Favorite Coffee Mug Story

We all have one. That one mug that for whatever reason is our absolutely favorite coffee mug. Share a pic of your fave and the story behind how it became your preferred cup for that delicious elixir we call coffee. Mine is below.
French Press with my Favorite Coffee Mug.jpg

In 2014 I was at a serious crossroads in my life. I had made a big decision to live my life on my own terns and was about to walk away from the only version of life I had known for 25 years. I was in my head, working through conflicting emotions in my heart, and trying to look at what and how my future life would look like. Needless to say, everything felt nebulous.

This trip had been planned long before recent events had transpired and decisions had been made. I was speaking at a conference outside of Nashville, TN, and had padded my travel to allow for a few touristy things. I was on my own and only had myself to consider (which was very different) so being in the Country Music Capital, naturally, the Grand Ole Opry was at the top of my list.

Buying a ticket for one. Taking the tour solo when everyone else was in family or friend groups was something new for me. I told myself I needed to get comfortable with this, and while inside I was feeling small, I bravely put a smile on my face and chatted with others in the tour group. I enjoyed the experience and felt a renewed sense of confidence.

At the end of the tour, you go through the gift shop. I was looking around aimlessly, but when I saw that big beautiful coffee mug, I knew it had to be mine. It has such a wonderful tactile feel to it, and it's so big I can fit more of my favorite coffee. This means fewer trips to refill. For those two things alone it would be my favorite mug. But the real reason it's my favorite mug stems from that moment in my life when I chose myself and made the commitment to live MY very best life. And I have! ❤️

Epilogue: The original cup from my trip to the Grand Ole Opry broke two years ago, and I cried. Really cried. It meant so much to me. A few months later my sons gave me a gift and when I opened it I cried again. They knew how much that cup had meant to me, so they replaced it with the cup you see in this photo. Now when I use my favorite mug, it has even more added meaning to me.

If you're ever in Nashville, I highly recommend touring the Grand Old Opry. https://opry.com

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited) 

Hello @shinyobjects
What a beautiful story!😇😍
I got goosebumps reading it, and was very happy that I was not next to the actual mug incase I accidentally broke it, then I read further and discovered that the original mug broke. I'm sorry you had to go through that, and kudos to your family for recognising how much significance that original mug meant to you.
I'm happy you chose "you".
This is one of the most beautiful stories I've read in a long time.🙏
An official welcome to Cinnamon Cup Coffee,🤗 I'm happy you chose this community to share your special story with us.
Your sentimental mug is awesome😍
Please drop by anytime!🤗☕️

Thank you! When I found the Cinnamon Cup Coffee community I knew I had found my people. :-) It's been so nice to read posts and get to know everyone through our shared love of coffee and the experiences that surround it. ☕

 3 years ago  

That's so lovely to read!😍
I'm happy you've found your tribe, and we're excited to hear more of your awesome stories.
Have a great day!😄

 3 years ago  

Hello @shinyobjects

We're Looking forward to seeing you soon!😁
Have a great week!🤗

Squeee! This made my day! Thank you so much :-D

 3 years ago  

You're very welcomed 😁

What a beautiful cup and the story behind it!

Welcome to the community, it's my first time reading your content here. I look forward to read more of your coffee stories.

Thanks Macchiata! I'm new to the community and until this post was mostly soaking up the great coffee content. It's nice to find such a global group of folks who are as interested in coffee as I am. I especially like seeing how many different ways all of us around the world enjoy a cup of brew. Cheers!

Congratulations @shinyobjects! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP