H-E-B Cafe Ole - Taste Of San Antonio Coffee

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee2 years ago (edited)

I want to give a huge shout out to H-E-B for making some damn fine coffee. I've been drinking this exact ground for a few years and it's hard to make a switch to anything - I've tried.

IMG_7462.JPG

If you've ever been to South Texas (basically south of Waco), then odds are you've gone into an H-E-B. I grew up in San Antonio and for a long time, it was the only grocery store we had since they outpaced Krogers and Albertsons (I remember going into those as a small kid). Nowadays we have the national chains like Trader Joes, Whole Foods (out of Austin), etc.

They make a ton of products - almost every item in the store can be compared to their own brand's item, and they're actually pretty great quality.

I've tried a lot of their options for coffee - I can think of about 10 that they make including the Houston Blend, Austin Blend, Texas Pecan and others… but San Antonio is by far my favorite.

It's smooth and beautiful to brew hot in the mornings, or even use in a french press overnight for cold brew. It has also come up in conversations with friends and family that it's an amazing brew. If somehow you're reading this H-E-B, keep up the good work.

A little note about H-E-B: They started in the early early 1900s in the Texas Hill Country and have blown up in the last several decades. This was actually my first job in high school - I was bagging groceries for awhile, then made a cashier's position but I made good friends with the managers and they had me pushing carts, which was my favorite gig. I loved being outside. They also made a name tag that said "Shaggy" for me since I had really long hair and everyone called me Shaggy. Good memories.

Back to coffee: I actually use 2 scoops of decaf and 2 scoops of regular to make it a little less intense only because I'm addicted to coffee and drink too much caffeine. Typically I make two batches a day in a french press - so I drink about 4 cups of coffee but that doesn't include occasional espressos that I have throughout the day since we have an espresso machine. This has been the case for me for years, but it's been particularly intense lately because of our wee babe.

IMG_7460.JPG

If you're looking for a good brew, you might want to try it out!

They have the grounds online:

https://www.heb.com/product-detail/cafe-ole-by-h-e-b-taste-of-san-antonio-medium-roast-ground-coffee/125813

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Hello @jacobwayne, it's such a great comforting feeling when you discover a product that you absolutely love and stick to. I hope they never change anything about it. Nice idea about mixing decaf and regular to make it less intense.
Thanks for stopping by :)

Yes, I love this coffee and I want to scream in joy across the rooftops to let the people know haha

 2 years ago  

Haha! Let nothing hold you back:)

Congratulations @jacobwayne! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 800 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 18
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!