You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Where I prefer to have my coffee

A common "helpful suggestion" from the stereotypical elder is, "If you would stop eating at restaurants and buying coffee at Starbuck's, you wouldn't be struggling financially." While it is true that eating and drinking at home are cheaper, and some people are quite frivolous with their spending, this generic condescending unsolicited advice sometimes makes me want to inflict horrific violence upon its source. Besides, it's not like a small luxury like coffee and a pastry every once in a while is a bad thing. And I, too, prefer what I prepare at home over the expensive options elsewhere. Less sugar, like you said, is often preferable, and your frame of reference isn't the horrifically over-sweetened American products!

Sort:  
 2 months ago  

Hehe! That's solid advice. I don't do Starbucks unless I'm at the airport or bus terminus and have no choice. I love coffee shops, but it's a great way to throw your money away. Yes, as you say, a little treat once in a while is ok.

Isn't the horrifically over-sweetened American products!

Gosh, I would struggle living there if I had to consume a lot of what is sold there.
Overall, I think I have decent habits with my food. I still eat meat, but I can feel myself wanting to go even healthier this year, which involves cooking all my meals with good ingredients 👍😊