Coffee - Story of a passion, happiness and a lifestyle. Happy international coffee day!and passion.

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee2 years ago (edited)

It may be a couple a days after the international coffee say, but this is my post about the greatest passion (besides my family, wife and kids) of my life.

It all begun in my high school, a time when I didn’t get enough sleep and in school I was always sleepy. Then I decided to try consuming these 3 in 1 mixes - Nescafé, sugar and creamer. Now I think this is really a bad mess and terribly tasting, but it was a good start and and introduction for my younger self in the world of coffee.

Back at that time I didn’t find coffee consumption as something unique and pleasure bringing. It was just a way to gain some awareness and energy. Little by little I started making some coffee in an old, but relatively good espresso machine in my home back in the time. Although my parents didn’t buy cheap coffee at all, it was not pleasurable yet, not at the extent that will make me dive that deep in the beautiful world of coffee.

I remember once, maybe about 6-7 years ago, that I watched a tv show with a famous chef in Bulgaria. He was telling his story and his experience with working and living in Japan and he had his special apparatus and hand grinder in the studio with him. He also shared the fact that most of the world’s finest coffee is being imported in Japan every year. At this period I was visiting constantly Japan and managed to order and buy the same exact setup - the Hario Sketron hand coffee grinder and the Hario Syphon - you remember that special apparatus that looks like a glass from the chemistry class? And this was a setup that almost no one in Bulgaria had ever seen!

This was exactly the time that I started to search for a more special coffee in Bulgaria and because Dabov was the only one who was importing specialty coffee in Bulgaria before 6-7 years ago, his online store was the only place that was supplying the precious beans. I even bought my first specialty coffee before I received my Hario syphon.

The excitement was great but I really was just touching to the world of high quality coffee. Of course, this package was very small, maybe 50 or 200 grams and I started searching this special coffee in the Japanese stores too. I found some in the Kaldi shops, which are quite famous in Japan. There were maybe about 20 different coffees available and although I wasn’t able to read Japanese, I bought a lot of different coffees, relying on the appearance only.

From this time till nowadays I still gain knowledge and expend my coffee gear. I feel that I’m diving in really deep waters now and still the world of coffee feels even deeper. Now I have a decent espresso set (for home brewing) and the perfectly simple but refined V60 filter setup. Of course I still have the Syphon, but don’t use that much. This is just perfectly enough for me, but I’m constantly searching and refining my brewing methods more and more.

Specialty coffee by Dabov has become the greatest part and pleasure bringing moment in my daily schedule and I really cannot imagine starting my day without a cup of beautiful specialty coffee. I’m happy that this person continues, after more that 10 years to deliver the finest beans from all around the world.

If it wasn’t this coffee, I probably wouldn’t have be so deep into the coffee culture. Of course, I have a lot of further plans to achieve even better tasting coffee shots, but everything with its time. Sometimes if you start moving too fast, you can miss some specific details. But one thing is sure - I will continue my coffee story with happiness with great passion!

Wish you a lovely day.
Bye!

Sort:  

Unlike you, in Venezuela our grandparents and parents used to give us a cup of coffee with bread in the morning, even black without milk, it is a very rich combination that I still keep, as a teenager I tried Nescafe and I confess that I liked it😁.
I see that you have a long love story with this brand of coffee.
In Venezuela there are also some Kaldi coffee shops but I am not sure if they are the same in Japan🤔.
I must confess that I prefer your espresso machine to that siphon😅.
A great story to celebrate International Coffee Day, you have a loyal relationship with your Dabov coffee.😊

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

Your country has a tradition that is a lot different than mine, after all you farm your own coffee I think it’s very charming. Here you cannot think of giving coffee to kids, before they are at least 15-18 years old.

I trust Dabov brand since the time it was the only specialty coffee importer and till now they have never broken the link. Their products are always fresh and special. Now there are a lot of other micro roasters that sell specialty coffee, but I’ve never tried one.

Thanks for stopping by!

Yes, they are very different traditions, I think that's why we are so addicted to coffee.😁
It's good to stay loyal to a brand that guarantees quality and freshness in their products, greetings, it was a pleasure.😌

 2 years ago  

That Hario syphon looks very cool. Your right, it does look like it belongs to a chemistry set. Its so interesting to see different and unique ways of brewing coffee.

Maybe one day I’ll be able to get every different coffee brewing set? Who knows… 😁
A coffee brewer museum sounds fancy.

 2 years ago  

That does sound fancy haha
It would be cool though

Reminds me of chemistry class back in school. 😍

It is surely a very interesting way of preparing coffee. I remember the excitement when I bought this from Japan. Great times!

 2 years ago  

Hello @mdosev
As the coffee connoisseur of the community, it was interesting to learn about the beginning of your journey with coffee. I enjoyed reading this very much, and I will always remember the first time I saw the Hario Sketron hand coffee grinder and the Hario Syphon in your post, which did in fact remind me of Chemistry class.
A nice entry for the contest:)

The Syphon is definitely an apparatus that cannot be forgotten! 😁

Remembering all the way back the time it all started was a nostalgic experience and I’m happy I found some time to join this contest. Thanks for the greatest community in hive!

 2 years ago  

Thanks for the compliments 😊
I'm happy you got the chance to enter:)))
Have a nice day!

Hmm, looking very interesting, specially the first one. It's important to have quality beans. Roasting and using mill has it's charm and nice smell.I'm curious which way of making it you preffer the most? 😁
Have you ever tried to make coffee in coffetiera? It's the way we prepared, as we live close to border worh Italy. ☕️

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Holy cow man, that mill is crazy, with the candle !LOL

Cool though, and lovely story man. Ill be chuggin a coffee later in your honor brother.

!LUV

Make sure to have the best coffee possible! Have fun and thanks for the visit!