This week only one little elf came to see my coffee… But what a cute elf it is! Enjoying some Brazilian beans at home.

in Cinnamon Cup Coffee5 months ago (edited)

Saturday, Saturday… my happy day… it is only a little bit more than a week before Christmas comes and these are the warmest days of the year. But not the warmest by temperatures outside, but warmest in our souls.

This werk I have a bag of Brazilian coffee beans. You remember the handful of beans that I received some weeks ago? The coffee named KHEM with the black packaging… My friend from the Specialty Coffee place started delivering coffee from the new Roaster guy from Bulgaria.

Last time it was a coffee from Ethiopia, but this time I decided buying the other variety of beans - from Brazil. They wete one of the cheapest possible specialty coffee varieties around - cost only $11 per bag of 250g! And well… I understood that the name of the coffee isn’t written in Latin “KHEM”. Rather than, it is in Cyrilic and means Coffee-Of-Evgeny-Minchev (Кафето-На-Евгени-Минчев), Evgeny Minchev being the name if the guy who roasts the coffee.

I bought this coffee mainly for Espresso, because it is a bit darker roast, and also I have a bit of the India coffee remaining for filter.

The design is pretty simple and there is no lavel at all. Evgeny Minchev has decided to write by hand the most basic info. As you see there is only the Country and farm of origin, the roast profile, which doesnt bring much info at all and finally there is the roast date. I discussed with Misho(my friend Barista) that there is a bit more info needed for the typical coffee lover. There is no processing type and no brewing preference(either filter or espresso). He said that he will pass the feedback to the roaster and hopefully with the upcoming batches he will correct something on the improvised label.

So… let’s proceed to the brewing. I already told you that this is a bir darker roast, so it will be in the espresso machine. I don’t want a dark filter coffee… And brasilia coffee promises to be a bit more typical in its flavor profile. I expect more dark chocolate, toffee notes out of my cup.

Grinding is a bit more coarse… I tried finer grinding like the other coffees, but it chokes the espresso machine. If I grind other coffee to 1-2 grind size, this one needs at least 3-4. I need a nice and clean exteaction, because this chocolate coffee may become way too bitter if overexteacted.

Tamping is crucial, do you know? But anything more than 15 kg of force is pointless. You cannot really pack the coffee mich more, even if you apply 100kg of force to the coffee!

20-25 seconds of extraction is very good for this coffee. Espresso is the fastest way to brew coffee, because it is under pressure, you know? My favorite espresso cup goes under the portafilter. It is Japanese ceramics and it is a very prefious present for me. I have owned this for about 10 years now and hope that it will remain healthy and intact at least for 10 more years.

Here is the beautiful cup…

And guess who came to visit me… One little elf! You remember the last week’s elves? This one is superior to all of them. This one is the best elf ever!

And well… he brought me a little christmas present… but I didn’t have mich time to open and explore it. Maybe next week I’m gonna reveal some specs and user experience about it. It was finally time to upgrade my brewing experience…

So, that’s all for today. Wish you a great weekend and many joyful emotions.
See you… Bye!

Sort:  
 5 months ago  

Seasons Greetings!

May your festivities be fueled by Coffee, and filled with all the things that bring you joy!

All good wishes from Cinnamon Cup Coffee, a warm Obsessive Caffeinated Disorder (OCD) incubated community. ☕️

Image belongs to millycf1976

I love the expresso cup and your little elf who came to visit you. I love coffee too and I guess this is also one of the best taste of it. Thanks for sharing.

The little elf is my most precious… Her brother are also great, but now they are at their grandparents.

Coffee is very good for this price point, I am quite happy with this. Thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment on my post!

You are welcome 😀