Homemade Cashew Milk Latte (vegan)

Hello, coffee lovers!

How about a hot, creamy latte made with homemade cashew milk? For me, the idea is tempting, because even though I prefer to drink my coffee black--and homemade--, I have a weakness for latte made with vegetable milk--not only because my mild intolerance to cow's milk but also because vegetable milks are awesome when they've been made well.

image.png
image.png

Cashews are a highly prized dairy substitute.

I've read that eating a handful of cashews once or twice a week may help you prevent heart disease, strokes, diabetes. And I know from experience that they help to have a good digestion and a good night's sleep.

They're usually expensive, but in my city you can pay less than $10 for a kilo. You can certainly pay more, close to $20, so you have to know where to buy them. You also have to make sure they are bought from local farmers to ensure a good price and the survival and prosperity of the farmers in your town.

image.png

Our local cashews are rather small but really tasty, and you'll see them a little pale as our roasters don't add any spices or honey 👆

For me, making my own cashew milk to prepare a delicious latte has a few good advantages.

image.png

Unlike homemade coconut milk and almond milk--which I love--, for example, cashew milk does not produce bagasse. So the volume of product is promising, as is not having to devise ways to use bagasse to avoid wasting it. And I'd say it's the easiest vegetable milk you can make at home.

Personally, I prefer to make the vegetable milk at home because it is much more economical and natural. Besides, if you follow a good recipe, you may never want to drink a latte other than a vegan latte; beyond the philosophies and controversy--I'm not vegan, just in case--there's a lot of happiness in a cup of delicious vegetable drink made well, because of the innocent connection with the earth and how well it goes down in the stomach.

image.png

Another advantage of the cashew latte is obvious for those of us who suffer from lactose allergies or intolerance.

...I hope you're not allergic to cashews! 😅

Then, if you're not allergic to cashews, perhaps you want to take a look of my recipe for homemade cashew latte below 👇

image.png

For this recipe, I used:

image.png

  • 1 cup cashew nuts (100 gr) soaked in water for 4 hours
  • 1 cup warm to hot water
  • 1 tablespoon cane sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • freshly brewed hot espresso

  • A sterilized container to store the remaining cashew milk in your refrigerator

Usually, as on this occasion, I like to add some spices to cashew milk.

image.png

Step #1

The first thing I did was to soak the cashew nuts, which are actually seeds. I put them in enough water to cover them. After 4 hours, I washed and drained them and they were ready to make the milk. Easy.

image.png

Step #2

Then I put all the ingredients in the blender and let it work for a couple of minutes.

image.png

Step 3

After I was done making the milk, it was time to heat it for the latte. I always check that there are no chunks. As you can see, there are no chunks of bagasse.

The rest of the milk that I wasn't using for the latte went into the fridge. It lasts up to a week.

image.png

Step 4

I used my 3-cup mocha pot to make the hot espresso I would mix with the freshly made and hot cashew milk.

image.png

I mixed equal parts of espresso and cashew milk.

Step 5

By habit, I pour the latte in the cup and then whisk it with a whisk to make some foam. Someday I might buy a milk frother.

And here you are!

image.png

image.png

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

Sort:  
 5 months ago  

This recipe is amazing, I'd never have thought of making cashew milk. I love cashews and I'm curious enough to try this for myself, with coffee.
I'll bookmark this post:)))

Have a lovely week ahead:)))
A Virtual Coffee Shop A Warm Community-3.jpg

I think you'll love it. I was telling one of my friends here that if you let this milk cook a little longer, it turns thicker and thicker; I think it's so good to make lactose-free hot cocoa.

I feel happy when somebody finds one of these recipes useful 😁

Thank you so much for dropping by, amazing @millycf1976 ☕❤️

 5 months ago  

It's great to see you, as always! Have a Coffee-Licious Day:)

Add a he-3.jpg

All images belong to millycf1976

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @cinnccf 😁☕❤️

Here we go again with the amazing recipes. I love cashews and coffee. This is certainly a 11/10 brew

Thanks Love GIF by FOMO Duck

Cashew latte. Must try.

This is the easiest vegetable milk to make at home, I think. If you let it cool, it thickens considerably, ideal for hot cocoa ❤️

Thank you so much for dropping by, my dear friend, and for the motivation 😁

Yeah, I must try it. Let me keep this one around to make some when I get some cashews.

If you let it cool, it thickens considerably, ideal for hot cocoa ❤️

Uh, adding a nutty flavor to hot cocoa sounds nice, also using less starch to thicken it would be better.

Exactly, that's what I think. No gluten and also less cornstarch.

I hope I can see a picture of that inaugural latte 😁

Well, that will happen if I can prevent myself from eating all the cashews. Let's hope I can do it! 😂


BANNER AMAZING.png
You've been curated by @amazingdrinks! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @amazingdrinks 😁❤️☕

An interesting recipe, I am also lactose intolerant, that is why I don't even take a drop as a joke. Haha. It is good to know that there are healthier alternatives that do not affect the body. A very valuable post.

By the way, I couldn't help but notice that cashews milk is thicker and It looks more succulent.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.☕

Good day.

This recipe is perfect for you and I, my dear friend. It's so good that we can drink a cup of delicious latte without worries. Besides, I'm sure cashews are really nutritious for all of us, in general.

Thank you so much for dropping by. I'm saving your cup! ☕

Your homemade cashew milk latte sounds absolutely delicious and so unique! It's funny how we sometimes turn to alternatives and end up discovering something even better. Speaking of cashews, did you know that they're not actually nuts? They're seeds from the cashew apple, which is a fruit. The "nut" is the seed that hangs from the bottom of this apple. It's like nature's own little surprise package! It's amazing how versatile these 'seedy nuts' are, making their way into lattes and bringing joy to lactose intolerant coffee lovers like us. Keep up the fantastic creations!
---

CoffeeShop.Gifts | Discover over 3,500 unique coffee products on Hive 🌱☕️and collect sponsored rewards by sharing photos of eligible products!

Congratulations @marlyncabrera! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 6000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Amiga recién estoy saboreando este exquisito café...
También, soy fanática de las leyes vegetales muy pocas veces consumo leche animal -muy pesada para mi estomago- . Es cierto lo que dices del bagazo en mi nevera tengo puñitos del coco y los mezclo a cualquier preparación.
Otra leche vegetal que te recomiendo es de linaza y coco queda especita muy rica, queda perfecta para el chocolate, pero para el café con leche anacardos.

Delicioso tu espumante de anacardos!❤️