You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Conquest of the lunacy

in Cinnamon Cup Coffeelast year

I try to minimize them by reading the book from the text and listening to the audiobook at the same time

The "listen" function on PeakD is heaven-sent. I do that to help keep me focused.

Yes, I am intrigued to read about that part of her history too:)

Sort:  

Oh, on listening to the post, I've been using Edge browser's default read-aloud function for a while. It has amazingly natural voices from microsoft's repertoire. Works on any website. Or even PDFs, if you open them with edge.
Peakd one is good but i think they are using some open source voices, and these can feel robotic at times. Try edge sometimes and see how you like it.

 last year  

Peakd one is good but i think they are using some open source voices, and these can feel robotic at times.

Yes, it's bloody robotic. I've been trying to figure out how to change the voice. On my MacBook, it's a robotic man, and on my Android mobile, it's a lady's voice with a weird tone and accent 😆.
Listening is smooth and continuous from my Safari browser, but from Chrome, there are some odd pauses and missing some words when I listen on PeakD.

Thanks, I'll see what I can find.

Uh-oh, I guess you won't have MS edge on a macbook.
There's a site with quite a natural text-to-speech egnine, its a demo version, so free, but the downside is you have copy paste the text you want to listen to. This may become tedious at times, I know.
https://www.ibm.com/demos/live/tts-demo/self-service/home

 last year  

Thanks! It's still worth checking out this link:)