Finding the perfect Match

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee4 months ago (edited)

"Calm your horses young woman I will be ready in 5 minutes", I shot back at my best friend Louisa who has been bugging me nonstop about a silly show.

"Katherine you are a contestant for crying out loud and you need to be seated as your potential suitors would be there already!", Louisa screamed at the top of her voice like I was deaf.

To return the favour I screamed back "I AM COMING"!!

We both didn't know when we started laughing at ourselves. Being friends with Louisa means you must always be ready to match her energy whenever she goes gaga.

"Okay I am waiting", Louisa replied defeated.

"Katherine 1, Louisa 0", I said to myself.

We boarded a taxi that took us straight to BRIT's CUPID show. I kept wondering how of all jobs people decide to invest their money in matchmaking, I mean aren't they conversant with the popular saying "a match made in heaven" for crying out loud in heaven!, not Earth, and certainly not in a blind dating show. I always have this internal dialogue with myself whenever I am nervous and about to make a big decision.

IMG_6958.jpeg

While in the taxi I kept wondering what charm Louisa had used on me to accept to be on a blind dating show.

Lost in my thoughts I felt someone tap my shoulders and I was drawn back to reality.

"Young lady...Kathrineeeee" I heard Louisa say.

"Present Ma'am" I replied.

"Remember our rehearsal, always smile, give them that cute puppy face that you always give your dad whenever you want to ask for money and don't laugh too loud as I know how loud you can be.

"Yes your grace", I rolled my eyes.

"Good girl! Hello love here we come!" Louisa said excitedly and I kept wondering if the suitor I was going to meet at the show was for both of us.

We got to the venue and the decor was superb, a big thumbs up to the event planner for making the atmosphere feel so magical.

IMG_6154.jpeg

We were ushered in and I took my seat on the stage, it felt like everyone was waiting for me and I felt nervous. I hate being in the spotlight and right now I am. The only lady in the middle of four handsome and well-built men. For a petite lady like me, I felt so small more like their little sister.

"Hello, Katherine welcome to BRIT's CUPID show, here our goal is to make two strangers fall in love by asking coffee questions. We believe a lot of people love coffee and a person's personality can be determined by the way they take their coffee and their preferences, it's not scientifically proven but over here it is 'lovically' proven". The moment she said that everyone started laughing and that was my cue to get relaxed and ready for the show.

"So are you all ready?" the moderator asked

"YES!!" we all screamed.

"Okay people let's get this show started", the moderator said.

"Now Katherine, it's time to ask these handsome men seated here any coffee-related question and from the answers you get you will be able to determine if they are your type. So do you have your questions ready?" She asked.

"Yes, I do" I replied.

"Okay my lady let's hear your first question"

"Do you prefer light, medium, or dark roast coffee?" I asked my four potential suitors.

IMG_6932.jpeg

"I like dark roast coffee, and I love its strong taste after it is been prepared" the first man replied.

"I agree with him, I like dark roast coffee too" the second replied.

"I like medium roast coffee, the fact that it isn't too light or too dark just moderate", I smiled as I love medium roast coffee and his reason for liking it is apt.

"I love light roast coffee as it isn't strong for me", the fourth man replied.

"Number two, how often do you clean your coffee maker?"

IMG_6951.jpeg

"Once in a month" the first man replied.

"Twice in a month depending on usage" the second man replied.

"I clean the detachable parts after use daily as I am a germaphobe and I love my coffee freshly brewed", the third man spoke and I was in awe, at this point I didn't want to continue the show as I had already found a match. I asked the Lord to give me a sign and he did, this man was a germaphobe like me and this will make being around him easier and safer.

"I clean my coffee maker weekly," the third man said bringing me to reality.

Just before I asked the final question I silently prayed that the third speaker's view to align with mine.

"Do you prefer to make your coffee yourself or by others?"

IMG_6925.jpeg

"In my line of job, I am always on the move so I do not have much time to make my coffee so I prefer walking into a cafe and having my coffee ready in no time" the first man replied.

"It's 50/50 for me, I like both options", the second man replied.

"I love to make my coffee myself, to me making and taking my coffee is part of my morning ritual and I always uphold that", I squealed in excitement as I knew I had found a perfect match.

I heard the fourth man say something but I was too busy visualizing how I and the third man were going to be a wonderful couple.

"Ladies and gentlemen we have come to the end of this show and I am sure Katherine has found her match, over to you my lady”.

"You all are amazing but the one whose answers resonates with me is Mr Kelvin, I pointed at him. Kelvin, I don't know what the future holds for us, but I am willing to give it a shot. Kelvin smiled and pulled me into a big hug.

All images are mine except otherwise stated.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Awwn, coffee love match. This was an interesting read, If only it was that easy... 🥰🥰

Lol I know right?🥰🥰 If this can happen a lot of people would have been "matched" without any hassle

Coffee couple, this was a good ready and lucky for Katherine to find her perfect match in the match make show.

Ohhh yeah, Lucky Katherine!! she found her perfect match against all odds🥰🥰

I really liked the way you did your post, set in a show. I clean my coffee pot every day, I can't imagine it being any other way. Excellent post. Thanks for sharing dear @ibbtammy . A big hug from Maracay.

@sagarkothari88 vote

I clean my coffee pot every day, I can't imagine it being any other way.

That's very good @irvinc we all must keep our coffee pots and makers clean at all times.

Thanks for the hug😊😊

Ibbtammy with the spirit fingers, your writeups, always nice. Keep it up baby girl 😍

Awwwww thank you so much Amenaa🥰🥰🥰

Lovey dovey ending😍 I like. It’s a one in a million situation to have to meet one who stands out and has everything in common with you when it comes to coffee or any other thing. If found, it must be dreamy

If found, it must be dreamy

I know right? and must be treasured, thank you Alex for always stopping by😊😊

True. The pleasure is mine dear💕✨

Any man who professes that he cleans anything regularly is interesting haha! I can see how the answers #3 gave would lead you to select him, he seems appreciative and attentive to the small details. 😄

Lol ohhh yes! I’ve got a thing for clean men🫢🫢

 4 months ago  

4.jpg