STB # 58- Can an llness keep you from enjoying a nice cup of coffee?

Debatable Prompt: Sometimes illness prevents you from enjoying coffee. Tell us about a time when you have been very sick; did your relationship with coffee change during that time?

Hello Cinnamon Cup Coffee friends, it is a pleasure to join you this week and be part of this contest, today I share with you my experience and what I know about the effects on coffee in some people.

For generations coffee has become an energizing drink that can produce happiness, it has accompanied us on cold days, in the mornings, in the afternoons, when sharing with friends or when we need to extend our work or study day for a few more hours.

image.png

Fuente

However, there are people to whom the effect of caffeine in excess can be counterproductive and put them in a way in which the doctor is forced to suspend it, especially when we make of this drink an uncontrolled intake.

While it is true that waking up in the morning with the rich smell and taste of coffee is wonderful, but like everything else when we do it in excess somehow ends up affecting our health and this not only in the case of coffee but any drink that we consume in excess.

When I started college, my time somehow did not give up, I had to study and keep studying because I was striving to be a good student and this required my utmost attention. I began to consume more coffee at the times when I had to study at night, in order to be active, many times in order to fulfill my jobs, which were many, I had to wake up studying and from there go straight to the university where I spent the whole day.

image.png

Fuente

I would get home and go to bed and when I woke up I had to continue studying and I would drink coffee to wake up because when I got up my body would ask me to continue sleeping.
I finished the semester and I no longer consumed as much coffee as before, especially at night, it was no longer necessary because I could sleep peacefully, however, my body began to need it, I felt without energy during the day and at night when I wanted to sleep, my brain was active, because that is how my semester had gone.

I was unaware of the damage this was doing to my health and I was only thinking about doing well in college. The doctor told me that I should not drink coffee for a while, less at night because it had affected my sleep cycle, so I started to avoid sleeping in the afternoons in order to have a lot of sleep at night and be able to sleep.

However, at night I could not fall asleep, my body was exhausted, but my brain was active and during the day I was nervous, with a lot of anxiety and I even had situations where I felt abnormal palpitations in my chest and irritability.

I started to drink coffee only in the mornings and in the afternoons, I was impatient for those hours to be able to drink coffee, although I still did not rest. The doctor gave me some pills for anxiety, of a few milligrams, he told me to take them at 9 o'clock at night so that my body would relax and be calm and so I could sleep. But I was afraid of becoming addicted to these pills, so I took them every other day and in less than a month I could sleep better and then I stopped taking them.

image.png

Fuente

I can enjoy my coffee in the mornings and in the afternoons I drink my coffee with milk, but in the evenings I opt for a tea or another hot drink like milk that allows me to be more relaxed at bedtime. Sometimes I do have a cup of coffee in the evenings, but eventually and this has not affected my health.

So my learning from this situation after suffering from insomnia due to the side effect of coffee abuse was to balance the amounts, understanding that everything in excess is bad for us and that everything in life must have its balance.
Today I enjoy my rich coffee, but without abusing the quantities as before and this has done very well to my mood and to be able to sleep without any alteration, so I recommend you not to abuse the quantities and not only talking about coffee but of any drink or food to enjoy good health.

Thank you for reaching the end of my publication. Success for your life.

Images extracted from Pixabay, I used the translator DeepL for the English translation and the Canva application for the thumbnail.

Sort:  
Loading...
 7 months ago  

4.jpg

Congratulations @natalialeon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - November 15, 2023