It Wasn't Love At First Taste, My coffee loving journey

I used to be one of those kids who wondered what was so special about this black bitter drink adults took, my dad especially was an ardent coffee lover, his early morning often started with the aroma of his coffee sweeping through from the kitchen to the sitting room and other parts of the house while he brewed it himself, he didn't allow anyone to help him out with the making of his precious coffee, we had no choice than to get used to it. Whenever I asked to take a sip, he would often tell me it wasn't meant for children, "It is an adult drink" he would always reply to me, trust little me to let my curiosity get the best part of me.

photo-1680079527283-0ff93b782407.jpegsource

One fine Saturday, while everyone was away, my mum had gone to the market while my dad was out on a business trip, there lay my opportunity to fulfill my heart's desire, It was just me and my sister at home, and finally I would be having a taste of dad's favorite chocolate as I thought it to be, I was around the age of 7 I guess, so I sneaked into the kitchen, dad always kept his coffee container high up the kitchen cabinet, I wasn't tall enough to reach it, so I grabbed a small sized stool to aid my height, and yea, it served its purpose.

With the Nescafe coffee finally in my hands, I thought of making myself a cup of coffee, but there was no way I could boil water by myself, my mum didn't allow me to use the gas, talkless of cook anything at all, on a brighter side, I thought, why not scoop a spoon full, it will even be more enjoyable like the Milo chocolate my parent always bought for me and my sister, so I listened to that thought, scooped a spoon full of Nescafe Coffee, straight right into my mouth, waiting to enjoy the delightful taste of my loot, but rather, I got met with a very bitter strong taste, nothing compared to my Milo chocolate, I instantly spit it out and even went further to rinse my mouth feeling irritated, so this is why my dad insisted it was an adult drink, feeling defeated as my hope for a delightful moment got soured, I carefully place the Nescafe back In its cabinet, with a hate for this adult chocolate, promising not to get close to it again, but did I keep to that promise?

IMG_20231128_132249_838.jpgImage is mine

Oh yes, I tried to some extent though, during my college days, my room mate was also a coffee lover, just like my dad, her day also started with a cup of coffee in hand that I would make same snark remark about what was so special about the bitter coffee she liked drinking, that was when I met my match, she would passionately tell me about the benefits of coffee for her, thee different brands and types that suited different taste, I just had to try them all out and make my preference, we always had this argument that I gave up during one of our exam week, I was trying to catch up on a particular course but everything seemed to be working against my energy that week, so my toymie suggested I tried her coffee drink, that It would help me in pulling through the week, restoring my needed energy, and so I did, taking a sip at first, the taste of her coffee, first waking all my senses, even though it was a bit hot, I didn't know how I managed to finish her creamy coffee with few gulps, asking for another cup, she laughed so hard at how naive I was all the while we've been together, as she poured me another cup, from then henceforth, not only did I develop a likeness for creamy coffee, I became an ardent coffee lover too.

It helped me stay active during my college days, and even now as a fashion designer, my job can be very demanding and tiring, to keep up with it, my Nescafe coffee helps me a lot, it is a wonder how an underestimated drink can be a huge part of someone's life. I prefer taking my Nescafe coffee drink mixed with Hollandia milk, I sometimes use honey as a sweetner, or just leave it plain, hollandia milk is a full cream milk, very rich as well, their combination is all I need to stay active all day long. Though it wasn't love at first taste, but ever since then, it has been a loving journey with my favorite creamy coffee drink.

This post is inspired by the #Marchinleo Monthly topics day 28, with the topic, "favourite drink"_ yea, there are daily interesting diverse topics to write about, and I'm sure you would love to take part in it, if you haven't, do check out the announcement post for more details.

Thank you for reading.❤❤

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  
 last month  

It's great to see you, as always! Have a Coffee-Licious Day:)

Add a he-3.jpg

All images belong to millycf1976

Thank you!🙂

It was a very unpleasant first experience, but fortunately over time you were able to develop that love for coffee.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.☕

Good day.

Yeah, it wasn't, I'm glad I gave in for another trial

Thanks for reading

How good this experience is and it is something that has perhaps happened to many people and that is because it is the first time they try that hot, bitter drink and it can be strange. Without a doubt, after a few cups that flavor changes and it can become the best and great that you have ever found that passion for coffee.

Interesting story of how you started being a coffee lover, welcome, greetings

thank you so much

Thanks to you for leading me to reflect, greetings