Am I Getting A Coffee Roaster???

image.png
Image Source

image.png

I have had a passionate love affair with coffee for the majority of my life. Due to what I would consider, less than appropriate parenting…lololool, I’ve been indulging in the luxury of that dark mystical elixir since about 8 or 9 years old. Recently, however, I have caved to the laziness of Kcups and sacrificed quite a bit of quality in return for time efficiency and I’m wanting to change that and get back to the peak of my coffee quality consumption.

The idea came to me recently at my local den of indulgence (read coffee house..lolol) when I was speaking to one of the young male baristas. He is an interesting young guy who has done a decent amount of traveling for his age and has worked some interesting aspects of the coffee business. Our conversation began to weave in and out of a multitude of directions and eventually landed on his time working for a coffee roasting business. I commented how fascinating that was to me and he educated me to the fact that they make hobby-sized coffee roasters and that I should look into it. My brain was like “Of course, I should!!!!” lol

image.png

This, of course, led to a quite extreme rabbit hole journey on Amazon, Youtube, and other far corners on the web for all information related to the research, purchase, and operation of a hobby coffee roaster. I also hit a couple of side holes and one was about one of my favorite coffee processes…..the pour over! So, I got to contemplating how difficult it would be on my days off to get back to some of my previous towering levels of quality coffee production and consumption rather than just popping a kcup in a machine and standing there like an oaf until it is done so I can slop it down….lolol

My current thought process is that I could carefully select and roast particular coffee beans that will satiate my need for sublime coffee, while additionally expanding my coffee horizons. I would then use a home pour over method to really bring out the notes, aromas, and flavor of these hand-selected beans and force myself to slow down a bit and get back to my adoration for this pinnacle of beverages.

image.png

This is where YOU, my new coffee family, comes in….lolololol. I am in desperate need of your advice, guidance, and mentorship with regards to hobby style coffee roasters and pour over accouterments. I would absolutely adore any of your advice and guidance in these vital matters…lolol. Keep in mind, when it comes to things, not people, I appreciate appearance in addition to functionality. And I would like to keep the price somewhat reasonable so my wife doesn't question my debit card too much...lololololol Thanks so much for your help in this endeavor and remember that I love you all and you each possess greatness inside!

image.png

A great big hug THANK YOU to @thisismylife for the awesome coffee dividers!


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien


image.png

Mancave banner.png


f0a3d4c3d77b4d99963764ecbebc0b6f.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Hello @papacrusher,
Don't you just love conversations like that, that lead to random topics?
You've thrown out some interesting questions that I hope you get some good advice about.
I live on a boat, and I only use a French press, a Moka pot, and one of those modern Bodum manual glass brewers, so I am totally out of touch with the latest coffee machines and technologies.
The prospects of ideas that you have for roasting and making your own coffee, sounds fascinating and exciting though.
I will however check back to see what responses you get, as I always like to know:)

Don't you just love conversations like that, that lead to random topics?

You know I LIVE for these kinds of conversations! It literally made my week...lolol

I live on a boat

Wow! How cool is that!?!?! I can imagine you have to be selective when it comes to space management.

I really hope I get some good feedback from this amazing family. I know someone in here knows about this stuff!!!! lololol Thanks for the support and for taking the time to comment.

 2 years ago  

Yes, indeed! Space is always a big concern. Whenever I go into stores, I have to really visualize my purchases fitting inside the boat.
I believe @macchiata or @vanbliss (they are always ahead of the game with technology) might have some suggestions of coffee equipment that would be suitable.
It's my pleasure to help, always... and it's always great communicating with you too:)

After reading this I feel the need to buy a coffee roaster.

Right!?!?!? That's what I'm thinking too. I think we all NEED one! lololol Thanks for commenting!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.