Long time no see

in Cinnamon Cup Coffeelast month (edited)

"True friends are never apart, maybe in distance but never in heart."Hellen Keller


And truer words have never been spoken...

Over the past two decades, I've made countless "friends". Some were true friends, some were friends by just the name, some were acquaintances, and many just remained as known faces. For some, the word and thing known as "friends" is an overstatement; for some, it's the opposite.

For close to half of my life, I've been very cautious about my surroundings and the company I keep. I've never forced a friendship, nor have I rejected a natural bond and synergy with someone. 8 out of 10 times, my gut feeling is usually right about a person and how they are. I'm a good judge of character. Yet, they all have to pass the test of time and trust. If they pass that "test", then you know it's real. That is why most of my "friendships" have been successful.

Even though a lot of my friends are now far, far away; living completely different lives, all I hope is, that they're all happy and living a good life.

After a certain stage and age, we've all had to depart on different paths toward a new and different destination. Some did stay back, and somehow we managed to stay connected, and I'm thankful for that. Yet, sometimes I do miss those buddies of mine; mostly the ones I got to know during my childhood and teenage years.


PXL_20240323_154517089.PORTRAIT~2.jpg


The other day I got a sudden call from an old friend of mine. He's been going through some rough sh*t, so he wanted to meet up for some advice and to catch up. The last time we met was on Eid day, last year.

He calls at around 8 PM or so out of nowhere and says he's already heading towards my area. So, I finish up my work ASAP and get ready in a jiffy.

About 20 minutes later he pops up, but with a long-lost dear friend of ours. He's more like a little brother than a friend, I quite literally saw the kid grow up. However, he is a kid no more, he's all grown up now, in his early 20s. I still remember all our memories from back then, as clear as day. It is undeniably the bond of friendship that made it so special and memorable. We have memories and experiences that go way back, way over a decade. Alas, the last time I met the kid was probably back in 2015, so it's been close to a decade since we last met up or even talked properly.

After that, we never really met. I got busy with my life, health issues, and higher studies, and he says he was going through some family issues back then; yet, all is good now he says.


PXL_20240323_172701079~2.jpg

PXL_20240323_154531868~2.jpg

PXL_20240323_154548835~2.jpg

PXL_20240323_172736377.PORTRAIT~2.jpg

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉˢ ᵃⁿᵈ ᵒᵛᵉʳᵃˡˡ ᶜᵒⁿᵗᵉⁿᵗ ᵃʳᵉ ᵐʸ ᵒʷⁿ ᵘⁿˡᵉˢˢ ᶦᵗ'ˢ ᵐᵉⁿᵗᶦᵒⁿᵉᵈ


The plan was to meet at Arabika Coffee and we did get there first, but that place was packed.

So, Awake Coffee Roasters was our second choice and a better choice, I must say. The coffee here is better, and the food too. We sat down and conversed for about 2 to 3 hours or so; until the cafe had reached closing hours at around 11 PM.

I got my usual, a hot cappuccino, my pals got mochas, and we had a double chocolate cookie to complement our beverages. It has been fairly rainy in Dhaka lately. It's raining almost every day, and quite heavily too. So, as we sat and spoke in the outdoor area, a light breeze was present during that time; a slight stormy vibe, thunder, and lightning. It was the perfect weather for a hot cup of coffee, and to sit with old pals and reminisce about the good ole days.

There's nothing better when it comes to such moments really. No fancy restaurant can top this feeling and ensemble that was present there that evening.

At around 11:30 PM, we were on our way back home. They dropped me at my place and were headed towards their destinations. They mentioned meeting up again soon. I couldn't promise another meet-up anytime soon, but I did mention that when the time is right, I will certainly be there when called upon.



1.png


Sort:  

The best moments are those you can share with your friends, and a good cup of coffee. Good luck for that.

Cheers! Thanks for dropping by and for sharing your thoughts. ☕️

 last month  

Thanks for stopping by!-2.jpg

 last month  

I'm the same with friendships. When I was 17 years old, my classmates called me out for considering them acquaintances, not friends. I was appalled at their beliefs.
I've held on to my concept of friendship for years, and I have a tiny circle that I cherish, which is special to me.

It would have been a pleasure to make space in my schedule to meet up with any of those friends for a coffee.

Happy Firday:)))
Jolly good time.jpg

I've held on to my concept of friendship for years, and I have a tiny circle that I cherish, which is special to me.

And I say that's the way, Milly. 😏

Recently, I've been trying to catch up with old friends. For the past 4 to 5 years or so I've been so out of touch; my circumstances weren't as good, and I had to take this time of solitude to steadily recover. Now, I'm doing quite well. So, I'm trying my best to get back in touch with some of my "special people" haha.

Cheers, Milly!. Thanks for dropping by. ☕️

I like your philosophy of life, friends are an essential part of us, and we always end up looking like our closest people, so the quality of these is important. Your coffee looked delicious @riz611!!!

The coffee was great, the weather was fine as wine, and I had my buddies there too. A perfect evening? I'd say so.

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

I’m always careful of the friends that I make too. Truly, we never can tell if someone will make a good friend at the beginning of the friendship but at the same time, I’m always careful so I don’t get too close and maybe have people who are gonna betray me as friends

Go with your gut feeling. My gut hasn't let me down yet.

There is nothing better than meeting up with those friends we have greatly appreciated. It is always a joy and with a cup of coffee even better.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us.☕

Good day.

It was an unexpected meet, but it was worth every word, second, and sip. Cheers! ☕️

As we move forward in time, our circle of friends shrinks, it is not that you are losing friends, no, it really happens, that you are left with those who are really your friends. I am one of those who prefer a small, sincere and loyal circle, than many, dishonest and disloyal.
It is wonderful to spend time with our friends and even more so having a good cup of coffee

My circle and network are both quite big, but my "friend circle", and the people who I believe are my friends, are only a decent handful. These are the people I can trust blindly, with any thing in the whole world.

Very well said, we continue to close the inner circle, greetings

Cheers! ☕️

😁🤗🥰