.m. It was usually 10-15 of us. Fun times. 🥰

Sort:  

When I became a teenager, the youth from church would have house parties. We’d play games and eat. We then all walked together to get to church at 10 p.m. It was usually 10-15 of us. Fun times. 🥰

This also sounds like fun.

Now they also have countdowns in Suriname in public events, but not hugely visited though. I think. Most go home to be with family. It's more for those who are tourists or don't have anything planned with family.

That’s interesting. So it’s really mostly time for families to get together (in Suriname).

It is and I think because it's not paired to a religion or cultural group, which Divali and Christmas are. So everyone parttakes.

I see. I get that. 😃