My Coffee Mug Knows Better || #STB Coffee Prompt Week 70

Hey, coffee lovers!

I hope you're having a nice day ☕️

You can join in here to #spillthebeans and start your week off on the right foot 😁

Some people have a favorite seat or mug that they need to enjoy their coffee to the max. For others it is a vice like smoking or an activity like reading. Do you have something that takes your enjoyment of coffee to the next level?

In my case, I had to think a bit about what changes my perception of the coffee I drink at home, from the places in the house where I always come back to enjoy my cup of coffee, to the reason why despite having so many mugs, I end up drinking it in the same old one 90% of the time.

image.png

image.png

We may love a specific mug because of many reasons...

Perhaps it's the right size to wear a wreath 😋

image.png

Perhaps it's its coffee color that appeals to you...

image.png

That it matches your furniture 🤭 When there's love, any reason seems to be good...

image.png

BUT_

It's more than a whim, my dear coffee friends. We can't fool the heart. There's science behind--and a cat beside--those cups that are left to decorate rather than serve your coffee.

image.png

image.png

Coffee Acumen 💡

Some time ago, I was checking a guide by Best Coffee. I wasn’t surprised to find out that the type of cup I choose may affect my perception of the flavor of my coffee, Specifically, I confirmed my hypothesis that my narrow mug had more aromatics than my Christmas cup. But that was not the end of this coffee story; please, let me tell you.

Now I know why the little bit of coffee served in this little cup is always so tasty at my comadre's house.

image.png

Now I know why anything I serve in this Christmas mug tastes so weak.

image.png

And I also know why my coffee tastes delicious in this mug... (my favorite one for espresso).

image.png

Except when I fill it to the top.

image.png

And my Christmas mugs, I know that now, are good for Christmas drinks with all those spices: nutmeg, cinnamon, clove, cardamom, etc..., but not for my espresso. It makes it lose some of its aroma and flavor, or so is my perception. But aren't we all subjectivists even without knowing it?

image.png

image.png

My Coffee Mug Knows Better

I have a mug that I love because it makes me feel like a witch, hehe.

image.png

It was a Christmas gift. I even have the--quasi--black cat that complements it.

image.png

However, it's too big; so I drank my coffee there the first few times and then it ended up being the porridge mug, which is fine, since porridge also has a witchy touch.

I used to drink my coffee in a flowery cup, but as flowery as it was, it needed more flowery content, so I save it for flowery/fruity moments...

image.png

And so goes on my story of coffee and its mugs: mugs that were for my coffee and now are for porridge, tea, herbal infusions, chai, hot cocoa, and so many more drinks. But for my coffee, this old maid is my all-time favorite:

image.png

  1. As it is narrow, it has more aromatics.
  2. Because it's made of ceramic, it doesn't absorb taste or smell, so the coffee tastes as it should.
  3. Because ceramic helps insulate hot liquids, my coffee stays hotter for longer.
  4. And, finally, the fact that it is short also adds to my perception of its bitterness and intensity, making it more flavorful to me.
    👉👉I just need to remember not to fill it to the top so the headspace is enough to make me feel its aroma 👈👈

image.png

Summing up, my dear fellow coffee friends, my brown ceramic mug does take my enjoyment of coffee to the next level.

How about you?

image.png

image.png

All text and images are my own. I have taken the pictures with my Redmi 9T cell phone. And if any GIFs here, I've used GIPHY for all them.

image.png

Thank you so much for your visit :)

MARLYN BANNER_5 (1).png

Banner by @andresromero 🖤

Sort:  

I had fun reading your thoughts on the merits of different mugs and learning why this is the one for you. The witchy mug and your cutie pie cat made me smile- I always look forward to seeing how your feline bestie is feeling in your photos each post! 💚

Hi, @grindan! You're so kind. Thank you so much for reading through 💕 I found this topic really interesting.

This is Horacia right now. I'm trying to repair a hole in a bag that I need tomorrow. She's taking her time to rummage through my sewing box. She says hi! 😸❤️

IMG_20240430_002805.jpg

Al parecer a Horacia le encanta tanto el café como a ti... También tengo un morrocoy (Panchita) y le gusta comer pan mojadito con café 🐢🙂
Tienes toda la razón en cuanto a las tazas, hay una particular para cada caso y hay una especial para el café y la tuya esta hermosa y llena de historias...
Tengo dos preferidas para el café: una de peltre pequeña, pero allí se enfría muy rápido y mi favorita una de cerámica pequeña con el tamaño ideal, lo mantiene caliente y me permite disfrutar su aroma antes de cada sorbo.
Me ha encantado leerte

Me encanta el nombre "Panchita"; me recuerda a la del Meridiano, la de los números para la lotería 🤭 Panchita debe ser una morrocoya muy sexi 😂 ¿Has probado ver si tiene los numeritos escondidos en el caparazón? 🤣

Me encantan las tazas de cerámica blanca. ¿El dibujo es de un armadillo?

Horacia te manda saludos 😸💕

Wowww
You now made mugs seem more meaningful to me. I’d find a mug for everything too then😊

Be careful! You may find yourself with more mugs than you can handle! 😺

Cheers ❤️😁

You've really given me a lesson about coffee cups, now I know some things I didn't know before, I also just found out why coffee is served in small cups, and I thought it was to save coffee hehe.

My cup is a little wide, I think it might lose some aroma. I liked knowing these things.

Hey, @jordy0827, what's up!

I thought it was to save coffee hehe.

Ah, I do it for such a reason, hehe 🙈.

But I think it's wise. Maybe our ancestors knew what they were doing, but then we got greedy and wanted to drink triple the amount of coffee 😂 So we looked for huge cups! I have big mugs, but instinctively I went for a small one (not so small).

Thank you so much for dropping by and for your nice words ❤️

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @bhattg suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

Thank you so much for your consideration and support, @hivecurators 😁❤️

@marlyncabrera, you are most welcome!

Here is !ALIVE token gift for you

Here is !LUV token gift for you

@marlyncabrera! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ hivecurators. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Thank you so much, @youarealive @hivecurators ❤️ I'll be checking it out ASAP 😁

marlyncabrera, hivecurators sent you LUV. 🙂 (5/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

 22 days ago  

OPEN-3.jpg
The photo belongs to millycf1976 and was edited using Canva.

My pleasure!

untitled.gif

You have mugs for a lot of different things. That's interesting.

The fruity cake looks really tasty.

There are a lot of old mugs in this house 😁

I think you'd like that cake ❤️ Thank you so much for dropping by!

Hi, you have a very good collection of coffee mugs, I think you enjoy your coffee with different mugs with different tastes. nice post to read and smile. A hug :)