The strange old lady and her extraordinary treat.

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee2 years ago

The old lady that lived in the last house on the lane, she was so strange… And this house looked so bewitched and scary, especially when it was raining. This was the house that nobody wanted to visit and say the playful words “Trick or treat!”.

But I… I decided it was time to visit this whimsical and strange old lady. She never spoke to anyone, when meeting on the street and there was hardly anyone that was seen going inside her house. She was always alone.

Why did I wanted to visit this house? Well, it was maybe my last year before I stop going out in the streets for this magical day. It was time for something more intriguing, that would mark the end of this kid’s journey, called Halloween.

knock, knock… knock…

I was very cautious with this door knocking. My heart felt like it was gonna stop any time now, but I tried to hold my breath steady, at least what was possible.

The door squeaked. It was opening and it was like the time was ticking at least twice slower. The old lady showed on the doorstep and I have to mention she wasn’t looking that scary. Maybe this was due to the image that was built in our minds in the long years when she lived in the neighborhood.

-T-t-t-trick or-r-r t-t-t-treat… I whispered.

She smiled. I saw that in her hand she was holding a dirty bag full of something. She gave it to me.

-Here, plant these. You’ll be pretty excited soon!

And the door closed in front of my eyes. I rushed into my house and opened the bag with excitement.

There were like 10-15 coffee beans and they looked… greenish. Fresh and greenish. They were not roasted. Well, I guess I’ll have to follow the old lady’s instructions.

Got out in the back yard and saw a place between the orange pumpkins that felt very suitable for planting the coffee beans. 5 minutes were needed and all the beans were in the soil. Now I had to water them and wait… the old lady said “soon”. What did she mean? Soon like this month, or like this week? I decided that time was going to tell.

The other morning with the sun rising I decided to see what’s happening there. My eyes opened wide with astonishment. There were 5 trees already grown up and they looked like coffee trees. Getting closer and I saw some fully developed cherries that were waiting to be picked. Well, but how am I supposed to brew these beans without being dried and roasted?

Then I saw that on every tree there were bags holding a small amount of roasted beans, waiting to be ground and brewed. And they had different labels too. “Ethiopia Gesha”, “Kenya Kamawangi”, “Jamaica BM” and other… my excitement has grown to an extent that was barely ever experienced. What? I have fresh free coffee? For free?!? That’s epic!

And back from them these magical trees keep on giving me the finest coffee beans on the world. I tried to give some to friends, but they seem to magically disappear when going out from my home.

I guess I have to enjoy them only for myself? Well, not a huge problem. I’ll be happy.

And the old lady? She seemed to have moved away soon after our encounter and no one ever saw her again. But I remember her every time I brew coffee from the magical trees. After all she was not scary at all… maybe?!

Bye!

Sort:  

I would also like someone to give me a gift like this, I would have good coffee all the time and whenever I want. I liked the story, also the mystery surrounding the old woman. May it stay that way 😛

It’s good if you have some decent coffee all the time and never have to worry about it being short…

 2 years ago (edited) 

Haha! A witch who casts pleasant spells...isn't that something?

Magic.gif

Omg, I was thinking that you are missing these days… but you was visiting stories and casting pleasant coffee spells! A brilliant mind!

 2 years ago  

Yes, I've been doing just that indeed!...🤣
Hope your week started out well:))

 2 years ago  

She must have been a nice witch.
That would be quite the gift, especiallyfor me...

5-2.jpg

I hope that she moved somewhere and gave another set of beans to someone else! 😁

 2 years ago  

Yes hopefully that is the case lol