Cafe Inggo 1587 | A Patron Saint Inspired Cafe

Hello! 🍵

I always say yes when a friend invites me for a quick coffee run. After all, I will have a meeting that day, and having a nice drink will give me the brain fuel. We do not know where to go! And so, Google Maps is here to the rescue. So as not to waste time, we prefer a nearby cafe because traffic in the metro is so bad.

29cafeinggo1.jpg

28cafeinggo1.jpg

26cafeinggo1.jpg

The first to pop on the screen is Cafe Inggo 1587. Hmm, sounds very local since Inggo is a Filipino nickname or name (I believe). So right then we booked a cab to go to the cafe.

We got confused about why we were entering the church. 😅 Oh, the cafe is located at the corner. The facade is full of flowers called bougainvillea. The purple flowers pop on the off-white concrete. So pretty!

25cafeinggo1.jpg


Ahh~ inside of the cafe is cold, a relief from the sweltering heat. But... I noticed that most of the diners were elders. 😅 Oh, wait, a lot of religious murals and decor. Now I get it! It's a cafe for church goers. Weirdly, an elder lady locked her eyes on my skirt, haha! Maybe this is not a skirt-friendly cafe. 😆 I did not know that this is for conservative cafe-goers. 😅 Kidding aside, the staff had the warmest welcome. They led us to our seats and immediately handed us the menu.


1cafeinggo1.jpg


The drinks are $3 on average. This is an expensive cafe already for me, so I had high expectations for the drinks and food. The little bell is supposed to call the staff? 😅 I was so shy and I did not like to bring attention, so I just politely called their attention to take our order. Aside from drinks, they have pasta, burgers, salads, and Filipino desserts.


8cafeinggo1.jpg


The food was served quickly. I got the Angus burger (7.41 USD) with potato chips and a matcha latte (2.70 USD) and an additional 0.17 USD, with ice. My friend got a Caesar salad and a roasted almond latte same price as mine.

Judging from the looks alone is promising. Presentation-wise, appealing! 😁 Serving is big for me, but it is okay if you are hungry. Here was the hiccup, though. The matcha latte is not up to par. 😫 I have tried many matcha-based drinks from different cafes and restos but this is far from the expected. I make my matcha at home for the cost way less, but man, not good for an expensive price. I can still see the lumps of the matcha at the bottom of the glass, meaning, it was not well-sifted or did not use a drink mixer to dissolve the lumps. Milk was out of ratio, and not creamy enough. I will give this drink 3/10.

The roasted almond latte was way better. Really good! 😋 The burger, chips and salad were good. I cannot find something bad about it. Overall, I will rate the food 8/10, the matcha latte needs improvement.


7cafeinggo1.jpg

3cafeinggo1.jpg

2cafeinggo1.jpg

The cafe is surrounded by religious murals and paintings. Upon researching, this cafe was inspired by Saint Inggo, the patron saint of the Sto. Domingo Church. The 1587 is the year when the Dominicans arrived in the Philippines.

See more of the story here.


The cafe also had a souvenir corner. I noticed that they also sell these on my way out of the toilet. The toilet was very clean and smelled so good.

They have different teas, mamon tostado (toasted sponge cookie), puto seco (dry rice cookie), and biscotti. 😋
5cafeinggo1.jpg

4cafeinggo1.jpg


My Rating

Service 5/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Staff were attentive and assertive. I did not use the provided bell because I was too shy! They were polite and smiley. 🥰

Food 4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Everything is good except for the matcha latte. Further explanation is found above.

Place 4/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Very clean and cold. The heat was beating us. 😅 Noisy since elders love to chat after the mass, haha. I have to put my ears out to hear my friend's gossip, oops! Love the exterior too!

Price 5/5 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Just the right price for the service and food!

20cafeinggo1.jpg


Check their website here!

Thanks for reading~ 💖


That is it for this food blog. I will see you at the next one!
📸 All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited.
©️jijisaurart

👾 NFT Showroom: nftshowroom.com/jijisaurart
🥰 Open for commissions!!!

Sort:  

I love places like this were there staffs are always smart to attending to there customers and rendering there services fast.

I don't know why I find it funny where you said you were shy ringing the bell to place an order cause you didn't want to attract attentions😂.

Well, it happens sometimes.

And I must say they were looking so tasty and yummy from the images about 🤤.

I don't know why I find it funny where you said you were shy ringing the bell to place an order cause you didn't want to attract attentions😂.

Hahaha. I prefer calling them rather than ringing a little bell. Maybe there's a purpose for that. :)

!PIZZA

Hahaha... you've got a very nice post here I must say.

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
jijisaurart tipped xanreo
jijisaurart tipped ebass
@jijisaurart(2/10) tipped @rinconpoetico7

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you! ✨ 💕

Hello friend, how beautiful that whole experience was and you can see that it was a great outing and moments like that are unique, since one enjoys, knows and manages to have an incredible time. The place and its atmosphere seem to be very comfortable and perfect to be there and enjoy, plus we cannot leave out the food, what exquisiteness, where I would like to be able to eat there one day. Very good to share with that coffee.

A little hiccup but overall, I enjoyed it. 😊

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you! ✨

 11 days ago  

It's great to see you, as always! Have a Coffee-Licious Day:)

Add a he-3.jpg

All images belong to millycf1976

Thank you! 🎶😙

Thanks for the food review. Now, I have another coffee restaurant to avoid. Charought! The location of this coffee restaurant is far from my place.

I really don't like to drink or eat food in a restaurant with a 'sin-sinan' working as a cook food and/or beverage maker esp. Their food costs a lot, but what you just get is food that is not even served properly.

But why am I complaining? I can't even afford their food. 😂 I like the bell part of your blog. Judging by the food decorations and plates, it looks like this place is for rich people.

Oh, yeah, maybe this is my last visit too, unless someone's gonna pay 🤣

Hmm, maybe it's expensive because of the location too. The church besides it is famous. 😆

!PIZZA

Apparently it is a highly recommended place to go to spend a pleasant time. The art in the place is very beautiful, this gives it an air of elegance.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.☕

Good day.

Love the paintings that were collected overtime. 😊 Thanks for dropping by!

!PIZZA

This place looks so good and beautiful, it makes you want to go visit there.