Coffee Machine Blog 1 "Atomic Vintage Coffee Maker"

Atomic Vintage Coffee Maker


Hi guys this is a new series where i make coffee using different machines and trying them out, yes the coffee shop blog will still be going but this will be a new series of blogs where i go over and review different ways of making coffees with different equipment, old machines to new machines.


IMG_9990.JPG

How about we make an espresso coffee from a vintage machine. This machine I had some time in my coffee shop. I genuinely use it to for decoration and I have had many people interested in it and what it is used for when they walk in the coffee shop. So today I am going to use it for the second time and show how it is used .

IMG_9991.JPG

IMG_9993.JPG

The portafilter on the machine can hold up to about 25 grams of coffee . The holes are big though on the portafilter and an espresso grind will be to fine for it so I will have to make sure the grind size is a bit big. Now what I have seen that there is no tamper for the machine so I do not think that it needs to be tampered.

IMG_9992.JPG

IMG_9997.JPG

Now this coffee machine requires a hot plate or gas as it builds pressure inside. It does get hot like really hot so I would advise not to touch it with you bare hands and to have a thick cloth so you are able to move it if need be. While gas is on and boiling the coffee inside and creating the pressure to travel up and extract the coffee. The bottom plate does get hot so it act like a cup warmer . You could probably fry an egg on there so that is why I did not use any cup but the metal jug that came with the machine .

IMG_0007.JPG

IMG_0015.JPG

It took about 10 minutes to heat up to start the extraction and I could already see the problem and why the coffee would have a bit of a burnt taste . The bottom plate of the coffee machine was hott and made the metal jug hot as well. Which when the coffee was extracting it was getting burnt and I could smell a faint burnt caramel lingering in the air from the coffee. I New the coffee was going to be horrible just by that but I still went with it .

After the extraction I switched of the gas to try use the frother but it was not working , well it was but it was just squirting out hott water. So I had to use my coffee machine for the frothing of the milk . When I switched of my gas the extraction stopped immediately .

I poured the coffee in to the cup and was ready to pour the milk . I also poured it in to another cup to taste and see what it tastes like on it own .

IMG_0022.JPG

The cappuccino I made taste over extracted. It had a harsh taste to it and was bitter . It was pretty horrible, and I did not want to take another sip of it at all.

IMG_0031.JPG

For the plain black coffee . It had a burnt caramel taste , very harsh taste and very bitter . There was nothing pleasant about this cup of coffee at all .

So I decided to go at it again and loaded 20 grams of coffee . And this time I never let the cup or metal jug touch the hot plate . I waiting and watched patiently for the extraction to take place . As soon as it did I then put the cup under to let the extraction happen in it . It did extract a bit fast ... but I think I should lower the heat a bit as the heat was a bit high . But as the extraction happened I turned it of and it was done .

IMG_0054.JPG

I than frothed my milk and I was ready for the taste test ! Can you guess how it was ......?

IMG_0067.JPG

Much better , not good but much better it was missing a few flavors but it was much drinkable . It was very light on the tongue and not so bitter and harsh as the last one .

If there is any information or any suggestions you have upon using this machine be sure to tell me . Or any hacks I can do to make a better espresso shot. I would not mind modifying a basket for the portafilter so I can use a finer grind size .


Thank you for stopping by and reading my blog be sure to have a great day ahead! feel free to us the comments if you have any inputs ! ill be sure to reply ! Stay safe

The camera i use is an iphone 6 camera and i edit my picture on light room.

If you love coffee! And want to share your coffee experience be sure to check out and join Cinnamon Cup Coffee Community!! We are an Active Community!!

Feel free to check out or pick up a coffee!


Sort:  

Wonderful ! that looks so cool to use i love it

thank you very very much !!!!

Wow, this is the machine I need or at least a greka, I've always been fascinated by the idea of making espresso :D

yea definitely you need one they are pretty cool !! and interesting to work with

Hi hi morning... Wow.. this coffee maker is amazing... I have never seen anything like this before.. 😁 so cool.

thank you they Italian designed home machines !! thanks for stopping by!!

Wow.. really cool to see. Italian made machines are definitely premium quality.. 🐻👍 have a great day ahead.. thanks for ur reply.

 2 years ago  

That's an interesting looking vintage machine @meilo1995
It's marvelous that it still works well, and I'm not surprised that it gets very hot when it's on the stove. I guest in more more times, they would probably try to add some insulation.
You should definitely hold onto it:)

yea i definitely will. its already part of my coffee shop! i will hold on to it probably for ever!! thank you for stopping by!!

 2 years ago  

You're very welcome!

cheers bud and thank you for commenting!!