There's Always Coffee

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee2 years ago (edited)

Well, my friends, I've had a rather trying week so far. And it's only Tuesday! But it's times like these when it becomes extra important to take stock of the things that make us thankful. Like coffee.

leaves-g17333827d_1280.jpg
Source: Pixabay

Coffee is the elixir of life. It fuels my soul. I'm not sure I would be a whole person without it.

I broke my foot a few days ago (which you can read about here, if you like), and it has been a few painful days. After my accident happened, I had to navigate out of a little hiking area with some way-too-big crutches that my husband brought me, and I swear that effort has caused me as much physical pain as the break! Or maybe it was the fall itself — I fell about three feet and crashed onto my back. So I've got a pretty serious full-body ouch going on.

In the morning I wake up to the sense that there is just not going to be any getting out of bed. Not today. No sir. Maybe tomorrow.

It's about then that I think of coffee. And I'm all: "Yup, I got this!" Then I hoist my aching carcass out of bed and navigate the whole shower thing and getting dressed (all of which is an absolute blast when you can only stand on one foot), and then I make my way to the kitchen because coffee calls.

And of course it perks me right up, no pun intended. Suddenly my whole outlook is a little brighter. I feel pretty much whole, at that point, ready to take on the next challenge. It gives me a whole new outlook.

Somehow it never ceases to seem like an amazing treat that I get to wake up and drink this delicious, aromatic beverage that gets all the neurons firing properly, clears the blur of weird dreams and gets the day started.

There are many other things I'm thankful for, of course, like my husband who has been a saint since this stupid accident happened. Also, my friends and family, who are offering meals and help. And good health care. And my book clubs. (I have two. I know, I'm weird.)

One of the book club meetings was scheduled tonight, and the most hilarious thing happened. I discovered that another woman in my group also just broke her foot. What are the chances? So we both went to the meeting with our little knee carts, and it was the topic of conversation and quite a bit of amusement as well!

IMG_1018.jpg

So I'm thankful, also, for silliness and the ability to laugh at ourselves. I remind myself that it could be so much worse, and that many people in the world are dealing with far worse things than my broken foot, which will heal.

And meanwhile, there's always coffee.

Thank you for reading!


decorative-green-arrow-5293043.png

Photo credits: All of the photos in this post were taken by me with my iphone and belong to me, unless otherwise noted.

Join Hive at Hive.io


Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, blog about your favorite topics, curate content and earn cryptocurrency.

Get started
Sign up an account by clicking this referral link: HiveOnboard.

Or start at Actifit.io! Simply click this referral link to get started. Earn tokens by getting active every day and sharing your results.

The Ink well Logosm.png

honey44501_640small.png

#backtothehive is an initiative I've started to encourage long-time members to return with fresh energy!

Divider image from Pixabay

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Hello @jayna
You're looking bright and cheerful for someone suffering from a broken leg - the wonders of coffee, hehe?
I'm sorry to hear about your fall on top of that, and I hope that you won't have any delayed discovery of further injuries and that soon you'll be in better shape and back on your two feet again.

With your positive outlook, I think you'll be fine very soon:)

There is magic in the glass-4.jpg

Thank you, @millycf1976! I so appreciate the kind words and encouragement! Mishaps are never fun, but it really does help to think about what's good and focus on that.

 2 years ago  

From the Coffee Team 🌻
Sweet-13.jpg

 2 years ago  

Sorry to hear about your foot. I hope it gets better quickly.

Sweet-9.jpg

Thank you, @leaky20! It will... in about three months. Ha ha. I think I'm going to have to take up weight lifting so I can do something active. Sheesh.

Coffee can really made a day! Can't live a day without it too.

Surely, moving with only one leg is hard, sorry to hear that and you feet will be okay soon.

Thanks @lhes! I do think coffee is a little bit of magic.

Your attitude is marvellous. I reckon that that’s going to get you through this more than anything else. Much “hugness” 🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️☕️, and coffee, of course ❤️

Thank you, @itsostylish. It has been quite a year, hasn't it? (Eyeroll!) I'm developing a nervous twitch, wondering what's going to happen next.

Sorry to hear about that @jayna .. I hope you're okay now. Get well soon.

Thanks very much, @jane1289. 😘

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 410000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 420000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

LEO Power Up Day - October 15, 2022