The Coffee Shop Blog 29 -“ Malawi Gold “

Hey everyone I hope you are all well and caffeinated, since it has been sometime I do have a bunch of blogs for you . This one is about one of the coffees I got , this coffee is what we are now retailing at my store. We do not just have one kind but 4 different types of coffees that we retail .

CE9C39E6-4511-425F-8DD7-5DFBAD7064AB.jpeg

Now before putting the coffee on the menu it needs to go through a couple of tests . So the first one we tried was the Malawi Gold . I have tried Malawi coffee before and found it very interesting. This one though peaks my interests even more for its complex flavors. To train my palate for this I decided to do a V60 pour over to try this coffee out . The ratio I used was 1:16 for the pour over . What I was doing was going through different grinds trying to search for the flavors with in . I started on a lower grind and the grind and set it up . After taking the first sip , I got an imbalanced coffee where the acidity was abit to much and slight hints of toffee . I then decided to up the notch of the grind size and got a bold tasting coffee . But missing that slight sweetness. I knew where I have to work the grind size to and set it . I then prepared the V60 and got a smooth cup . I do not know what truffles taste like as it is really not served much here but I could get an idea of it from what I had experience in my sips and breaking down the flavors .

6E98812B-291A-4119-918B-EDF05FF2DFDB.jpeg

DAF56C4A-093E-4E4D-B72B-EC72BB0752BD.jpeg

DEFACB3A-58E4-4EA7-862E-8CC35D7B4464.jpeg

Espresso time now , This is a medium roast coffee compared to my medium to dark full city blend so I know I had to set the grind size abit finer . Pour the espresso was so beautiful as the golden coffee gushed out the portiifiler . The flavors are very complex for my pallet but it is a cup that is very new and interest. Each sip had me wanting to try agains and again to break down the flavors in the cappuccino. My ideal cappuccino i got was wholesome , and something I feel what was missing from my coffee menu which was complex flavor which would allow people to enjoy and try break it down . The cappuccino was very smooth .

8BF02F9D-CDDC-44DF-B75C-44966B2AC0E6.jpeg

I understand my palate is a bit rudimentary and have taken on a journey to help me with that which is why I took on certain tasting such as wine tasting which is pretty much I found easy discovering the flavor in it . I had bought a pinotage red wine which had very distinctive flavor , I started with reading the bottle and it’s describing flavors which I tasted on different part of my tongue such as the dried banana at the back of my tongue and the cherry/ grape in the front of my tongue is was very interesting and thought it was to be a good way to train my palates . And it aswell gives me an advantage to drink more wine which I do pretty much enjoy . The next bottle I am getting is a port kwv, dessert wine which I’m pretty much interested in breaking down the flavors .

The next coffee I got which is a special blend the complexity of this coffee is was harder then the Malawi Gold so I look forward to trying it out and I’ll be sure to tell you about the experience and what flavors I get out of it ...

Sort:  

Dear @meilo1995,
May I ask you to review and support the new HiveSQL Proposal so we can keep it free to use for the community?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner

Thank you!

 last year  

Tasting wine is a good way to train yourself to taste coffee as well. It's possibly even funner that way haha

Screenshot_20220624-143238_Discord.jpg

mmmhhh I guess I have a good excuse now to drink wine .... lol ....

 last year  

I tasted different parts of my tongue such as the dried banana at the back of my tongue and the cherry/ grape at the front of my tongue is was very interesting and thought it was to be a good way to train my palates.

That's an interesting discovery about your taste buds. I think tasting experiments are quite worth your while though since you're actually serving customers coffee:)

Yea !! That is so true ! I guess it also takes a lot to be a Q grader , and a lot of work aswell!!! thank you for stopping by!!

Dear @meilo1995,
Your support for the current HiveBuzz proposal (#199) is much appreciated but the proposal will expire soon!
May we ask you to review and support the new proposal so our team can continue its work?
You can support the new proposal (#248) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!