Sneaking out a cup of Coffee to wake up my senses - coffee break at work.

in Cinnamon Cup Coffeelast year (edited)

Yellow Simple Bold Clean Keto Recipes Food Blog Pinterest Pin.jpg

One, two, three, and I lost count how many times I yawned. I was so sleepy, not because I lacked sleep but because I didn't have a cup of my vitamins a coffee before going to work. I've been trying to stop and succeed for a week, but I always found myself still making a cup and enjoying a sip. My day seemed incomplete without (withdrawal symptoms*).

Now, I could hardly concentrate on my task and added these figures in my front, trying to balance the ledger in one of the online accounts I was handling. Ahh, I badly need my vitamins to survive the day.

With that, I left my working area, punched the coffee break, and went down at the ground floor. There are two stores to buy a cup Starbucks and Pan de manila. Yet, since it still a week before payday, I opted to chose the latter!

Pan de Manila was actually known for breads especially with pandesal. If there is a national bread in my country, that would be the latter. If we are going to trace the history, it originated during the arrival of Spanish colonists who brought wheat flour and baked it using fire and clay stove. The first pandesal was successfully baked and tasted way back in 1979. Source

What is pandesal?

Also called salt-bread in Spanish made only with yeast, sugar, oil, flour, and salt. A staple bread roll with basic ingredients and no additional flavors. Source

Was it the connection of pandesal bread? Well, it was the perfect pair for a cup of coffee in the morning if you are a Filipino. Weather brewed, with creamer, latte, etc., hot pandesal goes with it instead of a sandwich. One of the traditional Filipino breakfasts; could be eaten dipped in coffee, added margarine or butter, or any sandwich spread or pancit.

Thus, as the years evolve and with a lot of trying, you can buy ube cheese or malunggay, cheese pesto, pandesal.

image.png

However, it was already in the afternoon, so I opted not to buy it. They have several bread choices, from sliced, Spanish, banana loaf, pan de coco, and many more.

Since this is the only store in the building that sells coffee and bread aside from Starbucks, products were sold quickly. As you can see, there were only several left.

I was torn about what to pick up between chocomon (choco mamon) and bananamon (banana and mamon). Both are my favorites. Thus, since I need energy, I opted for chocomon.

Then, I goes to the counter near the cashier to choose a coffee blend, cafe con Leche, cafe cream, cafe mocha)

I ordered a cafe mocha since only a few hours before my shift ended. Oh, I forgot to mention, these are instant coffees.
While waiting for my turn to pay, I saw those irresistible tarts! Since I am a softy when it comes to food, haha, I got one too.

They only had a small space, so the space provided for customers is only this—two high chairs at the corner of the shop.
That was fine with me, though, since I am alone. It took only a few minutes, and my coffee was served. Was it only me who wouldn't drink coffee when it was too hot?

Most of the time, after preparing my coffee, I enjoy smelling the aroma that wakes my senses—trying to get the peace I want even for a while. I will wait till it is only a little bit warm. I was holding the cup, so I knew perfectly if the heat had subsided.

A friend once told me, why not just add lukewarm water since I couldn't drink it hot? Naaaa, I wouldn't say I like that idea. I consider that minutes in between my relaxing time. Am I weird, or is there someone here who is like me? I am curious to know.

I opened the cup and mixed the coffee well. I stayed there for a while, holding it and sniffing the scent. After that, when I felt the it was warm already, I covered it and stood up. It seemed my break was already over or exceeded.

I went back to work and brought my coffee to my working table.

316141548_1181239432501015_3460356534971326186_n.jpg

Fingers crossed, I won't get caught by the Admin! Sorry for the messy table!

Hello there! Thank you for dropping by and reading; appreciate it.

Update: I was not caught by the Admin, so I won't be expecting a memorandum tomorrow since the company policy is that no food and drinks are allowed in the working area. Unless she would review the CCTV, lol

Lead image as edited using anva

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @ladytitan ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Medyo mahal bread jan db? 😅. Bet ko tlga yang ube

 last year (edited) 

Haha oo medyo, isang bread nasa almost P40 na din.

!PIZZA

 last year  

That's a charming little Pan de Manila cafe. I always visited one in IT Park Cebu for a sneaky coffee and break before heading to yoga classes with Mary at Love Yoga.
I like the vibes of IT Park :)
O F F E E-3.jpg

 last year (edited) 

Pan de manila had a thousand of branches now I think and always could be found everywhere.

I've been in Cebu but only for days. Glad you like our place.
So when you will be visiting here again?

!PIZZA

 last year  

Yes, the Pan de Manila is everywhere in Cebu.

I lived there for 7 years and left when Covid came about. We have no plans to return at the moment, but I'm home in Jamaica now which is unbelievably similar to Cebu:)

Seven years? Wow! That long so did you learned to speak bisaya?

Oppss, I'm getting nosy 🤣

It's nice to have a coffee break in a coffee shop. nice place.

 last year (edited) 

Oh yeah, perfect place for muni muni
!PIZZA

 last year  

why not just add lukewarm water

Do they to add the water in after it is already prepared or using lukewarm water in it preparation? It seems like adding it in after would just dilute it and make it less strong tasting. I wouldn't like that myself.

 last year (edited) 

It was an instant coffee so a friend suggested to use lukewarm water.
Hehe which I don't like too since I wanted it to be hot, yet couldn't drink instant 😁

!PIZZA

 last year  

Okay I see. I get your point about just enjoying the moment and the aroma of a hot coffee.

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
lhes tipped jane1289 (x1)
@lhes(3/5) tipped @leaky20 (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!

I want the Ube Pandesal please 🤤. And I'm curious is real Ube ang ginamit. If real, for sure mas pricey sya no pero mas worth it naman. How much yon? Cheeee Pandesal lang meron samin huehue. I like coffee too pero not that much, your coffee looks masarap OMG itsura palang aguy.

 last year (edited) 

Hmm actually ube jam yata. Somehow I can say worth it Naman Ang price.
Try mo din breadtalk masarap din...mahal lng kaya Minsan lng ako nabili

!pizza

Coffee indeed is your energy booster, ate Lhes! I like their garlic stick bread yum! 😊

Hehe, I think everyone's booster @jijisaurart ..*choros"? Or !pizza

Feeling sluggish at work? Sneaking out a cup of coffee might just be the secret to waking up your senses and boosting productivity. But not just any coffee will do. Enter Fabula Coffee, where quality and sustainability meet.

At Fabula Coffee, their beans are sourced from high elevations and grown in the shade, resulting in a low acidity that won't leave you with a stomachache. Plus, their commitment to working with quality, organic farmers ensures that you're sipping on the best of the best. One thing that sets Fabula Coffee apart is their dedication to cleanliness. With no molds, no pesticides, and a meticulous testing process for over 350 chemical compounds, you can trust that you're enjoying a clean and pure cup of joe. Ready to upgrade your coffee break experience? Treat yourself to the exceptional taste of Fabula Coffee by visiting https://fabulacoffee.com/collections/k-cups/. Your senses will thank you.